My Banking Experience During Naira Redesign Policy

in Hive Naija10 months ago
What a lovely topic from #hivenaija this week. If you are in Nigeria and you never had an encounter with banks, I'm not sure you have an account yet. I wonder why banks are so fond of stressing their customers. At one point in time, I wondered if it was the bank I chose to be banking with, so I made up my mind that I was going to change my bank. I never knew all the banks are the same. I did that and I was convinced that all of them are the same. I encountered numerous problems but there was a particular time that I had a very terrible experience.

IMG-20230726-WA0015.jpgImage Source

That was during the currency redesigned policy in Nigeria. There was this woman whose shop was very close to my house which I used to patronize a lot of times.

Me being her regular customer, she was kind enough to agree to give me cash while I do a transfer of equivalent amount into her bank account. This made me very happy, thinking that I had overcome the nightmare of no cash flow. If only I knew what my dear Naija bank had in store for me.

Immediately, I proceeded to transfer the money into her account, only for my bank (United Bank Of Africa) UBA to debited me without the money being reflected in her bank account.

This happens around 40:30 pm on a Friday. Which means, no way I could visit my nearby branch until next Monday.

The only possible option for me was to reach out to my customer care representative . I called several times and there were no responses. The next day, which was Saturday, I tried calling again and luckily for me I was able to reach them. I laid my complaint and I was told to go to the nearest branch to fill a form for the reversal. I was heartbroken because I didn't have enough foodstuff at home that my children would eat till Monday. That was the reason why I wanted cash in the first place, so I could go and buy some food items.

Very early on Monday, I went to the bank. On getting to the bank, the security personnel told me that I could not enter immediately. I had to pick a number and stayed outside till it was my turn before I was called upon to enter the banking hall. On getting to the staff in charge of such a complaint, I explained everything to him and he gave me a form to fill. I filled the form and he assured me that I would get the reversal in the next 5 working days. At that point I didn't know what to do again because there was nothing in the house to give my children and I didn't have any money.

I had to call my husband to send me money. Immediately I got the alert, I rushed to the ATM to withdraw it. I met many people in the queue. I waited for my turn. I noticed that the next person before me was not able to withdraw. He stepped aside. I tried mine for the first time, the ATM rejected my card. I removed it and inserted it again and the machine seized my debit card. It was almost 4: pm which is the official closing hour. I went inside to seek help but I was told that it was closing time and that I would have to come back the following day for the card.

At that point I was so frustrated and stressed out. I began to shout. I said I was not going anywhere without the card because I needed money. It was necessary for me to buy something for my children as there was nothing to eat at home. Going back home empty-handed wasn't an option. "They should provide my card," I insisted. Other people joined me as well to demand for the official's intervention. I told them that it would not cost them anything, they should just go in there and get me the debit card. At that point the whole bank hall turned into a market scene. One of the staff said they should answer me. So finally they brought my card. I collected it and left the bank. After 5 working days, I got a reversal of my money.

This is my entry for this week's prompt of #hivenaija. Thank you all for your support and comments,

Sort:  
 10 months ago (edited) 

Hahaha 😂😂😂
Banks can be frustrating no matter which one you are using. All of them are very good in stressing people and bringing out the devil in them.
If you didn't take action, they would have just sent you home empty-handed; no money , no food and not even the ATM card.

😀😀😀😀 honestly Banks are very wicked you have to get ready to fight all those demons in them if not.

Sometimes banks can be hell. Here we have some that are along the lines of what you are talking about. Thank goodness you prevailed with the debit card and people supported you in getting it back.

Thank God for that, if I was the only one shouting in the bank that very day I may end up not getting it, the crowd help me alot

 10 months ago  

Wait o. So they could just go and bring the card yet they said to come the next day? Why are these people like this? Ha! So if you hadn’t raised a tantrum this people would be that heartless? Na wa o! Fear banks. They are another gender.

Be like say I go start dey train my voice to dey shout for bank😂

Honestly to get the card is not difficult it's just to go there and bring it then they want to postponed it, till the next day so that I'll come and start the procedure again by filling form maybe they will end up telling me they have damaged the card, I will have to get a new one

My dear is actually very good oh, you better start training your voice if you cannot shout in bank you'll be taken as a fool

Nigerian bank officials are one of a kind. It seems some of them go to a special school just to learn how to frustrate people. I wonder why they would want to put you through the stress of going and returning the next day when they could easily fetch the card. I just tire.

At one point in time I have to be asking if frustrating their customers add to their salary? because they are so fond of frustrating people I thought maybe is adding to their salary, as if their on target

Hehe, I wouldn't be surprised if it is being added to their salary😂

Congratulations @beckla! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 600 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 700 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 7
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 6
Women's World Cup Contest - Recap of day 5

Hahahah me like this can never trust banks oo all they know is to make you suffer for the money you suffer to make

Yes, their will make you suffer as if you are there to beg for money, I wish I can just be keeping my money under my bed 😏

 10 months ago  

1000144368.gif

Hmmm... I don't know if one should be keeping his or her money at home. Better still, if the world would come to the realm of decentralized system, it would be the best.

Honestly, how I wish I can be keeping my money at home without any phobia for robbery. Everybody is keeping money in the bank because of security issue in the country. at least you know your money is safe in the bank

If we had other alternatives to banks, I would stop banking. Their stress is much and I don't know if it's because they are dealing with people's money, they are so unyielding.

Even me
If I have alternative I will stop banking that is just the truth they are so unreliable and you can never predict what they can do