Corruption in the grave; my experience.

in Hive Naija15 days ago

Greetings everyone! 🙌... welcome to my blog.

Before wondering what I meant by the title of my post, I would like for you to chill, relax and wait for the story to unfold.

Most persons don't ever want to hear or associate themselves with the "D" word. Some in my country go as far as binding and rebuking once that word is uttered anywhere near them. In as much as I can relate to their fears, I also can't help but feel like it is all too exaggerated. Whether we like it or not, want it or not, death is a part of life. Once it is time, it cannot be reversed except and only by divine intervention.

My most recent experience at the grave yard occurred on the fourteenth of February this year. Yep, you read it right, while others were celebrating love in whatever forms, your home girl was at the grave yard alongside some well meaning neighbours and friends laying a dead old relative to rest.


my somber face

It was a somber time for us all as we were all in shock. The old man was healthy as at the previous day up till 10pm only for him to breathe his last by 11pm and while we (immediate family and friends) knew the cost implications involved in taking his corpse back to the village, we opted for a simple christian burial here in Lagos. I still can't believe I was a part of this 😥.

Now, to the reason and event that informed my title choice

Two years ago, the mother of a fellow colleague passed on and some of us at work were delegated to accompany her and her family for the service of songs and funeral service. Since she wanted to keep it simple, we were all so glad, me especially cos I couldn't stand all the crying and tears as it would make me extra emotional. I am a softie, I could start crying over the littlest things and after crying, a headache comes along automatically. So I usually try to be as happy and cheery as possible. In a case of death, I appear somber and expressionless, top that expression with dark shades......dangerous , hehe.

Moving on, the date was finalized and we left our current location to the ancient city of Badagry. It so happened that the family didn't want to send their Mother's corpse back to their origins and so with a few pleas and payment of fines, the elders finally allowed the family bury their mom in Lagos State.

Right after the service of songs, we were then led to the cemetery where the funeral service would be held. Some of the other delegates refused to go into the cemetery but I went in. There was nothing to fear as I don't believe in ghosts.

While walking through a path, I wasn't watching my way when suddenly my left leg slipped into the earth, just as if an "invisible hand dragged my leg into the ground". I shrieked in fright, luckily a man behind quickly held me, stopping me from total collapse. While I was cleaning the debris off my feet, I over heard two guests discussing on the corrupt practices of some grave keepers.

One of them , a male, said that after these grave keepers have been paid money for portion of land and other necessities, they would dig shallow graves for the corpse and after a few years, the corpse would be dug out and thrown away to God knows where. Then these grave keepers would then sell out that same portion of land to another interested buyer and the cycle is repeated. It won't happen if the family decides to do a proper epitaph for the deceased.

The man went on to say that some grave keepers bury multiple corpses on one portion of the land and because no proper epitaph was made over the grave site, visitors might unknowingly step on the grave and sink, just like what happened to me.

After listening to him say all these things, I shook my head at how even in death, corrupt practices prevail. Even the dead is not spared. I began to imagine falling into a fresh grave and lying on top of a decayed corpse...ah! no, no, no that should not happen or I would be traumatized for life 😱.

This is my participation for the day 9 #mayinleo initiative.

Thanks for reading..shalom

Images are mine.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Oh God of mercy, although I've been imagining that such practices, didn't know it actually do happen. This is wicked, and a criminal act punishable by law. Oh, I forgot we don't have any law. I weep for my country.

As per one falling inside an old open grave, I don't even want to imagine the trauma that will cause the person. God save us.

My dear the trauma is not here o.

Thank you sis. Have a great week

Now, this is a really interesting read. Some people do not seem to have any moral compass and will do anything for the sake of maximizing profits. It is better to make a proper epitaph on a grave site, especially when one can afford it.

That's so true. Shame and s non existent for some people.

Thank you for commenting

It's always a pleasure!

I always knew that people go to dangerous degrees for money but this is a new discovery.
Falling into a grave would be a very traumatic experience and I don't wish it on anyone.

That's also true, but is it worth it. Will the money not finish?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts

Of course it's not, but they don't reason it.