WRONG TRENDS & EXCESSES THAT OCCURS IN WEDDINGS

in Hive Naija22 days ago (edited)

Hello great people @HiveNaija community, happy new week and its yet another awesome time on the @hivenaija weekly prompt. I'm @fab-tay and i am excited to be participating in this week's prompt as my discuss will be on some things which have become trends now in weddings which to me I'm not particularly fond of. I considered them as not really important or necessary because they do not necessarily have a direct impact on the wedding and nor add any value to it. Some of them is wrong while some are just excesses that needs to be checked.

Source

The wedding day is a day of celebration indeed and ought to be memorable, but nowadays some practices are getting out-of-hand which needs to be checked as personally, it's off for me. Part of it is the wedding sourveneirs given at wedding especially those of dignitaries with people going to the extent of distributing volatile/dangerous substances. For example, in Nigeria, a wedding was recorded were petrol (PMS) was distributed as a sourveneir. I count this as excess which is unnecessary.

In addition, disvaluation of currency through spraying, roughing, squeezing or unwholesome handling by the citizens of a nation all because of pride and disobedience to law using wedding as a platform is wrong. For example, no wedding reception especially the classy ones you will see that both local and foreign currencies won't be mishanded. This is excess as well which has become a wrong trend with clips surfacing online of which some are awful to behold. Use of envlopes and proper handling is a way to go here.

Source

One of the most common wrong trend is that of the provocative dresses been worn at wedding ceremonies most especially by friends and acquaintances. All in the name of celebration, some has turned it to another thing as modesty and decency is now fading out gradually. For example, there has been videos and also real life experiences of brides, ladies, women been embarrassed as a result of what they put on. For example, a bride's frontside was mistakenly out and captured on camera 📷🤐😂. Wedding ceremony is not a fashion show and hence, modesty and moderacy is needed.

Also, the unnecessary delays caused by lack of promptness and non-punctuality of couples most times for ingenuine reasons are now becoming a norm. Excuses like delay in dressing, make-up, hangover of party before wedding day, traffic congestion and all sorts. For example, there have been delayed Church weddings or couples arriving at the middle of wedding service or dealy reception due to one of the reasons earlier stated.

Poor catering service is also something i detest in wedding especially the uncoordinated ones. This has become so unavoidable in weddings nowadays because of poor communication, poor preparation, biases and many other things. Merriment is crucial in wedding ceremonies and if not well managed can lead to a permanent stinct of ugly memories. Proper planning and preparation can lead to this and that's why some wedding ceremonies goes strictly by invitation.

Source

Excesses by anchors of engagement (traditional wedding ceremony), Master of Ceremony (MC) at weddings and that of the Music band is also something i detest. I believed most of these people are paid based on negotiated amount before the wedding for their services, but on the discharge of their duties they do add excesses to it which has become a wrong trend now. For example, we've seen and heard of cases of exploitations by these set of people based on information or tips heared from a closed relative which i believe it ought not to be.

I believe so much in wedding ceremony been a great time of celebration and full of wonderful memories, however, it's good to excercise caution so as not to turn it to something else or a total deviation from the intended purpose. Thank you for reading, comments are welcomed.

This is my entry to @Hivenaija weekly prompt 44 which is posted through @inleo


Thumbnail designed using Canva

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Ahhhh I don fear, you detest the MC performing his function in weddings, I think the MC is the one that makes the event colorful, the MC adds a lot of sauce to it, and then the petrol distributed as a souvenir and what about those that don't have generator would they drink the petrol🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 mehhn they shouldn't set the place on fire ooh, I don dey fear Nigerian.

I didn't say I detest MC performing his function, if not, why is he hired in the first place?

I only say I hate exploitation even when you are hired. I wish you really understand what I'm saying.

Thanks for stopping by

Ooh, that was what you meant, sorry didn't get it at first though. Thanks

Exactly
You've gotten it now
Thanks

You're welcome

 22 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

 21 days ago (edited) 

The decency and modesty that's missing in weddings these days it's actually alarming. I sure wouldn't like to see a bunch of ladies be half-naked in my wedding.

Good work putting these together. How long have you been married for now, if I'm not mistaken?

So alarming sir
I'm sure I too don't want them in your wedding aswell.

Thanks so much for the compliments and for your awesome comments.

Lol 😂
Just 6 months oooo
Still fresh ooooo

Lol. Half baked?

 21 days ago  

Lmao

Half-naked

I strongly support this reasons, especially that of abusing of currencies in the cost of spraying.

Most times, is for show off.. Well it's a celebratory event however i think the law should guide against it too

Exactly ma
It's purely an abuse unto show off which has misguided many unto wrong doings.

Thanks so much for your comments

We human and showoff... 5&6
You're welcome brother ❤

I think the one I can mostly relate to is the lack of discretion by MCs. I guess it's in their job description to be funny but sometimes, they could stretch the jokes till they become inappropriate.

Really valid points!

I'm happy someone actually understands this excesses by MC's and I like the way you put it. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

You mentioned many issues that gives me concern too. I watched a video recently where the friends of the bride wore transparent dresses, almost naked. It was a shameful display. I think it is important to show modesty especially in dresses.

Yes
We really need to go back to modesty.
Thanks for reading and commenting

The unnecessary delay by both the groom and bride, and other parties involved in making the ceremony a smooth one, is so annoying. Tell me by 12am would be boldly written on the invitation card, yet people arrive as late as 2pm, making the ceremony chaotic. I love me some organized stuff and I think my fellow Nigerians are guilty of keeping to African time. We need to do better, not gonna lie.