Growing Up In Wisdom: The Childhood Lessons That Still Guide Me Today

in Hive Naijalast month

I remember the details like it happened yesterday. It was a Sunny Friday. A Friday that gave off a weird feeling and little did I know that my life was about to take a seismic shift. For as long as I can remember, my heart has always been fixed on becoming a medical doctor. One of my childhood dreams was to venture into the medical field and become a medical doctor like my mum and older sister. I was so bent on achieving this dream until I got to SS2. As I progressed through my studies, something happened- I suddenly fell out of love with science subjects. They stopped giving me the gratification like they used to. On that Friday, I took a deep breath and made a bold decision to shatter my dreams of becoming a medical doctor. I switched from science department to arts. I closed the book on my childhood dream, opening a new chapter in the story of my life.

I got home that day feeling unusually drained. As I entered our living room, I could feel the weight of my mom’s exhaustion. The look on her face gave off the impression that she had a really stressful day. After greeting her, I summoned the courage to tell her about my decision.

“Mummy, I have decided to switch from science department to art department” I said.

Her face beamed up with surprise. I could tell that she wasn't happy with my decision. “Is that what you want?” she asked. The truth is, I had always been a star in science department, excelling in all the subjects. But that wasn't the problem at all. Somehow, I lost interest in science subjects. I lost my passion. And every day I go to school, I don’t pay attention. If I continue down this road, I won’t be doing anyone any favors.

“Yes.” I think it'd do better in art class. Convincing my mom wasn't a big deal. Whatever decision I made, I’m sure she'd support me. The next day, I switched to art department. As I entered the classroom, I was greeted with loud laughters, and the scent of mischief and notoriety hanging in the air. Gone were the days of quietness in science department, now replaced by comedians and stubborn students. There was no completion in that class. I got there and would always pass despite not reading. It was too easy for me. Within a short period, I also became unserious. Who would've thought a class topper in science class would switch to the art department and become extremely unserious? The transformation was gradual, but seemingly unavoidable. My appetite for books vanished. I was once hungry for academic success, but all those passions died down. My breaks, which were once spent pondering over my notes and the teachers’ teachings, now became a time for me to chit-chat and play. I flowed with the rest of the class.

About 3 of us moved from science class to art department. We all became notoriously stubborn. Our school lives became wild. My mum noticed that I stopped reading like I used to, and when she questioned me about it, I told her that art department is not as complex and difficult as science department. “You don’t have to read too much.” I said to her. I read only a night before a test. Things were going alright until something bad happened- I failed a test woefully. At first, art class seemed easy. I passed the tests without much effort. I didn't like Government and never studied for it or paid attention in class.

The lecturer decided to give us an impromptu test and I couldn't answer a single question. Before long, I was called to the staff roo, surrounded by so many fiercely-looking teachers. It was really hot. They bombarded me
With questions and accusations. Each teacher had something to say. Each one worst than the last.

“He wasn't like this when he was in science department.”

“He had never failed a test.”

“He was a good student, what went wrong?”

“we should tell his parents before it gets too late.”

I stood there, silent and ashamed. I swear on Odesseus’ name, I wanted the earth to swallow me up that day. Somehow, I managed to hold up my tears. After about 1 hour of hearing hot words from the teacher, I left the staffroom shamefully.

When I got home, my mom noticed I wasn't in a good mood. She questioned me about it and I told her all that happened. “Whether you are in science department or art department. Whether you are in that school or another school, what is worth doing at all is worth doing well.” I was really mad at myself. What had I turn into? I wasn't like this. I was a serious student. I was a class topper. Yes, mom was right, what is worth doing at all is worth doing well. That evening, I went to the bookshop and bought a government textbook titled “comprehensive government.” I did an all-nighter. I spent the whole night reading that textbook.

From that day, I became a changed student. I took my studies seriously. I remember I read that textbook from the first page till the last. I graduated as the best student in government and literature. My mom’s lessons have been helping me even till now. Whatever I do, I always make sure I put in my best. Whatever is worth doing at all Is Worth doing well.

This is my prompt submission to the inleo prompt for the month of April- April 16. The topic is “something learned as a child and used in childhood. Check the calendar out:

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Whatever is worth doing is worth doing well
I will always keep this at the back of my mind
Thanks for sharing

Hello there, I hope you stick to it. Good luck. Thanks for stopping by.

Wow, so this was how it all happened? Interesting!

I think now I know why I never wanted to give art class a second thought, I've always thought it was too easy, all you need to do was read some books or novels and that's it. I know there is more but not in secondary school though.

I can totally understand Why you were so unserious at first it's because you saw the art class as a walkover. I'm glad your teachers talked sense into you and not something that made you want to give up. Glad your Mom also chipped in those brilliant words too, it did the magic, hehe.

This was a beautiful read as always ❤️

Hello there, Hope. How did I also miss this beautiful comment. I'm really glad to see you drop by, as usual. You're right, if my teachers and mum had left me, who knows what would've happened?

Maybe I wouldn't have gotten to meet Justfavour 🥰 but I'm glad I did 🤭

That's a hell of a story my friend you gotta do what you gotta do.
I always thought Art classes were a walk in the park but seems not

Oh! It's really not.
Thanks for stopping by, friend.