Hivenaijaweekly: To My Children, I'll Never

in Hive Naijalast month (edited)

Photo by Anna Maxelante:

Crazy things have been happening lately. Crazy things that I cannot seem to understand or believe that human beings can do such abominations. It's there all over the news, on social media, and on every news platform.

It's like every day we wake up to a new atrocious, unbelievable act. Sometimes my jaw just drops as I read some of these stories.

The recent happenings that baffle me a lot are those of house helps who have been maltreated or brutalised in a very bad manner by their supposed guardian. I weep when I see pictures of these little children who are already failed by the so-called system and also being failed by their supposed guardian and left with swollen eyes or marks all over their bodies from the harm meted out to them by those that they were entrusted into their care to take care of them. I weep when I come online and see pictures of how malnourished these kids look.

The crazy part is that these victims are underage kids who, maybe out of poverty, their parents will send them out to go and live with other people as house help just to ease their burdens a little. But they don't know that they're sending their kids out to become punch bags for these evil women in human form.

I cringed yesterday when I saw a video trending online of a little girl with swollen eyes. In fact, if there is a word much bigger to classify swollen, that will be the exact word to explain how both eyes of this little girl were. It made me wonder what such a kid would do to an adult for you to lose your conscience and beat her up that way.

I could swear I dropped a tear and promised myself at that spot that if and when I raise children, I'll never ever send them off to live with anyone, not even my blood sisters or brothers, no matter my financial condition. I promised myself to work hard so as to have the wealth required to train my kids with enough love and care.

I promised myself to do whatever it takes rather than send my kids away to be with a stranger who might turn out to be a wolf in sheep's clothing.

I promise to give them the best in life with all I have, even if it is the littlest thing that I can afford. It's better if I suffer with my kids and get to give them the love and care they deserve to the best of my ability. It's better they suffer with me, and when they misbehave, I correct them with love rather than send them away to live with someone who will brutalise them for no reason at all. In fact, there's no reason whatsoever for a responsible adult to beat up a kid in the manner I saw yesterday.

And I must say that I'm really ashamed that some of these atrocities on kids are being committed by women—not just women but women from my tribe. Women are supposed to love and care more for kids than men. Women who understand the pains of childbearing. Women should be more emotionally attached to kids. It's really a shame that we've failed these kids.

So here I write today to promise myself that If and when I raise children, I'll never treat them with wickedness but with genuine love and care.

Sort:  

Thank you so much.

You just said my mind.
Why take them with you if you cannot raise them like yours?
Some women are despicable 🤔

This is thoughtful!

Very despicable.
Thank you for reading.

I saw the news about the little girl and how swollen her eyes were I couldn't even look at it because it was annoying, well I will say I see a lack of competence from the side of the girls parents yes thing maybe hard but you should be able to provide for your children because it's your responsibility and you can not just pass your responsibility to anybody and expect everything to go well

It's very bad. No matter what you might be passing through, try to train your kids yourself. It's very sad.

Nothing like parental care

 last month  

1000140008.gif