THE PAST IS IN THE PAST || if it's happened, it's happened.

in Hive Naija3 months ago

Hello, it's that time againnnnn....so, for this week's edition, we have beautiful prompts

The year has still pretty much just begun, but there are already some things we wish we could undo, redo or at least witness again. If there's a single day in the past month and a half that you would like to go back to, what day is that and why?


Photo created by me using pixellab

If there’s a single day in the past month and a half that you would like to go back to, what day is that and why?
I really sat down for hours thinking about this question and honestly, if I could, I wouldn’t turn back time to redo undo or revisit memories. I wouldn’t lie and say that it isn’t a tempting offer but I’ve thought hard enough and even though there are days that have gone past these few days into the week where I would have done things differently, savored every moment or keep fresh in mind……………... I wouldn’t go back in time.

“The past is in the past”, sang Elsa in frozen and when I sing along, I kind of agree. I wouldn’t change a thing or even take the offer of going back. I may be wrong, but I believe that things happen for a reason. Yes, we make choices, wrong, right, good or bad but these choices have been made and well, it is what it is. If you’re familiar with these super hero movies that always play around the idea of multiverse, parallel universe and time machine-ish, then you might understand what I want to say when I try to mean that if it happened, then it happened. Why try change it? I know some people would have very heartbreaking moments where they believe that their wrong choices caused it and so, they try to change it but I don’t know…. I think that these moments make us and of course the good memories we want to revisit and savor. but be it good or bad choices, you make it? You learn from it or appreciate it and move on.

For reference, I would use the flash movie for instance. I understand that most people see movies as just movies but its more. I like to say it is life portrayed as or through art. That said, the reference is about well, half the plot where the flash couldn’t get over his mother’s death and believed that if he could go back in time, then he would be able to stop his mother’s death and his father wouldn’t go to prison. It was the reason he trained and trained and trained (including well, the thrill of being the flash and saving people) and when it was finally time for him to go back in time and do things differently, when he finally had to opportunity, he turned it down. While some would just take this as a movie, I saw a real person giving up the opportunity to redo and undo something that changed his life, he gave up on it and rather focused on the present and THAT is my point, focusing on the present.

If there is something worth redoing, it’s the right choice but you redo them in the present. If there is something worth undoing, it’s the wrong choices IN the present. If its revisiting that day, the memories are there for you. In fact, just think of the wrong choices as things you did for the plot of your story. (that is my delusional self-speaking…...hahaha) but yeah, that’s it, I am in no way invalidating people’s feelings, discrediting your past experiences and so, nut move on. Feel the hurt, feel the happiness, feel it all and move it. It shouldn’t hurt but it would and if it does, that is why its called feelings, feel it…. You’ll be fine. It’s not that I have no wrong choices to undo or beautiful moments to revisit or even right ones to redo and revisit that day but I want to be focused on the future. It can be hard but it’s all worth it……...the fresh memories still waiting to be made, the mistakes to be made for the plot and to learn from it. I, for one has had past experiences that I would love to redo, undo and revisit but yeah, there’s a plot waiting to be developed and written. I want to be present as possible and write it.

What about you? Do we go on a writing retreat so you can write yours too? (I shouldn’t explain the joke so it doesn’t lose its spice, but yeah, I didn’t mean that literally) I meant….don’t you want to focus on the future and not waste time on the past?

you read it all, wow! Thank you for reading, loved it? Your comments, upvotes and reposts are deeply appreciated by @mesonia 🌹

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

If there is something worth redoing, it’s the right choice but you redo them in the present

I totally agree with you on this. Whatever wrong decision in the past remains in the past but could server as a lesson for the present. Continue to focus on the present my dear, applying all lessons for a better tomorrow
Thanks for participating

@sagarkothari88 vote

Thank you for stopping by and for reading! Muah, I'm glad you could see reasons with me

Well said dear... Wasting time on the past will do more harm than good. Rather transfer that energy for the present and build a better future with it...
Thanks for sharing....

Thank you for reading!!!! Muah, here's some virtual kisses for you 😘

Aww...warmly accepted😌😌✨

 3 months ago  

1000140008.gif