Anecdotes From School: Discovering Effective Study Techniques

in Hive Naija22 days ago

Every learner has a unique study technique that suits them well. It's all about exploring different learning styles and discovering which one is more effective in order to learn in an efficient way.Personally, I discovered some suitable study techniques that work fine for me right from my secondary school level, which I applied all through my university days and achieved desirable results.

_90d5252e-2bf8-4f0e-8d6e-af449f76e5af.jpeg


For every new piece of information, learners have different ways to understand and remember it. Those days in school, being in a lecture hall when a new lesson is being taught isn't a guarantee for me to totally understand what the lecturer is saying. It just helps me to reduce how strange the topic sounds. Of course, going the extra length to understand the topic more is a habit I never stopped doing back then in school. Some people's IQ is kind of too high to quickly grab new knowledge at a go; these are the people I usually make friends with, and after each lecture, I usually meet them for more explanation, and by then, I will have a better understanding of the topic. This step birthed the idea of having group studies as one of my study techniques.


When it comes to study techniques, these ones work well for me:

Read/Write: unlike some learners who find visual learning so easy, I do go by printed textbooks. Even when I have online research to do, you must find me with a paper and a pen to read it and write out all the information in a book. One part of me while studying is that retention is easier if I read through my own handwriting and not from textbooks or the internet, but textbooks are still fair enough. I still grab some information via the Internet and textbooks while studying, but it's more effective when I have them written down and learn it again through my notebooks 📚.

Group study: like I mentioned above, this has been one technique for studying that I find effective. I did have group studies at my secondary and tertiary levels, and when we come together to share ideas on a particular topic, retention is inevitable. If I am in an exam hall or maybe on my own reflecting, what each person said always appears so fresh in my mind and sticks, and I wouldn't be battling with retention via this method.

_165bfbd0-4bff-4f90-a359-f8b54d6ca0bf.jpeg


Repetitive learning: as much as I do not overlook my group study, I still create time for self-study, and that's where repetitive learning comes in. You may be asking why I am repeating what I have learned before. Yes, it's a sure way for the information to be retained. On those days at the university, I do not observe my break period every day. Either you see me with my friends or you find me in the library, reading, writing out vital points through the contents, and reading them again the second time. I was never a fan of reading at midnight; otherwise, I would be fighting with sleep, so I ensure to make use of the day for studying repeatedly as much as I can.

Rounding up
Studying techniques is indeed very important to learn in an efficient way and to remember information more easily. The techniques described above have been a lifesaver since their discovery and application.

What's your own studying technique? The Internet for learning something new? Or the traditional learning style, or whatever? Do share with me in the comment section.


This post was inspired by the #inleo community and my entry to the #Aprilinleo monthly topic Day 28.Please check out the announcement post to get involved.

Images generated by me on bing.com

Thanks for reading ❤️❤️❤️

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I remember how I used to fight with @yahuzah back in school cos he didn’t like group studies. Turns out it worked for me but it didn’t work for him.

At the end of the day, I had to let him before I get blamed for his bad grades, thank God he didn’t get any.😂😂

Haha 😂, it's good to know that you didn't push him..some people prefer to read alone, and they assimilate so well by that method but the likes of you and I liked group studies..lol
Everyone and their own
Thanks for engaging 🥰

That’s right. Everyone has what works best for them.

Well, the internet is really useful nowadays. And taking the opportunity is always good. I do use it.

@tipu curate 3

Sure it is and I do it but I must write all the information down and learn from my book..weird right? Haha

Thanks so much for the curation 👍

I don't think I like reading with people, the best way for me to learn is by listening, and I think it is weird. I would record my lectures and listen to them instead of reading only the lecture notes

Really..this one can't even work well for me..that's why everyone should discover his or her suitable studying techniques and explore it

NICE POST

https://inleo.io/threads/nkemakonam89/re-nkemakonam89-erzxwozn
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( nkemakonam89 ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024

Thanks for the update buzzy

You're a machine @nkemakonam89! Your daily posts are making a big impact and keeping Hive buzzing.

All the tips you shared are very useful and I think one needs to follow those tips if someone wants to do good in studies. I believe the tips you shared are suitable for all of the students. In the case of group study it's very effective and can save a lot of time if done correctly. Unfortunately, most of the student pass their time by gossiping.
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@intishar(2/5) tipped @nkemakonam89

Yes, this is true . Like me I read almost everyday because I know I don't assimilate easily .And I forget things easily so reading every day is the best thing for me

Wow..glad to know that this works for u as well 🤗

 21 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

That aspect of relating with people who are more knowledgeable of the courses is very helpful
I do that often and it's helpful
Also, listening in the class is of utmost help bcos I don't like seeing textbooks, hehe

Haha, you don't like textbooks...lol
That means u must be writing down important points while listening
Yes, relating with more knowledgeable people is a good tactic

Thanks for visiting, dreemer

Hehe, yes o
I try to write down every detail said while in class

Your post is highly potential, everything in life comes with a purpose and basic techniques to maximize them. Thanks for this post.

#dreemerforlife

Thanks so much for reading ❤️

I agree with all the points you made, though I was not very good with repetitive learning. I am trying to use Anki for the same, but after years of being away from academics it is so hard to write notes down :D And I just cannot write into a book, cause I am not able to read it back thanks to my handwriting :D

Cheers from a fellow #dreemerforlife

Repetitive learning was a life saver for me back then in school. Now with my kids, my second son picks information so easy and do not need to read again before writing an exam, unlike my first son, he will read and read and read before retention takes place. It's all about finding what works for you. At the end of the day, the aim is to achieve success
Thanks for visiting, our awesome dreemer 😍🥰

Repetitive learning is proven to be really useful even for people like me who can kinda remember stuff in short term. Systems like Anki do a very good job with flash cards so that it becomes for of a gamification of the study. Maybe it can be useful for your second son.

I also like the repetitive learning. Helps me remember what I have studied and it sticks to my brain for a long time.

#dreemerforlife

It's a nice tactic indeed
Thanks for reading

You're welcome.

Me too, if I am present in class when a lecturer is teaching, it's like the topic is glued to my brain, and I love it when teachers use illustrations while teaching too, it helps me recall what I have been taught even without reading it again.

These are effective study techniques you've mentioned here.

Popped in from Dreemport, always an awesome #dreemerforlife.