Diary of a Patriotic Corper: Embracing Change and Growth

in Hive Naija12 days ago

There are only a few months until the end of the year—the one year of service to my country under NYSC. I have conflicting thoughts on how to move on from here. I'd be honest with myself and say that I probably get used to anything that feels comfortable to me pretty fast, and stepping out can be challenging sometimes. But am I really as comfortable as I want to be or should be? Perhaps I am just, you know, used to it all instead.

One thing I have learned so far about being far from home is that you never know what's really out there until you get out there. And being used to the customs and traditions where I am from, it truly felt like an entirely new place being on another side of the country. And some of the new experiences took some serious getting used to.

IMG-20230718-WA0017 (1).jpg

I do not like to travel—being in public vehicles and dealing with commuting issues—and consequentially, I do not feel fascinated by the idea of being in new places, particularly if they are very far. However, being here and experiencing new things—exploring a few more states for different reasons, interacting with people of different cultures, lifestyles, and languages, tasting never-thought-before kinds of foods—I realise it really isn't such a bad idea.

With 10 months spent here, one of the things that I know I have deeply missed about home is the food. Not just cooked food, but also the kinds of ingredients that I am used to—and so I have found myself deeply craving and wishing someone coming my way would help me with certain foodstuffs from where I am from. Have you tasted amala and ewedu soup before? Oh my lawd!! Your life might never remain the same. Ewedu is made from jute leaves, and then it is combined with blended tomato soup (cooked separately).

IMG_20230716_104643.jpg

I am talking about the black swallow that is particular to Yoruba people. Preparing it is an art—that often involves a lot of sweating to prepare, though. It's not that it is strenuous to make; at least, not like iyan (pounded yam), another food that I miss so much, although it is seldomly prepared by most people as it requires a lot of pounding. No one wants to pound every day of their lives, so pounded yam is an occasional type of food.

The soup here is great, too, actually. Although mostly strange at first, I grew to enjoy them, mingling with the people from the southern side. Anyway. Let me not talk too much about food before I give the wrong impression about me.

Growing up on the western side and being there all my life, I never knew much or bothered to learn much about the people from any other part of Nigeria. Surely, there are many people from different tribes living in the west, but learning about them is very unlikely as the Yoruba culture is dominant there. Coming here to Rivers State, south-south Nigeria, I have not only met people from many tribes but also learned a few things about them and their languages, but I didn't understand peppersoup rice for a while.

1710830832513.jpgIMG_20230803_104513.jpg

Peppersoup rice...Okay, we are talking about food again. Anyway, peppersoup rice, apparently, is eating rice with peppersoup. What a strange food that was to me at first, but hey, it turns out that it is actually really nice. Maybe the pepper soup here isn't as spicy as I am used to. Back at home, we take pepper soup alone with different kinds of meat inside. Just that, with a cold bottle of soda or beer, is a banger. And that bowl of pepper soup must make you sweat like you're running 100 miles. Your mouth must be doing ssssswwwwwoooooooo... (if you know, you know)

Lifestyle is very different here, too. I mean, very, very different. In Lagos, people open their shops and start their business before the sun starts, and they wouldn't close till it was very late at night, at least 8 p.m. Over here?? My God, they don't stress o. Imagine a restaurant telling me that food isn't ready at 10 a.m. In Lagos, seventeen families would have been fed by that time. And there aren't that many restaurants around, sadly.

IMG_20240115_131647.jpg

Damn it. Food again.

Anyway, having to teach secondary school students has been another fascinating experience for me. Soon enough, I realised that teaching was not my calling. After this one, I am not doing it again. Teachers have my 101% respect henceforth.

I am not sure which is harder: marking 250 exam scripts or teaching the same thing twice every Monday and Thursday to two different arms for the entire term. What I know is that I would rather do other kinds of jobs more suitable for my personality and skillset.

1714165240436.jpg

Change of environment can do a lot for someone and perhaps nothing for another person. As it turned out, I have been through different types of health situations, and more intensively so in the last three months, even as we speak (or you read?). It is mostly because many of the circumstances are not entirely in my control. And such is life, anyway: you don't get all that you want or need sometimes.

There's a lot more to talk about, but for now, and since my fingers have grown so weary so unusually fast from typing, I might as well rest the pen soon. What's mostly on my mind these days is bringing my plans to fruition and making the right moves after it is all said and done with this service year. I'll cross that bridge when it comes, but I'd rather do it prepared. So, until then, I thought to air this out tonight. Spent too much time researching something today, only to not even understand much after it all. Again, such is life.

IMG_20230801_100039.jpg

By the way, make earnings with your content on Hive via InLeo while you truly own your account. If you're new, sign up in a few minutes by clicking here! And here's a guide on navigating.


All images belong to me

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This your diary is totally funny. You mean you don't know about peppersoup rice 🙄 guy maka why na😁

Thankfully they are refurburshing your taste buds for you 😁😁

 10 days ago  

You should know what it's not something we do in Lagos or anywhere in the west. I never knew about it. Lol. Where are you from, by the way?

Well I'm a half breed from the South and East😁

 9 days ago  

Fascinating!

I don't think you talked about food enough. Beautiful writing btw.

 10 days ago  

Heh. I couldn't turn it into a food post. Thanks

No problem

My brooo. I think when visiting a new place, one of the things we talk about is the food and the people. I guess that is why you kept coming back—talking about the food.

If you can get the amala powder (Elubo), I think you could make it and invite your friends to join you for the delicacy.

 10 days ago  

I agree. Food is one of our basic needs, so that's why it's important. And for sure, it's something else here.

I would have actually gotten elubo if I could, bit these people don't even know what amala is, let alone elubo itself. Lol. Na so I see am. Even ewa oloyin is no where to be found.

Omoooo, chaiii

I wonder how my experience will be like serving in another state far from where I am used to.

 9 days ago  

Hopefully, it'll be much better and convenient than it is for me now. If you could choose a state, though, which would you choose?

Funny how I would love to remain in Lagos, and this is because of career prospects. Other than that, I would love Abuja, central business district or Rivers, Port Harcourt.

 4 days ago  

Good choices. Hopefully, you'll the best place for you when the time comes.

Peppersoup rice strange? I disagree; we eat that often here, and it's a healthy replacement for stew. That's by the way. Reading about your experiences is now fueling the desire I have to explore different places. All my life, I have always been a couch potato, but I am turning over a new leaf this year. Life is too beautiful not to explore, don't you agree?

 4 days ago  

Yeah, it's only strange to me, not that it's a terrible combo. I understand that you eat it often. Where you from, by the way?

And, yes, life's indeed beautiful to not explore. What's the one place in your mind to visit this year, at least?

One of the best combos I have ever had. By the way, I am from Orlu in Imo State. And speaking of a place I would want to visit, it would be my best friend's house. We've been friends for years, and I haven't visited her at home because she lives quite far from my house. So her home is the one place I badly want to visit

 11 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @nkemakonam89 suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️

 4 days ago  

Thank you! @nkemakonam89

Uwc Jay