What I'm currently working on for Hive.

in Hive Governance2 years ago

Witness Earning Reports

It's been a while since my last Witness Earnings report, the reason is that I'm a bit busy so after asking other witnesses what they think of the report I was generating on a weekly basis, it was agreed that it still has some value but it could be reduced to a monthly report instead.

Hive Keychain 2.0 beta testing

@stoodkev has release a beta version of the Hive Keychain browser extension. I'm helping him testing and have raised few bugs that I have found.

The Condenser app contributions

Reminder: The Condenser is the app that powers https://hive.blog website

@gandalf has notified me of some security warnings in the Condenser and Wallet apps due to the use of old NPM packages in the project. In order to upgrade to newer packages I needed to also upgrade packages that are using the affected ones. So I decided it's a good time to also upgrade React from version 16 to the recent version 18 and be done with it.

This is a tedious tasks as there were bugs that were only showing up when you actually try to use some features, the project was building without issue. The lack of unit tests in the Condenser/Wallet apps makes it more work for testing. On top of that, with React 18, the old Enzyme test helper is no longer working and I need to migrate the existing unit tests to use the React Testing Library (RTL).

The Wallet app contributions

It's been while now since the Wallet app has been split away from the Condenser code repository. This was done as a security issue so that no Wallet operation could be performed on the social side of things. However, the downside is that we now have to maintain two different source codes that used to be identical and are now diverging more and more. When a long maintenance work is done (security update, software upgrade etc...) it has to be done twice, once on the Condenser and once on the Wallet.

I'm planning to merge the Wallet back into the Condenser code repository but have a feature flag to allow turning on Social or Wallet mode.

Since I'm the only one who regularly works on the Condenser and Wallet code, this can take a while to complete. It would be great if there are some React coders in the community who would like to contribute.


Vote for my witness
Support @quochuy Witness.jpg
On Hive, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Hive blockchain. Vote for me via HiveSigner to support my work for the community.

Sort:  

Great work as always. Upvoted and shared via the @offgridlife Curation Project.

Keychain was giving error yesterday for me.
I hope it's resolved now.
Thanks mate

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Great job you are doing.
Well done

Keep your continuous efforts for the Hive revolution

it's amazing; what you do.

You have really been busy. Great work! :)

Congratulations @quochuy! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the highest payout of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21

Great initiative @quochuy, hope you get the desired vote for witness. Wish you all the best and entire success.

Wow bro I had no idea!!! Good on you!

You are recognized for the excellent work and effort you are putting in to provide the greatest possible service to the blockchain. I wish you the best, sir.

Great logic
Keep the good work bro!!

thank you sir for sharing the post again,in the previous few days I always peeked at the latest posts from you, and I'm grateful that today I can see a very useful post from you. I hope you are always in good health and can follow activities smoothly.

good job like always!

Keep it up with the hard work.

I wish you all good things, man 😁.

All the best for your hive safety project and I support your witness.

wow! You are doing a good job!
I wish you success!
Bravo!

@quochuy goodluck sir i wish you all the best i know ur gonna make it.

I wish you the best in your projects. great job success and may fortune always be on your side

success in your decisions 🖐🖐🖐👍

Congratulations @quochuy! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the highest payout of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 5th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2022

How would I get you to help me grow?🥺