[POEM] --> Love and Longing at Sunset

in Poetic Spirals4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @hypexals-spiral

Welcome to HIVE-Community 111400!

This is the Poetic Spirals Community.


I envisioned this poem upon a beach setting.

The Sun is now setting, and the sand is cooling off.
Two people are immediately present, one lonesome
and another longing for something... or maybe someone.

I tried to keep the flow in line with what
would flow well while speaking, but not
strictly adhering to the spoken stresses of words.

I wanted to communicate feelings of 'love at first sight',
'longing', and 'stoicism' while using the imagery
of the sunset and feeling of sand beneath our feet
we're all so familiar with.

The inspiration is in line with the experience of
these feelings, and emotions.

A simple rhyming of ABCA is utilized.

I hope you enjoy. Here's what I came up with.


Love and Longing at Sunset

Upon the dusk of lonely 'morrow,
within my heart a dance did stir.
Cooled wind chased the Sunlight's lull
freeing my mind from spiteful sorrow.

... and you unknowingly occupied my mind ...

I saw you there, standing alone.
Watery horizon a portrait in thine eyes,
staring distant upon a kindred spirit.
Electric you were, but to me - unknown.

... and you unknowingly occupied my mind ...

Night was upon the kiss of last light.
Entranced, there you stood. Firmly affixed.
Drawn like the wind, you laughed at distance
and never before'd my heart been so bright.

... because you unknowingly occupied my mind ...

~fin~



Thank you for reading, and I hope you feel
inspired to create some poetry.

Feel free to ask for creativive assistance.

Let's grow this community and create poetry!

Cheers!

-Hypexal-


Sort:  

The poem does evoke the mood of romance on the beach. Nice poem.

Ah! Thanks @wandrnrose7. Hope you join up and create something fresh and warm!