Working on tap dance repertoire with pianist Ayo Vincent

in CELF Magazine3 years ago

Hi Everyone,

For the ones that don't know me, my name is Petra and I am an independent dance artist based in London, but currently temporarily living in Barcelona.

Today I uploaded the last video of rehearsal footage from a session with Ayo Vincent.

As a tap dancer I have to organise my own Gigs a lot of the times, especially in the beginning. A lot goes through word of mouth in this industry, but in order for people to recommend you for gigs they have to see you first.

These first few gigs are hard to come by, and I try my best to connect with musicians.

I do a lot of free Improvisation, but I also want to work on some stuff that is standard repertoire.
I called Ayo for this first trial, since he has played at jam sessions before that I attended and I thought he might be up for it.

the first Tube We worked on is My Favourite Things.


it is a Jazz standard written and composed by Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II and made famous by the Movie: The sound of Music. It got really big in Jazz when John Coltrane Played it. This tune is one of my favourite to dance to.

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things
Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels
Door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things
Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things
When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad
Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things
Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels
Door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things
Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things
When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad
When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I'm feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don't feel so bad
Source: My Favorite Things lyrics © Concord Music Publishing LLC

the next tune we rehearsed was Take the A Train, by Duke Ellington

You must take the "A" train
To go to Sugar Hill way up in Harlem
If you miss the "A" train
You'll find you missed the quickest way to Harlem
Hurry, get on, now it's coming
Listen to those rails a-thrumming
All aboard, get on the "A" train
Soon you will be on Sugar Hill in Harlem
source: George Kerr

This is also a well known Jazz standard, and is really popular amongst tap dancers.
We tried a more free intro, the hardest thing for me is to decide how to arrange the tune.

Last but not least the new upload How deep is the Ocean which was also composed by Irving Berlin.


I also really love this tune and the lyrics.

"How Deep Is The Ocean?"

How can I tell you what is in my heart?
How can I measure each and every part?
How can I tell you how much I love you?
How can I measure just how much I do?

How much do I love you?
I'll tell you no lie
How deep is the ocean?
How high is the sky?

How many times a day do I think of you?

How many roses are sprinkled with dew?

How far would I travel
To be where you are?
How far is the journey
From here to a star?

And if I ever lost you
How much would I cry?
How deep is the ocean?
How high is the sky?

Source: Irving Berlin

I know these videos are far from being perfect, but I also want to show the progress. I know I have to work on standards a lot!

I hope you Enjoyed this article.

If you are interested in other stuff I do please follow my YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCozXXvNAnrS8XAUP6t97dyw

Sort:  

Hello @petrahaller. I didn't know you liked Jazz. I love it also. John Coltrane. He's a classic. Your videos are lovely. They don't have to be perfect if you are still learning. I like to see when people are trying their best.

The music and lyrics are awesome to dance to.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks! yes I love jazz, it's all I listen to!

have a nice day!

Excellent work of conjunction of jazz and tap. Ayo Vincent's impeccable piano execution of the musical pieces, and, of course, your dance dialogue with them are astounding. What a marvel! I am speechless. Thank you so much for allowing us access to that extraordinary sample of your work. Regards, @petrahaller.

Tu post ha sido votado por @celf.magazine, proyecto curatorial y revista digital sobre arte y cultura en Hive. Únete a nuestra comunidad y comparte tu talento con nosotros.
Your post has been voted by @celf.magazine, curatorial project and digital magazine about art and culture in Hive. Join our community and share your talent with us.



Thank you!

I loooooooooooooooooove this recording!!!!