You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Is Freedom And Is Humanity Worthy Of It?

in Deadpost Initiative4 years ago (edited)

Sorry I haven't gotten around to a deadpost yet, i will tomorrow! Glad you got some comments this time around.

When I connected with the post-Occupy momement, they blew my amateur mind a bit when they said they weren't proponents of voting. Voting means majority rules which means the minority always loses and can discourages compromise. I understand the arguments that that can't work on a large scale, though I think it's a wonderful sentiment to have even when deciding to use voting to simplify things. Consensus building should be part of any system, whether it's method is to debate endlessly until everyone agrees or gives up, to vote, or to delegate authority to a representative or leader. Otherwise people always gonna get fucked in the end.

Sorry that was a bit off topic from the main topic but I got sidetracked at the democracy bit.

Words, man! I think we need to be flexible with them, but we should feel free to invent new words or borrow from another language when we find a word to be to confusing because of it's multiple meanings.

As for your definition of freedom, it sounds more sound (hah! two meanings!) than most of the definitions I've seen.

Sort:  

I'm not sure what the last paragraph is getting at.😀

As for consensus building? Of course and the many pockets of smaller tribes gives one more choices, so they can find the one that fits them best or start a new one.

As for words and their meanings, you seem to be flexible here. Just remember, we are conditioned to resist change and tend to see through a lens of what we are used to.

To move forward, we must see past our conditioning.😀