Cocaine on The Street... Kids, Cola and Coffee

I've said it multiple times and I will say it again, kids nowadays are way smarter than my generation used to be, they have much more of everything than what we had, it's all more accessible, pushing at higher speeds, and that's not good at all. They've become sneaky, more manipulative, addicted at earlier ages, and seem to be wasting time with class, because wasting time is a trend for decades now.

I was sitting on the alley in front of my house building, about an hour ago, and there are always all sort of kids/teenagers passing by, especially evenings. What caught my attention today was that one girl hanging with two boys, holding a coffee paper cup, sipping out of it, and one of the boys carrying a 1,5 litres Coca Cola bottle heading somewhere.

Isn't that too much sugar for their young blood veins, and too much caffeine for their neuronal circuits? Do they really need coffee at 12 years old, and what future is there ahead for these young generations. I know... we drank alcohol during high school as well, we smoked, and we had our share of nasty substances during our youth years...but not many of us...

photo_2020-06-10_23-15-27.jpg

I mean, I guess the percentage of smokers under 14 has probably doubled in the last decade, and it's obvious that tobacco is not the only addiction to rotten their flower power years, and the next to come. They have much more alcohol available as we did, back in the days, there are coffee machines at every corner, Cola seems to be a must, weed is no longer a treat, and fucking at pretty much the same age they get their IDs is the new normal.

We were way more different than the young ones these days, solely because we didn't have access that easy to all of those substances, and it felt like people were giving you weird looks if drinking coffee in public, or smoking, at an early age. There was still that shame holding us back, and that was either good or bad, depending from what angle you look at it. Not to mention getting drunk, or carry a noisy portable speaker heading towards a park...

Now, I'm probably not the right person to talk on such topics but, I don't have anything better to do, and it's too early to go to bed. I feel though that the new generations, although clearly more clever than my generation, easy learning and open minded, seem to be living way more confused, and out of direction, than we were... I guess they have too much from everything, and they can't find a reason to leave the amusement park after closing hours.

Same as some fifty years old that my mom was telling me about today, who seems to have got stuck inside the white powder's mirage and left that shame I mentioned above on an old and dusty shelf. She narrated me today about some guy, whom she saw on some street in Austria, that got his properly weighted dosage out from his pocket, lined it on his hand, sniffed it, and walked further among other pedestrians. I bet that not all of them even saw him doing that...

Unfortunately many more of the young ones will become addicts with every new generation, as this guy seemed to be, and that's a pity, knowing their obvious superior potential compared with the past generations. The temptation is much stronger nowadays, getting informed about stuff is way easier, getting in touch is pretty much at hand everywhere, and they don't want to miss the trend or be left on the side.

I'm not against any evolutionary process by all means but, the way I see it, that's not evolution. Growing up faster into unhealthier habits and trashing your life faster and better than the old generation is not evolution, or "revolution" either, if you ask me. Hence I feel pity for the young ones these days. They have so much the world has to offer, at the tip of their fingers, and still they choose to play the cards against themselves...

Closing the post before I fall asleep, a question pops up to my mind: is there any light at the end of the tunnel, or are the next generations caught in a deadly vortex?

Thanks for attention,
Adrian