Orphan Feral Kitten Doing Well (Update #2)

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

It's been about two weeks since this furry, little baby showed up on my back porch one morning. I've been caring for her and working with her to un-feral? the kitten, in order to find her a safe, loving home.

I'm pleased to report that she's now a very tame, loving and playful little girl. Check out some recent photos I took of the fluff-ball.

Cute, Huh...???

In the next picture, you can see how comfortable she's become to human touch. She's so trusting now, that she actually flops down and rolls over to offer me her belly for a rub🤗

Not being experienced at turning a feral kitten into a house pet, I certainly wasn't sure if I'd succeed, but I must have done things right (When I rescued my ten year old female cat from an alley as a kitten, I don't think she was feral)

After leaving the back door open to my mud room for most of the day, leaving food and water down, eventually lured her in. I would keep the door open for her to freely come and go, till she trusted me and the room.

When I found her staying mostly inside within only a day or two and actually falling asleep...closing the door with her inside the room, didn't spook her.

The little thing had already become relaxed enough to let me pet her a bit by then as you can see in the photographs. That's me testing her while she was eating to see just how trusting she'd become.

She even purred, instead of growling

I'd like to find her a home with a young enough person or family that's more likely than me to outlive her; I'm too old...I wouldn't want to leave the poor thing as an orphan again after I've kicked the bucket...!!!

I'm more inclined to give an old pet a home who needs one to help give it more comfort in the senior years of its life.

Anyway… Here's another shot of the baby girl, before signing off, to help brighten your day.

Oh, I almost forgot... She lets me pick her up and hold her in my arms now. I'll try to have snapshots soon of that, for a future post. Sorry that the photos are not the best, but my camera skills have become very rusty.

Till then, be happy my friends and stay well.

Ciao


@AngryMan

Founder- Free Speech Community

(https://peakd.com/c/hive-168088/created)


Images: Mine
Sort:  

Helping feral cats is a wonderful cause. Here is a song about helping cats:

Helping feral cats is a wonderful cause.

Yes, I agree... Thanks for responding and I liked that cat video you included. One of the felines in it looks a lot like my orphaned kitten's adopted father who looks out after her. He's a stray that hangs out in my yard.
100_2898.JPG

Looks like a real success story for your kitten, I hope you are able to find a nice home for it.

Thanks @bashadow … I'm confident I'll find her a nice home soon.

You've done well!

Thank you @nikv … She even prefers staying in the house now, rather than outside.

Glad she is trusting you now the cute little kitten 😀