You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time For Changes

I think the recent hard fork issue caught many by surprise. I myself do see a difference between steem and hive, I think there are more people posting for social reason on Hive than ever on steem. More "let me show you what I did today" type post. Yes there are rewards involved in both hive and steem, the social poster though are more about just sharing things, likes dislikes, happy and sad moments in life.

There is still a growing Blogger community, and a lot of the blogs are great, and with the advent of the community system it is making it easier for the Bloggers to find and reach an audience.

I myself got tired of discord and well a lot of the discord on discord. I do still use it, mostly to report bugs or problems with various apps, I drop my one or two line with image if needed, then I am gone, I'll check back in the next day to see if more info was needed.

There is nothing wrong with hanging your daily blogging post up and taking a break. Hive is a Social Network also, not just a crypto currency, or a blogging platform, or a place for developers to practice their skills. Hive is available for a lot of different uses, some uses lead to greater rewards than others.

Reward expectations and reward envy will always be a part of any monetized social network, it just can not be helped, it is human nature.

We just had our first hard fork, no changes to the reward system involved, 99% of it was for laying the foundation work, to get hivemind, and rocksdb up and running so that second layer application have a solid place to start. Yes there were issue, they are being worked on.

I am hopeful that the reward system will be allowed to run as is through at least the one year anniversary of Hive. We do not need to go down the road of steem and keep chasing/changing the reward system with every hard fork. We have the foundation laid, next stop I hope is the shelter, working on a solution to the witness selection and retention system. After that then we can focus on the garden and growing food for thought.