A Drawing From My Past ..

Drawings from the past.png

A Birthday Weekend ..

My side of the family, got together this past weekend to celebrate several birthdays that occur in October. My sister-in-law is also pregnant and due any day now, so the timing of the gathering needed to be sooner than later. My mom, sister, sister-in-law, and my niece, all have October birthdays, and there will soon be another one!

Every so often, when we get together with my parents, my mom brings a piece of my childhood with her to give to me. A little something that she no longer displays or has packed away from many, many years ago. It could be as simple as a photograph, or something more detailed, like art. This particular time it was a piece of art I made as a kid.

The Art Drawing ..

IMG_3230.JPG

Here we have it, another fine piece created by yours truly (yes, that's sarcasm). Okay, so it's not one of my best creations. I am going to cut myself some slack, because I probably drew this about 30 years ago. Thinking back, I can remember this drawing, but I don't remember drawing it. I may have been in high school, had limited art exposure and experience, thus the reason it's not that great.

It the blog banner, I added a little green-blue color in order to make it a little more appealing. Otherwise, the drawing is a little bare as far as the foreground and background are concerned. Maybe I forgot, or just didn't know any better. That was the first thing I saw when I pulled it out of the bag my mom handed to me.

IMG_3235.JPG

I can easily chalk it up to inexperience. I would like to think that my abilities have grown since I drew this, but I guess that is up to interpretation as well (hahaha). The more I looked at it, after I got it home, I realized that it really wasn't all that bad. First of all, mom had cherished it for so many years, before giving it back to me, and could have easily thrown it away (that has to count for something).

IMG_3235 2.JPG

Minus the lack of background, the tree is kind of cool. See!! I had a small obsession for trees way back then too. It's not your run of the mill tree, but rather follows a unique free flowing form (say that three times fast). It sort of reminds me of a bonsai tree.

IMG_3235 3.JPG

The cherub or chubby angel (I don't know which) is cute. He/she is sleeping on the hillside resting their head on the gnarly roots from the short old tree. I also like the wild and curly hair and tiny, almost unnoticeable, wings. The birds in taking flight through the stark white sky, are a little bit weird looking. I don't want to bash myself too much on that. I really think my bird drawing abilities have not improved since then. I still stink at drawing animals and people.

IMG_3235 4.JPG

Moving On ..

I promise that I will work on my bird drawing, or leave it to the experts. I am not sure, but I am actually thinking about playing around with this drawing. I may add to it or may just copy it and them mess with the copy. I kind of like how the blog banner came out with the color filling in around the entire drawing.

What do you think?

Drawings from the past21541.png

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_8159.JPG

“In all affairs it's a healthy thing now and then to hang a question mark on the things you have long taken for granted.”

― Bertrand Russell

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

I think mess with it is a fine idea. It is almost a fantasy setting, and most of what I have seen on your post are closer to realism, so an utter fantasy completion of this would be nice, I think. I can already see a small story in the offering from it. A story of the tree, the Angel resting, and the, (what appears to my eyes), with a baby in here/his arms. Who did she rescue, is the tree trapping her, or helping protect her? are the birds going for help or to alert her enemy of where she is?

Haha.. you know me all to well. Maybe I DO need to put a small story together for a little fun. Yeah.. I tend to paint and draw in realism style. A side of me always wants to play outside the lines, but I always fall back to realism. I guess it started at a young age! hehe.

You know.. I look at it and it DOES appear like a baby in the arms. So weird.. You always have a very keen eye for things. Thanks for pointing that out.. I like to think of it this way :-)

As a kid I loved "what do you see in the clouds games", or the tree bark, all the little things that could have things hidden.

I quite like the drawing. No complaints here. I like how the root appears as another branch ... very surreal:)

Thanks.. You know I like my trees and roots :-) I may have to draw another tree soon.

I think it looks quite pretty for a kid's drawing, it shows early signs of artistic talent. You can be proud. I like the last picture, such a cute one!

Poor Pepper boy.. miss his curios ways, like in that photo of him smelling the dandelion. I don't really know whether I am good or not at art, but I do like the way it makes me feel and that I have fun making it. That's all that matters to me.

Thanks for the compliment! I wish I had more time to paint and draw. Time is an ever fleeting thing.

Time flies fast, especially on 2020 it seemed like flying with the speed of light

Wow, that is pretty awesome. I always sucked at art. I just didn't have the brain for it I guess. The best piece I ever did was a pointillism piece of a parrot or some exotic bird when I was in elementary school.

It's cool that you remember that drawing you did. I bet if you really think hard about it, you'll remember how your hand cramped up while doing it. I hate that about pointillism. It also gives me an anxious feeling when creating it. No clue. I'm weird.. what else can I say? lol.

Do you still have the drawing?

I might, I don't really know for sure. If I do it is probably buried in a file cabinet somewhere. I was young back then, the cramps probably didn't even phase me!