A Quick Trip Down To Ocean City NJ

This Past Weekend ..

My wife and I decided to take a quick trip down to Ocean City NJ. It's not to far from our house, about 30-40 minutes in the car. The tourist season has been over since the beginning of September, so it is a lot easier to find parking and get on and off the island. Parking was free, so we didn't have to worry about that. The weather was awesome. Mid 70's (F) and not much breeze. The surfers were out in full force as well as a handful of beach goers.

IMG_8497.JPG

It was a little bit hazy, but we managed to walked up and down most of the board walk. The boardwalk, originally built in the 1880'a, is about 2.5 miles long, but we only walked 1.25 miles of it. The part we walked has most of the stores, arcades and such along the edge of it. I would say maybe 50 to 60% of the shops, restaurants and game fronts were open for business. Most of them probably close on weekdays, now that all those tourists are gone.

We were going to eat something, but just didn't feel like it. If it's a beer or a drink your after, you won't find it here. The entire town is what they call "Dry". Alcohol isn't served or sold anywhere on the island. The city is pretty strict about keeping it a family friendly place. Now, you can buy it and bring it in, but can't buy it here.

ab6aaf0db4bb4046833fc96d3ef72f17_l.jpg

We did end up playing some mini golf, where I lost if you have to know. We were walking along the boardwalk and I happened to find a $20 bill just lying on the ground. I looked around and no one was even close to us, so we got lucky while someone else had a bad day. Thanks for paying for our mini golf whoever you are!!

IMG_8498.JPG

After we finished the game, we slowly walked back down the boardwalk to our car, and drove back home to Molly. Not a very exciting day, but it was fun just to spend the time with my wife and walk. We both like to people watch as well. There are always a lot of people to watch.. haha.

Sorry I didn't get a lot of pictures. For one, I always forget until it's too late, and I need a new phone. This one takes blurry pictures most of the time.

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_0996 2.JPG

"I thought of you and how you love this beauty,
And walking up the long beach all alone
I heard the waves breaking in measured thunder
As you and I once heard their monotone.

Around me were the echoing dunes, beyond me
The cold and sparkling silver of the sea --
We two will pass through death and ages lengthen
Before you hear that sound again with me.”
― Sarah Teasdale

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocd, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @innerblocks, @appreciator and @theluvbug, - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Faith and I do a tourist in our own town thing every now and then. It's basically a day trip somewhere not too far away, maybe out to 2 hours drive so about 220 kilometres where we check out the place, visit some antique shops or a local vineyard, a museum or some such little attraction. Then we have a picnic or hit a café for lunch and drive home. Sometimes it's as simple as hitting a beach-side location and strolling around or a market. Either way it's a nice little break and we always enjoy it.

The last time I played mini gold with Faith she kicked my ass...She only mentioned it the other day, there's one in the world-renowned wine region of Barossa Valley...She said we should go when she's recovered from her operation. She just wants to kick my ass again. Lol

Nice little post...Now following you to...I had thought I already was to be honest. All good, got it sorted now.

It's relaxing and actually fun to do the tourist thing when all those tourists are back home. We do venture down during the season, but it's a different world. My wife goes to the beach at least once a week to sit out and read. I get board with that, but can do it as long as I have an umbrella. Need shade man :-)

Yeah, golf or the mini version of it, is not my sport. Every once on a while I get lucky. Don't let her win on purpose, just because she had surgery.. No no.. she'll have to win it straight up! No Mercy! hahaha.. just messing. For some reason she sounds like one who would rather risk post surgery body damage rather than suffer a loss at mini golf. haha.. Love It!

No worries about following. That kind of stuff doesn't bother me at all. I gave up a long time ago wondering how people think when it comes to following, curation, delegation .. yada yada. You could drive yourself nuts. I appreciate and enjoy the conversation. I like that part of the platform. I have to say though, I got very overwhelmed with your weekend engagement posts. I have NO CLUE how you read all of those comments. I tried and started to sweat. hehe.

Have a good day or I guess night there.. see ya around soon!

!ENGAGE 20

Lol...You sound like me...Faith can sit in the sun on the beach and have a great time. Ten minutes and I'm grumbling, fidgeting and annoying her. And ye, shade glorious shade...I'm not one to sit in the sun unless I have to. The other thing is that I hate sand. Yeah, I'm one of them. It get's everywhere and I can't stand it. So, we walk on the beach, don't live far from it, and will go for a swim sometimes, but never in the heat of the day and we never lay on the beach...It's all my fault. :)

Faith isn't the most co-ordinated of girls. She was a great netballer though, played GA (goal attack) as she's six feet tall, and was very good at it. She also swam for the State, bloody awesome swimmer*, but co-ordination isn't her thing. This all makes it far worse that she beat me at mini golf. Lol. I'm not a golfer either, and I think calling mini golf golf is a big leap anyway. No way I'll let her win though, if I can help it.

I only follow a few people here and I often do a cull. It depends on activity and content. I have followed people whose quality nose-dived and unfollowed, sometimes re-followed too though. Sometimes my feed get's a little slow but I have to keep it free from the stuff that bores me to tears, like crypto graph bullshit for one. I curate for curangel so I'm always outside of my feed and see a lot of posts. It works for me, others may have their own ideas.

With the #weekend-engagement posts...Yeah, it's a lot. I tend to see the head comment someone makes and respond as quickly as I can and follow it up as necessary. Then with the sub-comments I glance through, add input where I think I can ad something relevant and then move on. I don't want to comment everywhere there though as it's all about other people doing so. I don't want to get in the way. I address everything that's direct to me though.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Looks and sounds like you had a really great time. I would like to do some day trips with my wife like this, but we are often too busy or on extended camping vacations, so I guess we use that for our "get-away" time. I am hoping we can get more camping trips in next Summer than we did this past summer. I have been to Jersey before, but I don't remember much of it. Only Atlantic City.

Camping is always so much fun. I know we talked about it before, but Molly would freak out thus aggravating her Addison's.. so our stuff is packed away for another time.

Yeah.. Atlantic City is a short drive from us. We often take visiting company there to eat, watch a show, gamble a little (not my favorite thing to do). There are a lot of off the beaten path places to enjoy in that area. It's not what it once was.. but still not that bad.

Our dog doesn't enjoy the travel, but once she gets there she is all about the sights and sounds. There are some trips we don't take her simply because we want to be able to go out exploring or there is a significant bear population and we don't want her to end up on the wrong end of that fight.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

We are giving away 2000 Hive for reaching 1000 travel digests
Anyone and everyone can join!
Join the raffle and check the 1000 contest post

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER