Molly ~ Trying To Go On In A World Without Her Brother

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

MOLLY.png

I Need To Keep On With Life ..

Not meaning that I am looking to forget the recent tragedy of losing my best friend Pepper, but rather I think that it is helpful and therapeutic that I keep doing the things that I love to do, like blogging. The recent post about Peppers death reminded me that I have more support on Hive and within PHC than anyone needs to be lifted out of depression. I thank each and every one of you for your special thoughts and prayers. My wife, Molly and myself used them for their intended purpose.. to start the healing process.

Let's Not Forget About Molly ..

How could we? She recently let us know that she was NOT alright with Pepper's absence from her little world. They were two peas in a pod. One never alone long without the other. They spent the days together lying around and doing what dog buddies do. Many a time the house would be quiet and I would sneak up on them to find out what they were up to. Most of the time a scene such as this would come into my view...

IMG_1915.JPG

She started to withdrawal, was not as active, did not want our lovin, stopped eating and drinking, and developed diarrhea. This was not a good thing at all since she suffers from Addison's Disease..

Addison's disease, also called adrenal insufficiency, is an uncommon disorder that occurs when your body doesn't produce enough of certain hormones. In Addison's disease, your adrenal glands, located just above your kidneys, produce too little cortisol and, often, too little aldosterone.

Addison's disease occurs in all age groups and both sexes, and can be life-threatening. Treatment involves taking hormones to replace those that are missing.

source - mayo clinic

This type of event is the perfect storm for an Adisonian Crisis (which we want to avoid) ...

If you have untreated Addison's disease, you may develop an addisonian crisis as a result of physical stress, such as an injury, infection or illness. Normally, the adrenal glands produce two to three times the usual amount of cortisol in response to physical stress. With adrenal insufficiency, the inability to increase cortisol production with stress can lead to an addisonian crisis.

An addisonian crisis is a life-threatening situation that results in low blood pressure, low blood levels of sugar and high blood levels of potassium. You will need immediate medical care.

source - mayo clinic

IMG_8008.JPG

After trying a few days to correct her symptoms and help her tiny 6.8 pound body recover, we began to become very worried. We just went through losing Pepper and we were in no shape to deal with another family crisis. So to the veterinarian we go. He assured us that her depression from loosing her best friend and housemate, was the underlining cause, and that it was smart to seek professional guidance due to her already fragile state.

We ran some blood work, got her fluids, medication for diarrhea, and medication for colitis. Luckily the blood work came back with good news.. electrolytes were normal! Today she is looking much better. She is still suffering from the depression, but at least some of the other symptoms are gone. She is eating normally and drinking water.. We are SUPER THRILLED! Thank goodness.

IMG_8031.JPG

IMG_8029.JPG

All She'll need is some good old fashioned rest and lots of love from mommy and daddy.. and there's no shortage of that around here!

IMG_8007.JPG

She has plenty of soft spots to relax and heal her soul from hurting. Her loss will fade, like ours will, and we will be with her every step of the way. One paw at a time Molly.. One paw at a time.

IMG_7114.JPG

IMG_8028.JPG

Man Do I Miss My Snuggle Time With Pepper ..

He was such a daddy's boy and never missed a chance to snuggle up especially during those cold winter months. I will so very much miss those moments, but will never forget a single one of them.

IMG_2454.JPG

Now If I could only convince Molly to be as cuddly. That's going to take time and work.

Hive text divider.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

Hive text divider.png

.textdivider1233346.PNG

IMG_7427.JPG

“Where you used to be, there is a hole in the world, which I find myself constantly walking around in the daytime, and falling in at night. I miss you like hell.”

― Edna St. Vincent Millay

.textdivider1233346.PNG

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

2N61tyyncFaFVtpM8rCsJzDgecVMtkz4jpzBsszXjhqan9qEZkUsDzMhwgdrt13KBbAh7WqSboQumdv2yhFRRtSdbX6GJhfNVeQ8Lce6Vfx3iuDddUojjdUkNCSsknFgR7FmeGwt2e9C.png

Hive text divider.png

I Proudly Support:

Curation by @qurator, @ocdb, @art-venture, @steemitbloggers, @curangle, @steemflagrewards, @theluvbug, and @helpie - Kudos to them and many others for supporting great content and making the blockchain a happier and healthier place to spend time :-D

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

Bless her! Poor thing. She'll be picking up on your grief as well as missing her brother. Our dogs behavior certainly change when we are stressed and anxious. Take care of yourselves and Molly! I'm sure Pepper would be pleased to see you taking such great care of Molly.

Posted using Dapplr

She'll be picking up on your grief as well as missing her brother.

This is very true.. hard to avoid, but true.

Thank you for the support @felt.buzz. 😊

Good to hear Molly is doing a bit better, it really looks like she misses her cuddle buddy, especially on the big bed wondering where her backside warmer was.

Hahaha.. Backside warmer! So true.. They definitely kept each other warm. She will miss that come this winter when the temps drop low. She is doing even better today, so thank you for the concern and thoughts 😊

Awwww, I just found this post about your loss, yours and Molly's... :(
So sorry.... Am glad Molly is better... Never easy when we lose a friend, furry one or not!

Yeah, it really sucks. I posted a few posts a couple of days ago about the whole ordeal. I found writing about it help let out a lot of emotions and crying 😭. I needed that. Thank you for the sympathy and the support.. much appreciated 😊

Your Molly is a very beautiful girl!
I wish her good health and long life, so that to see Pepper that all is well with you all.

Hopefully Molly will soon be giving you warmth lying next to you.
Need time. And time is running fast.

My cats are also different in character. Some are very affectionate, but there is one independent, harmful and sometimes even aggressive.
But oddly enough, I also love her very much and I like that she is not like everyone else :-)

Molly may or may not change.
But, in any case, she still loves you!

All the best to you!

Again I am so sorry about Pepper :( and I know that it is hard for both you and Molly... but you will heal together and your bond will be even stronger. Hugs!!!!!!!! !tip


If you are looking to join a great interactive & supportive #HIVE community on discord that not only welcomes ALL content genres but isn't just a massive sea of spammers and plagiarists... then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server

Awww.. Thank you Jaynie. I know that you are very familiar with the process (unfortunately). Time time time. We will heal together and come out stronger. Thank you so much for the support, the tip and most of all for the virtual hug 😊

MORE HUGS!!!!!!! Take care please xxx

I'm so happy that Molly is ok! The quote... The quote just sums it all up. It is so beautiful yet sad. I'm sure you will convince Molly to come to the Cuddle Side. You have cookies hahha

She was never a big cuddler, but I am hoping to lure her over and make a snuggle bug out of her. Love that quote. It really does sum it all um perfectly.

I am sure that you'll succeed, I think Molly will also need all the cuddles in the world too

Aw, poor Molly. I hope she can complete the grieving process soon, too. We all know what boys and girls are made of, but dogs are made of 100% emotion. Poor thing. Be sure to give her an extra scritch and remind her that she's still an awesome pup.

Every day. Every day. She's getting a lot of love and pets and cookies and pats on the head and and and... lol. We just can't help it. 😊

poor little darling. The pic of her alone in that big bed that she probably shared with Pepper a number of times is heartbreaking. :(

I Know.. Really has been tough on her. She is still running around the house looking for him in those spots he used to be sleeping.. SO Sad. Breaks my heart.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the generous support @ackhoo 😁 and @qurator!

🎁 Hi @bdmillergallery! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: My First Ever Hive Blog Post Challenge - Win The Post Earnings! Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I like your Molly

I'm glad she is recovering. That all of you are.