You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Removing and adding layers of family

I love the timber strip wall behind, it's a shame you can't keep that as the finish.

The last house we owned was Victorian and when we stripped back we also found many layers of wallpaper starting with 80's woodchip paper but lower down some funky 60's/70's psychedelic stuff the bottom layer would have been original, 1900's and stuck to the wall so well that we were able to leave that in place in a under stairs cupboard, kind of cool to have been able to leave that bit of history in place.

Sort:  

I love the timber strip wall behind, it's a shame you can't keep that as the finish.

We are considering it in some areas. I am also considering using it to make a table and set it in resin, but I am not sure if I have the skills :)

We will keep some of it too as we aren't stripping every wall down like this, it is that this one is going to be removed completely to open the attic. We will add layers of our life on top.

I was helping a friend renovate an old apartment a few years ago and they wanted to strip each layer of wallpaper away - the smell of some of them was horrendous when we got to "smoker" layers and had to wet them for removal.

It's nuts how wall paper can keep the smells of yesteryear alive, I have served many years in the building trade and had the pleasure of taking in some interesting smells.

I have a background in composites and resins so if you go down the table route shout me up for advise I will help if I can.

Some decades are probably better smelling than others :)

Cheers! I will hit you up if I get up the balls (and equipment) to do it. I tihnk it would be a good project to do, but with a thousand other projects of urgency ongoing, it might have to wait - which will mean picking and storing the wood til i am ready.

That's all good fella, every job has its day, stored dry it will last for ever. I think walls before tables is probably the way to go.