You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My day of Flowers (and laundry)

Really cool post Jerry. Visually stunning, glorious photographs.

I understand the bittersweet part too. About a year after I sobered up I could not get a job so moved 100 miles into my brother's basement. It was a brand new house and yard for him, and he might have been punching over his weight class when he bought it. I traded yard work (a mostly abandoned jungle from the previous owner) for room and board. He specifically asked me to NOT find a job for a couple months.

It was damn hard work, but the results were stunning. I lived there 6 months until I had a good job and money to support myself. It was really good for both of us and I look back at that with a smile. I know it could have been so much different.

Thanks for a really good post and a look at you. I appreciate them both.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this comment @bigtom13. My journey to sobriety was really
Complex, and fraught with pitfall at every turn.
I have a problem with anger management, resentments etc mostly due to PTSD
But every recovering addict user is a different case, and each step along
That journey could turn out in so many different ways... it is almost a
Miracle that anyone gets clean and sober in our society. I think our
Capitalistic world would rather we stay users, to profit off our
Addictions in many different ways.
Bah! Such a downer I am. Stay well my friend