🌿 Understanding Tobacco as as a Medicinal Plant - Respecting the Natural World

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

This week, @naturalmedicine is raising awareness about an event on May 31 called "World No Tobacco Day," inviting us to consider whether tobacco is poison or medicine. See Tobacco: Poison or Medicine? Here's my perspective.


Understanding Tobacco as a Medicinal Plant

Respecting the Natural World

"Creator makes no mistakes." This is the way a friend sums it up. Even if I didn't already understand the medicinal value of tobacco, I would assume it is a medicine. I assume all plants are God's gifts, all the way from the waterlily to the poison ivy, even though I don't know anything with certainty. I believe nature shows me my natural self, and I respect all of nature as my relations, my teachers, my allies.

In my experience, tobacco is one of the principal plants I encounter in ceremonies. Tobacco connects us to the spirit world, while sage removes negative energy, cedar cleanses and protects, sweetgrass brings ancestral energy with loving kindness. I see that tobacco is gifted, without smoke, as a way of honoring and expressing gratitude. I see that tobacco smoke is a visualization of a prayer, bringing substance to the words being spoken.

Intending Tobacco as a Medicine

Intention is the difference between medicine and poison.

When I think about tobacco, I have to say that the line between medicine and poison is the power of intention. It is my belief that everything in nature serves an important purpose, and in my experience sacred tobacco delivers one of the most important purposes of all: communicating with Spirit. It is given as a gracious offering—a sign of respect.

While tobacco is not a poison, tobacco addiction can be deadly. Everybody knows the perils of addiction, and so it’s easy to understand how tobacco can be abused. In my youth we had a school-sanctioned program called DARE: Drug Abuse Resistance Education. There we saw all kinds of horrifying effects of cigarette addiction, with pictures of the blackened lungs of heavy smokers who died from tobacco-related issues.

I imagine smoke itself could also be questioned as a poison or medicine. Those black lungs don't lie. In my mind, shortness of breath is a painful feeling, while a breath of fresh air is a pleasure. I understand that, and still I find myself feeling blessed by the cedar smoke that caresses my face and enters my lungs in the early morning. These days, my family and I light a fire most days, as part of our homeschool routine—it's one of the ways we connect with nature and keep ourselves safe by burning away the fallen junipers.

Fire destroys and it also creates.

Seeing the Sacredness in Tobacco

Tobacco is considered by some to be a sacred plant medicine. I am one who sees the sacredness in it. I'm not a cigarette smoker, but I do have tobacco on hand for meaningful occasions. I’ve been around enough to understand the various motivations for tobacco use. Medicinally, it calms the nervous system, to say the least.

Over the past six years, I've studied various sacred plant medicines. One shamanic practitioner from the Amazon rainforest formally oriented us to five particular sacred plants. One was tobacco. He initiated us in the medicinal use of tobacco. His instruction was to honor tobacco as a gift that calls the spirit to listen. In this way it can be a valuable part of a prayer ritual. Knowing that the higher power is present is a humbling, faith-building, wondrous feeling.

TobaccoPlantMedicine03.jpg

TobaccoPlantMedicine02.jpg

When we hold tobacco in our hands, and when we offer tobacco to the fire, to the earth, to the wind, to the water... this can help to firm our thoughts and articulate our gratitudes, observations, and desires. That’s why I feel confident in saying that tobacco is a medicine. I consider it to be a sacred medicine because I use it for the healing and well-being of my body, heart, mind, soul, and spirit.

Some additional curiosities come to mind:

  • How to use sacred tobacco for medicinal purposes
  • How to pray
  • What makes something sacred?
  • What is the evidence that plants have conscious awareness?

My feeling is that the answers will vary from person to person, because each answer is personal, and each of these questions illustrates the idea of intention. On a similar note, I'm noticing some interesting glimpses of the natural world right outside my door, and each one seems to have something to say.

These sunflowers give us beauty and we help them to flourish—an interplay between plant and person.

At 9-feet-high, these are some of the tallest sunflowers we've seen. Last week, they started drooping, indicating shallow roots, so we reinforced the stalks. Now that they're standing upright, the buds are blossoming beautifully. This is a reminder of the mutually beneficial relationship between people and plants.

This suncatcher casts rainbows all around—an interplay between sun and stone.

Mutually beneficial relationships exists in all combinations of the four elements, I'm guessing. Certainly, there's something special that happens when the sun rays strike a crystal. Between the earth, wind, water, and fire, there are countless wonders to witness and appreciate. In fact, I've learned a Creation story that begins when the water meets the fire.

This cactus calls in these neighboring succulents to provide shade.

Of course we can see mutually beneficial relationships in the plant kingdom. Here, a sacred medicine plant shares its flower pot with some succulents that seem to dominate the space. But their presence is highly desirable to the cactus in the lower center, because of the shade they provide.

Is Tobacco a Poison or a Medicine?

I venture to say that willpower shapes our entire life experience. I imagine anything under the sun can be deemed "good" or "bad"—"poison" or "medicine," depending on my intention. What seems clear to me now is that respect must be given to the medicinal plants, in order for them to be received as a medicine. Ideally, this respect begins in the cultivation and continues in the harvesting. Certainly, this respect must be given when the plant is ingested or inhaled. This respect is the difference between use and abuse.


All content is original, captured on camera and written on May 28, 2020.

Sort:  

I'm glad to read your respectful words for tobacco. It did bring a smile to my face. An also beatiful images.
Yes, if we add a group listened closer to our elder brothers and stretched our relationship with plant life I think we would understand more and suffer less.
And I also think that little by little more people are walking up to these kind of relationship with plants some label as poisons.
Thanks for sharing.

Yes, I know you're a person who respects the plant kingdom, and honors the relationship between plants and people. I appreciate that about you. And I appreciate your encouraging comment. Thank you.

Hey, I hope we can share some good music vibes soon! Thanks for the kind comment.

Absolutely stunning post. Should humankinds relationship with plants shift so that we all understood this sacredness, the world would be a very different place.

It's interesting about how it calms the nervous system..I don't know whether you read my post about my experiences with smoking, but I was definitely using it to calm down at a time I didn't understand my nervous system at all.

Ah, that's an eye-opening perspective about "calming the nervous system" being a misunderstanding. You found a purer, truer, you-er way to achieve that. Thanks for correcting me, and for complimenting too!

You mentioned "...the power of intention..."

I think things are what we make them. A trashcan, when turned upside-down, makes a fine stool. An empty pot and spoon make a fine bell. In the absence of actual sage or tobacco, we can still purify and make things sacred with our intention. The power is actually within us. 🙂

So true! Thank you. Your metaphors are excellent. Yes, and you're totally right about the use of "what's around" being perfectly natural for smudging and clearing the air, and making things sacred with our intention. Thanks for speaking to that; it's a valuable gem of truth.

I like your view. As Paracelso said:

"All things are poisons, for there is nothing without poisonous qualities. It is only the dose which makes a thing poison."

!discovery 35

Wow, that's a profound quote. Yes, in fact, I considered getting into the conversation about "all things..." but hesitated because I second-guessed myself, not wanting to be so matter-of-fact about it. I highly admire this quote, thanks, and I'm grateful for your introduction to Paracelso—I hadn't heard of him before.

Paracelso in considered the father of pharmacy :)
Thank you for the nice content. Have a nive day :)


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here

Nice! Thank you.

You are welcome! If you like our work, consider using one of your free votes to vote for us as witness!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted, reblogged and cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

There are always two sides to a coin. This is a great viewpoint.

!tip

Thanks a bunch for your compliment, tip, and reblog. I appreciate the encouragement.

🎁 Hi @cabelindsay! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Movers, Shakers & Hustlers Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION. theunion.png

Curated for #naturalmedicine (by @trucklife-family) - join our community here.
Wonderful answer Cabe and I think you say it all when you stated that it is the intention behind your usage that defines it. Thank you for sharing your experience with Tobacco and the sacredness of it, which has a long history of being used in this way.

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

My pleasure! I feel grateful for this invitation to slow down, check in, and ask myself some questions. I feel comforted by the clarity, after going through this inquisitive journey. Thank you.



This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a reblog
to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

IN PROUD COLLABORATION WITH THE POWER HOUSE CREATIVES

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening