Sort:  

I've always wanted to go camping somewhere, I don't know if I'd ever dare... but I really admire people who do. I'll definitely will be checking your content! 😍

If you pee a stream (about three feet up and down) on several trees around your camp they will most likely avoid it.

Anytime I have camped in black bear country I would do that every day and had no issues even with food in my camp. You want the trees to be in a 'ring' about ten meters out from your tent/shelter.

A bear's sense of smell is like 200 times stronger than a bloodhound and a bloodhound's sense of smell is like 200 times stronger than a human. I am pretty sure those are the numbers at least!

I heard bears like the smell of human urine. Would be good to know that was wrong.

Just don't let the salts build up. I used to camp each year in bear country during the fall for about a thirty day stint at a time and never had a problem.

Could have been dumb luck but I doubt it considering how many bears there were. Per usual I am open to being wrong and am simply saying what has worked for me.

Like the old saying goes: There is no right thing to do during a bear encounter!

Ha! @cahlen I just looked it up and yup there appears to be two schools of thought on it which of course contradict each other!

Obviously do what you think is right but that was just one example of me doing it. I have done it in numerous places and camped for much longer than a month doing that routine and had zero problems.

Maybe you can finally prove which school of thought is correct!

Bears??? Oh man, I don't know if I could be able to sleep knowing they are around! Respect! Stay safe! Greetings from Germany!

!PIZZA
!PAL
!CCC

Nice setup. Yeah you might get one sniffing around but as long as they can't smell your food you will be okay. I cache mine in a tree away from the campsite so they don't mess with it.

Good luck!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@acgalarza(1/5) tipped @cahlen (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!