You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transforming a mannequin

I used to work a woman's clothing store. When i was there i took home a few of the partial mannequins of the jr., regular, and plus-size models. I was going to do a future art project with them. I later worked at a paint store for residential and commercial paints.

One of the designer paints we had carried was called SandScapes and it had sand in the paint. It dried with the texture and everything. I made one mannequin with the sand and i painted another one to look like a watermelon. I don't have them anymore.... but they were really fun to work on. Yours is super cool with the face as it is. That painting on it reminds me of the one you just finished. Great work!

Sort:  

Were you allowed to take them home??? lol

I've never heard of that paint with a sand. :o Sounds interesting. Also lol why watermelon? Yeah it does sound fun. Were you able to at least show the neighbors your creation?

Hahaha... we had storage for many of the other stores so i 'borrowed' some that were not in use. My boss was aware... but i am sure it wasn't allowed. That sand paint was about 50-60 USD ... but when some would get mis-tinted with the wrong color i would buy the bad gallon and tweak it.

I don't know why watermelon. I think because it was black on it's base... so i made some seeds out of clay when i painted that one. I took the clay off at the end and the seeds were automatic. I didn't get to show anyone except a friend that said i should sell them.

They were only the front section and made for the wall. So they hung really well. I had them on my wall for a while... but i think they got tossed out when i moved to Sweden and all my stuff got condensed down significantly.