You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunday Reflection: Reminiscence and Nostalgia

It is quite a powerful thing to go back in time 10, 20 years and to realise how much you've grown as a person. And yes, places change their symbolism because we change. Going through a divorce and a failed business must have felt horrible, but look at you now writing about it here and being at peace with it. The passing of time can make us nostalgic, but I would be cautious with nostalgia. We must also keep nostalgia deeply rooted in realism and not romanticise due to passing of time. I like the photo with the leaf, it might be a metaphor for us as people, going through the seasons of life and accepting changes.

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful comment @creativemary! I am much at peace with the turbulence of the past, and these days mostly worry about navigating the turbulence of the present.

Writing has served as a really good healing tool, over the years... I find I can work through a lot of issues and problems, in writing.

I can relate to you, writing solved a lot of issues for me too.