There's No Such Thing as "Normal..." Anymore...

As I look outside my window, I see another sunny spring day, here in Western Washington state. Clear blue skies, the forsythia is in bloom, a few daffodils here and there.

It all looks very "normal."

But there's nothing normal about the world.

1004Buddha.jpg

Later today, I will head into town to see if I can secure a few groceries. That sounds "normal" enough... except I just used the word "secure," and I recognize that such a simple thing as going to the supermarket has taken on a subtext of actual danger, at least in a limited sort of way.

Upstairs, Mrs. Denmarkguy has turned her sewing skills to making protective face masks, in response to a regional hospital's appeal. They are in desperate need of any kind of protection for all their "secondary staff" (orderlies, janitors, cafeteria workers) who don't have direct patient contact, yet work in a high risk area.

When made according to specifications, these masks can be 70-80% effective, which is a LOT better than "having nothing at all."

1009PinkRhody.jpg

During my morning meditation, it came to me that even though the world around us has become a frightening place in some way, I'm not afraid of dying... and I actually never have been.

What I'm "afraid" of is those near me whom I love and care about both suffering and dying. That has also been true of most of my life.

I fear loss far more than death itself.

And yet? Although I adhere to no particular branch of spirituality or religion, I am generally aligned most with the Buddhist tenets of "impermanence" and "non-attachment."

Life is a funny place, though... I have often been "taken to task" for not running around in a state of frazzled panic during times of crisis; those around me asserting that I just don't care.

Which is not true, at all.

The way I see it, there are things we can control, and things we cannot control. In the vast majority of cases, we cannot control what life serves up for us, but we can control how we respond to it.

And maybe that's the important thing here...

1024Eucalyptus.jpg

When we run around in a state of freaked-out panic, we're actually not responding, we're reacting.

Don't get me wrong, "reactions" are a fine thing when you need to get your hand off a hot stove, or you need to duck because a swinging I-beam is targeting your head... but not so much when a situation is best served by a measured response.

And so, I will head into town to get to the supermarket, taking reasonable precautions while choosing to not freak out about it.

Meanwhile, stay safe and healthy, wherever you are!

Thanks for reading!

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for this platform.)
Created at 20200321 10:46 PDT

0002/1230

Sort:  

I am of the tortoise kind my friend. When things fall apart, I simply pull my head into my shell, and when the storm is over, I help the victims Lol.
Once you have lost almost all around you life has a way of showing us that we are only on a journey on this planet.
Always to be kind to everyone, regardless of what they do to you.
Blessings!

same to you my man. Stay safe. And, btw ,Iam also similar to you where the big things don't make me panic. Its the little things like losing my keys or wallet that make me panic lol

Dear Denmarkguy, I agree with you. "It all looks very normal, but there's nothing normal about the world". here we are in the day 9 of the lockdown and I conitnue to think we are all in a surreal movie. Nothing is normal, but we are all strong and everything will come back to normal (or to a different "normality").

This is a wonderful bit of musing, indeed! Bravo!

The world's pandemic had taken arrest of many people 's emotions and reactions. You too, take care. I should pick up skills to DIY masks too, can't seem to find it anymore. Online - - - soooo expensive.

It's much better to keep a cool head and accept things are a bit different and will be for a while yet. Those who get panicked quickly become the most vulnerable.

yes.. it's strange how a simple task such as going to the supermarket to get groceries can seemed so dangerous now.

People look at me differently now too.. so I tend to just keep to myself all the time

Hi my friend! Glad you found our new home!

I am more worried for my older relatives than myself or my friends. My mum lives in a nursing home in uk, and they have only just stopped visitors. Let's hope it gets under control x


We are the #PowerHouseCreatives. We are on HIVE

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

Join me on Hive

Be Creative, Be Whatever You Want To Be: #BeHIVE!

how i wish all could be ‘normal’ again. we could either return the clock to november or fast forward to june 2020, we will need to endure whatever is thrown at us, as safe as possible.

It's a strange world we live in right now, for sure. I was just sent pictures of the local grocery store which is empty. It was quite striking. I'm sure shipments will come in today, but it was still an eerie sight to see. It'll pass, and we'll then get the opportunity to rebuild.

For sure there is nothing normal about the world these days with the fear of the COVID-19 virus.
As @papilloncharity mentioned, “ Once you have lost almost all around you life has a way of showing us that we are only on a journey on this planet.”

Take care my friend 🙏

@denmarkguy,

Great attitude and an article very well written.

Quill

In these moments of crisis it is precisely the calm that will make the difference between dying or continuing to live.

Thanks so much for your measured words. Much needed in these times.


curation.png
We'd love you to enter our IMMUNITY CHALLENGE, which you can read about here. There's 50 HIVE on offer & lots of LOTUS to win!

A beautiful post for a not so beautiful situation!
I am with you on having a measured response, not panicing and keeping informed plus knowing this too shall pass!

The fact is, there is no one right answer or response to a situation. We must respond in a way that feels normal and right to us. Some of us just aren't the run-around-screaming-like-a-deranged-headless-chicken types. I hope one day we will relearn to be accepting, as a people, and not so judgy. Where does it get us to be judgy? Thanks for sharing Mrs. Denmarkguy's mask project. That sounds like a great project! I'm going to look into doing some charitable work during this crisis.

Bravo, Mrs. Denmarkguy! What an awesome project!

It's funny how we take such simple things for granted until they become less simple. Or not simple at all, but, like taking your life in your own hands. Kidding, but some people have been shouting the sky is falling for a while!

I don't think one can control their response. They can reason it out in their head, but, they will still respond in a way that feel right to them.

Le sigh.

This all will pass too. Not soon enough. I truly dislike this proper social distancing thing. Have a great night and give my kudos to Mrs. Denmarkguy for her time and effort to make this world a better place.

Stay safe out there!

Upped and Reposted

!tip

🎁 Hi @denmarkguy! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Turn Your Eyes Upward Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

@denmarkguy Thank you for the reminder not to be reactive, but calmly responsive! (: