Serve it with a side of Sepia


The longer you remain distant, the deeper, wider, and darker the chasm becomes making it all the more difficult to bridge.― Ken Poirot

image.png


This is a post for #SepiaSaturday hosted by @old-guy-photos! the pictures below are a couple I took while in Bermuda, which I am not at the moment, but, I wish I were. That has to count for something, doesn't it?


36573780_10156500781423832_4449856645761073152_o Royal Naval Shipyard Bermud.jpg


One can never tire of the streets of Bermuda, in the North Atlantic floating all by its lonesome. It is actually only 22 miles long and a mile wide, consisting of 138 islands, eight of the largest are connected by bridges. Oh, the stories about their past! But, that is a post for another day...I take it all in, this place that once housed one of Britain's largest fleet of Naval vessels. I am not sure if you can see these distinctive windows very well. Sometime in the 18th century, the casement window married up to the wall, making them one. I do so love Bermuda! I like the feel of walking the streets of history — at Royal Navy Dockyard, Bermuda



The Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity

36506462_10156500781033832_4223439176940388352_o Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity, Hamilton, Bermuda-001.jpg


This lovely Anglican Cathedral is eye-catching with its Gothic Revival architecture. It is built from native Bermudian limestone but the stone was imported from France. It is a taxing 155 steps to the clock tower where you get a stunning view. Yes... I counted them - at the Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity, Hamilton, Bermuda


36485871_10156500784718832_7495988966961709056_n Doors to Catherdral, Bermuda.jpg


Doors to the Cathedral of the Most Holy Trinity, Hamilton, Bermuda - these #DistinctiveDoors are Early English style and the entire Cathedral dominates the skyline. A beautiful sight as you wander the streets of Hamilton. Don't forget to peek inside at the stunning stained glass.


We all know there has to be a flower in here somewhere, right? A flower. Always. As long as we are doing that, let's tag it #alwaysflower.


11056571_10153482546183832_2527022493675837136_o.jpg


Oh, say can you see? A spot of sun and shine to fill up the day. Say yes to the beauty of this wonderful world.


CUE THE MUSIC, BERMUDA STYLE



¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥



Happy #Caturday!

Cats are intended to teach us that not everything in nature has a purpose ― Garrison Keillor

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPZLrtq4kEp1CHJrsGS6KNDyJPknBhtRth1ZZ9Qxocd1PR2m6jq15bNNdoWpHWHEzTu3caHoeWJ 3.png


Facebook

Twitter

Instgram


And just like that, this post is over. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. And just so you know, kindness counts, wherever you go, whatever you do.

26 1.png

Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again.


they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 2.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif


91663938_2676252352471908_981368519255916544_n  Copy.png


1  Copy.png

Sort:  

I have always been a big fan of your bridge shots. On 3 and 4 I love the symmetry you captured!

I think it is funny that you did a sepia and I did a cat lelele

If you look at the bottom of my #sepiasaturday, I have a couple of cats. Did you do a #Sepia on the bottom of your cats? Just checking.

Nope. Saving it for SepiaSunday 😁

Mazel-Tov Who will know? :)

The photos of Bermuda look great in Sepia. How fun it must be to walk through the streets that hold so much history. I imagine that there are a lot of buildings with a European style there. Wishing for tropical winds and surf right along with you my friend.

I have been going to Bermuda since I was a young girl with my family. It was a quick hope from New York to a peacefully beautiful island filled with people with gentle souls. Not much has changed in that way, but, it has been able to keep the same safe environment, making it a pleasant time to be there. Always.

Historically, they lean the way of the British and it is always amazing how independent they are all the way out there. If you have never been, you should give it a moment or three.

I hope you have a wonderful Memorial Day!

!tip

🎁 Hi @sunscape! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Serve It With A Side Of Sepia Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Impressive shots...:-)

Thanks, Mike! @manorvillemike I hope everything is going well up there! How is Corona, that ole dog?? And happy #Caturday!!!

!tip


🎁 Hi @manorvillemike! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Serve It With A Side Of Sepia Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Great photos you got there. My favourites are the second one... and, of course, the one with the sleeping cats! They're so cute it hurts! 😊

Who in their right mind would not like a cat, right? :)

Thanks for stopping by and for the kind comment! It is much appreciated!

!tip

Oddly enough, there are a few people who say they don't like cats. If you ask me, they're just jealous of their lifestyle! 😁


Hahaha!!!! You are probably right!!!


🎁 Hi @trincowski! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Serve It With A Side Of Sepia Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Pleasant memories! A good way for the memories to be colored differently from reality. In a wonderful movie "La Grande Bellezza" I don't know if I wrote it correctly. "Great Beauty" for you ...
When the main character, a writer named Jepp, began to remember his youth, always lying in bed and looking at the white ceiling of the bedroom. Before the memories were shown he saw the sea on the ceiling.

Oh, yes! Indeed! It sounds like an interesting movie to me. I wonder if he always remembers it the way it was or the way he hoped it would be. Of course, now, I will have to see if I can find it!

!tip

The way it was! I didn't find the movie on Youtube. In this clip you can see what I told.

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you!

They really do look magnificent in Sepia there is so much here on @hive to see and learn and i have seen yet another contest. Great photos 👍

Thank you! Yes, Hive really does have a lot of contests and interesting posts! Thanks for stopping by and saying hello!

!tip

Thank you @dswigle for coming by and saying hello and i was looking at some of your posts am very impressed with your wording and photos i could learn a lot from your blogs very inspirational 😊

🎁 Hi @kohsamui99! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I am not sure what this tip is for but very generous for you to do so. Thank you @dswigle 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 7 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

Thank you so much for the reposting, @pixresteemer!

!tip

🎁 Hi @pixresteemer! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Serve It With A Side Of Sepia Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

great shots and sepia hues. congratulations. I'm new on the platform. it made me happy to see great works. I love it..

Thank you and welcome to Hive!

Thank you!!

My pleasure!

Great reportage. Keep up the good work. I'll add you. Cheers

Thank you.