Please send vibrators so the house-arrest can stop!

While we are all frustrated with the state of things in our country, it is not the right time to lose it. Slowly but surely I am losing my mind here, and I just hope things can get back to normal soon. Some things in life are better left unsaid because if I do, I might just land in jail.

These last few days I have been very negative towards everything going on around me. I don't even switch on the television anymore because it is just Covid-19 everywhere, but I have never wished to be in a different country as much as I wish now.

These stupid rules are just pointless!

I have come to THIS conclusion when I spoke to my sister in law yesterday. I waited three days to phone her because we are so much alike, and I knew exactly what she was going to say!

Boy was I right, but she is even angrier than I am.

There are strict lockdown rules to follow, but not everyone listens. Some just plain ignore all the rules. While people sit at home and starve of hunger because they are not allowed to work, some people just continue with their lives as if nothing is going on around them.

Who would've thought that we could be held captive by our own government? People who don't even know the difference between a vibrator and a ventilator!

I no longer call it lockdown! I simply call it house-arrest. I do think that a lot of other people feel exactly the same way I do. We as a nation have become beggars because the government now decides what we can and can't buy. People are going to the ends of the earth to try their own concoctions of alcoholic recipes and some are smoking tea and herbs just to stay afloat.

I kid you not!

The black market is still roaring! I myself have been part of a few criminal activities in the last few days to buy cigarettes for my husband, and I've sent a bottle of whiskey to my friend in Durban. Courier and all!

I am going against what I believe in and that is the most frustrating thing of all. We are suckers and we believe everything that is fed to us via social media. I have never seen so much fake news and instigation in circulation and I am ashamed of our government!

On a more positive note: What is inside, must come out. Now I feel better.

Sort:  

It is not easy for most of us to stay at home with many strict rules. Teaching from home was also another challenge for teachers. I struggled to get my students to do their work while I do not get to see them physically. I had google meet to meet some of them virtually to guide them. We are literally eat, sleep and work from home with a repeated pattern for many weeks. Stay strong!

Gatvol (Fed Up)

Restrictions have most definitely not worked, underground black market is thriving while highest level pontificate.

Locking people into crammed small rooms, hungry, scared is most definitely not something I thought we would ever see in a lifetime, well I was mistaken.

Before I take up the rant, yes I agree somethings are better unsaid! Oh BTW get nicotine patches apparently they may help in preventing.... Blowing off some smoke.

It's not a simple situation and I can understand you. Here, after 2 months of lockdown, we just started the second phase because the contagion seems to become slow during the last 2 weeks. Since Monday we can go out of home to visit our relatives and to walk for a bit, but just wearing the mask and respecting the right distance each others. I think we can see if it was a right decision in a couple of week, but I admit all the people I watched (I came back to work in the bookshop on Monday) is respecting the recommendations, but maybe it's because I live in a small town. I really hope all this "strange" time and the lockdown helped to stop the contagion.

Hahahahaha. Vibrators. Maybe he actually didn't mis-speak!

@wwwiebe At least the people will have a good time in the end....I wouldn't put anything past them at this stage. I don't have an issue with the rules, but then everyone should follow the rules.

Lockdown is only meaningful if it is followed. Otherwise, one loses any potential benefit in trying to restrain the virus propagation to keep the hospitals not overwhelmed... I am not too aware of the situation in SA and I hope it is not too hard. I however can really imagine it may be complicated to get correct statistics too.

Hi @lemouth! There is nothing meaningful in this lock down. I agree if everyone just did what they were supposed to then it would be fine, but seriously people are locked up for not wearing a mask in their car while driving but this is allowed. I find it ridiculous!

Yes, one indeed needs to be consistent... I accepted an invitation to Jo'burg for December. However, the condition is no lock-down (so that I can leave France and enter SA). December is far away but things are not clear at the present time. :/

The rules are different everywhere. It sounds like they are really making life miserable where you are. We have had a very sensible type of lockdown in my home state of Minnesota. We can do what we need to do and buy essential things. We can also buy alcohol, go out running or walking, etc. So overall everyone is doing okay. I'm sorry for what you're experiencing... and that it's turning you into a criminal! Ha ha. Sorry, that's probably not at all funny for you!

Lucky you. We are in jail!