Powering Up as Part of My Hive Vision and Goals

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Today, October 1st, I powered up for the first time. And it's liberating! I've only just joined Hive for more than a month and I am still learning all about what it means to be blogging on a blockchain. I am still getting used to the ideas of rewards, curations and, of couse, powering up.

On the wallet page, Staked Hive Tokens - Hive Power (HP) are said to give you the following:


  • Greater voting power on content posts
  • More curation rewards when voting on content posts
  • More resource credits to do transactions on Hive Blockchain


LEARNING ABOUT HBD, HP, & HIVE

I still remember giving my first upvote on Hive. I clicked on the upvote button and waited, but nothing happened to the rewards of the post. I realized that the value of my upvote was still so small because my HP was low.

A week after I posted my introduction post, I got my first rewards payout. It was both in HP and HBD. I asked my friend @ybanezkim26 about it and he said that the rewards of a post are divided 50/50 between the curators and the author. The 50% that goes to the author is further divided into half. One half becomes HBD and the other becomes HP which will also be divided by 13 with each 1/13 given to me each week.

It was then that I realized that I could increase by HP through my rewards and I can earn rewards through my upvotes. My friend also told me that I could increase my HP by powering up. This could be done by using my HBD or HIVE tokens. I was not really familiar with HIVE tokens back then. But I once joined a game on Discord with the members of the @hiveph community and I won some HIVE tokens from the game.

I also received some HIVE tokens for participating and winning a contest here. There were other HIVE tokens that I've received of which I'm not really sure where they came from.

After my first few weeks, I realized that I needed to evaluate how seriously I was going to spend time and energy on Hive and whether or not it was aligned with what I wanted to do in life. I came upon a contest by @hiveph where you needed to talk about your Hive vision and goals. It was a perfect opportunity to do some reflection on what my plans are involving Hive.

I sat down and did a visualization to come up with a vision that was aligned with my PURPOSE and my DREAMS. I also listed down SMART GOALS to achieve my VISION. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to submit my contest entry and I just kept it for my own personal consumption. I also felt it was too early for me to cement my goals by publicizing them. But now, I have another opportunity to talk about my Hive Vision and Goals and what better way to motivate me to achieve them than proclaiming them here.


HIVE POWER UP DAY

Before I talk about my Hive Vision and Goals. Let me just get into my Power Up. After September 1st, I kept reading about Power Up Day. I knew more about it as some of my friends who are here encouraged me to join the next power up. I learned about this before I crafted my vision and goals and so naturally, it became part of my goals to power up every month.

And here I am doing it for the first time!


I have decided to use 180.005 HIVE tokens to power up.
From 274.723 HP, I now have 454.729 HP. That is a 65.52% increase.


image.png

I used some of the HBD by the way and converted them to HIVE in the local market. I am just a few HP to be out of the Plankton bracket and move to be a Minnow. Here is a summary of the classes in Hive and their corresponding HP that I just learned:

Plankton - 0-499 HP
Minnow - 500-4,999 HP
Dolphin - 5,000-49,999 HP
Orca - 50,000-499,999 HP
Whale - 500,000-4,999,999 HP

I don't really know if my power up is considered big. But I am happy with my current HP and I look forward to becoming a Minnow before the next power up.


VISUALIZATION

image.png

A good exercise for creating a clear vision is by doing a guided visualization. The one I used is from a book entitled, Lead Like it Matters...Because it Does: Practical Leadership Tools to Inspire and Engage Your People and Create Great Results by Roxi Bahar Hewertson.

Guided visualization is normally done by closing your eyes and listening to someone as she guides you through creating your vision. If that's not possible, you can just read the guide cues, close your eyes afterward, and recall the guide statements while imagining your vision.

Here is one I used in coming up with my Hive Vision:

You are sitting in your room, the kind of room that you've always wanted. It's comfortable and you're at peace. You go to your desk or working table and see a calendar. The date is today. And then the calendar flips as time passes by. It continues to flip until it reaches the exact same date as today five years from now. Everything that you could ever hope for has happened in the past five years.
On your table is your computer. You turn it on and go to your blog.
What do you see?
How many followers do you have?
What is now your reputation?
How many posts do you have?
What kind of posts are on your profile?
How do you feel about everything on your blog?
What do you see are the things you've accomplished by your blog?

Here are the results of my visualization:

Five years from now, in my new room, I open my laptop and go to my blog site. I see a high ranking user with thousands of followers, with a lot of posts having high upvotes, a lot of comments, and mostly on communities about travel, personal development, and original content. I see that I have started a community on Personal Development. I also see that I have a series on “The Things I Learned” which advocates interesting topics to learn that I am passionate about. I see posts that tell stories spanning from ordinary things to unique experiences. I see a user that has a lot of connections and who has a strong voice on the platform.

In summary my Hive Vision is this:


To become an influential user who posts quality content and advocates for articles on Personal Development and Learning



GOAL SETTING

One of the best ways to come up with goals is making sure they are S.M.A.R.T. The infographic below shows the meaning of each initial. Your goals should be specific, measurable, achievable, realistic, and timely. But before thinking about how SMART your goals will be, they have to be grounded on a strong and clear foundation and that is your VISION or MISSION. In this case, I have my Hive Vision to help me create my goals.

Image Source

Here are my Hive Goals for the next 2-5 years:


GOAL 1: Be a user who has posted and continues to post quality content.
Measure/s and Timeline:

  • Write at least 1 article per week (or 100 articles in 2 years) about travel, personal development, and interesting things that I am passionate about.

GOAL 2: Be an engaging and influential user.
Measure/s and Timeline:

  • Be a Dolphin (have at least 5,000 HP) in 3 years.
  • Engage (read/reply) with all the comments of my posts
  • Engage (read/upvote/comment) with the articles of the people I follow at least once a day
  • Power up at least 100 HP every month
  • Have at least 1000 followers in 3 years by following and engaging with at least 7 new accounts per week so that they will be encouraged to follow back.

GOAL 3: Create a community about Personal Development and Learning.
Measure/s and Timeline:

  • Post articles about personal development at least once a month.
  • Reach out to other authors to collaborate.
  • Launch a community about personal development and learning in 1 year.

Currently, I only have 7 posts including this one. I have 35 followers as of writing. And this post will officialy be the my first personal development article. I think I'm on the right track and I hope my clear Vision and Goals will propel me towards achieving them.


MY PERSONAL VISION, MISSION, AND GOALS (STAY TUNED)

I know how effective it can be to have clear and aligned Vision, Mission, and Goals to get the kind of life that you want and become the person that you want to be. I have operated and lived my life according to my personal vision and mission for some time now and it has helped me so much in achieving the goals that I set for myself. In future posts, I will be talking about how I crafted my own set of vision, mission, and goals. As a sneak peek, I'm presenting here again my 7 Dreams that I am working so hard to achieve.

image.png

It took a lot of learning to align everything that I do for my dreams. I went through a lot of failures and struggles. And I am still learning to live the kind of life that I want for myself. I will also be sharing the things I've learned from my past experiences, books I've read, podcasts I've listened, and inputs from mentors. I hope my ideas will resonate with some of the people here. I know how supportive my friends who are with me on this platform.


And that's it! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post. I hope you were able to pick up something new or learned a few things. See you on the next post and together let's join the next Power Up Day. Cheers!


Glebert

He’s a dreamer and a thinker. He tends to sensationalize a lot of things. He got that from his mother. He’s also a bit melodramatic. Must be from his father. Bear with him as he shares his thoughts and experiences about his travels, dreams, and the variety of things he’s trying to learn and improve (writing, cryptocurrency, fitness, etc.). If you like this article please give it an upvote and if for some reason you’re interested in more future content, please don’t hesitate to follow.
Sort:  

Amazing! I am always learning sa imong posts GB! Keep it up.

Today I learned about visualization

Thanks Abe! I'm glad you learned something. I'll definitely tap you in the building of my planned community.

Exciting! Will follow your lead!

Amazing write up about your power up day, vision and goals! Definitely learned something new. And I will always be waiting for your next posts.

Thank you so much for your kind words @romeskie. I really appreciate the support. 😁

Maypa Sustainable Development Goals ang inspiration. I like!

Actually, dili kaayo ko familiar sa jargons sa Hive jud. Thanks for this.

Yes Jay. Mao ang peg. Hahaha.
Will be sure to share more of what we can learn here. 😁

Wow, you guys are growing really fast! :) You will be a dolphin in no time. Good job.

Really? That's so good hear. Thank you.

Congrats on your first power up! :) !tip


If you are looking for a GENUINE community dedicated to embracing, encouraging, uplifting and SUPPORTING Hive content creators, then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server We welcome ALL content genres on our community page and aim to provide our subscribers a read worthy feed. We would LOVE to meet you within our Discord server – COME JOIN US!*

Thank you @jaynie. And thank you for the tip. I appreciate it.

My absolute pleasure.

🎁 Hi @glecerioberto! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

What an amazing start to your Hive journey, @glecerioberto! Thanks so much for participating in Hive Power Up Day, and congratulations on such an awesome first power up!

Things are going great for me here. I wish I'd join sooner.
Thanks.

Count me in sa imong Goal 3!!! 🙋🏻‍♀️ I'm so excited 💖

Sure thing Kath. Puhon, puhon.

Hello! It's nice to see you partaking in the hive power up day. I went through your goals and I believe you can attain them sooner than you think.

Saw your follow, just followed back. Nice meeting you. I hope to get to know you more.

You can relate with me on discord: starstrings01#8020

Just reblogged your post 😉

Hi! I stumbled upon your profile while reading about the other posts on Power Up Day. It was good seeing someone who also had clear goals in Hive. I'll be sure to check out some of your posts to learn from them.
Nice meeting you too and thanks for the support. I'll be reaching out if I need any help. 😁

Sure. You are welcome at any time. I hope to hear from you soon. Keep Hiving! 😉