A Stolen Sublime Sunday Amongst Discomfort

As I wrote in my previous posts, I wasn't feeling so well in the last days of 2021. I even stayed at home on new year's eve. I had nightmares about pipes and pumps and valves and products getting wasted or rejected by the quality control team. That's in the few minutes I get to sleep before waking up again because of the fever. But somehow, the year that started like that, ended up looking like this on day two!

269702757_728274561483350_1031179889554180843_n.jpg

When I woke up the next morning, when sleeping it off didn't seem to work, and after taking two different medicines, I decided I should try sweating the sickness out. I took my bike for a short trip.

I don't know if the fresh air or the physical activity, or one of the medicaments that made the difference, but by the time I went home, I was feeling much better. I even contacted some friends to see what plans they have for the weekend.

Some of them invited me to camp in a fascinating forest near the sea in the Norwest of Tunisia. Honestly, that's a plan I wouldn't miss for anything. I often use these adventures to convince myself that I'm truly living, not just surviving. That's how I win my arguments against depression when it starts showing up.

I left in the afternoon to meet them in Tunis and head to Bizerte from there. Bizerte is a beautiful city known for its panoramic sites and a specific kind of sandwich you'd only find in that city. (Many attempts were done to duplicate them in other places but with little to no success.)

269871511_274832804550648_5761224022562545202_n.jpg

So I wanted a photo eating that famous sandwich, But then I got caught off-guarded.

we bought some meat and fish and stuff to make a BBQ for dinner and went to our chosen forest.

We had so much fun, as expected. Chatting and eating and listening to music around the campfire. Then I went to sleep and left them sitting there because my lack of sleep caught up with me.

That night, I slept very well, surprisingly. What with the cold weather and the wind and all. I woke up at 7 am feeling so much better. But I didn't get the courage to leave my tent until 9 am.

Because I know how much they hate it when I wake them up, and because they all went to that forest before, except for me, I didn't bother them that soon. So I went for a solo hike, to explore the place.

269897277_2821705664789454_5696776115864799595_n.jpg

As soon as I left the camp and started walking, I saw two gentlemen biking on that same road. I wished I brought my bike too so I would join them.

At first, I was like "Some roads are worth taking, not for where they lead, but for how they look". So I kept walking, not caring where I'm going or what I might find along the way.

Ten minutes later (or so it felt like), I found the two gentlemen on the side of the road taking photos. I volunteered to photograph them and asked for their permission to take a selfie with them before they resume their trip.

268027992_633562407963083_5022263539979614408_n.jpg

A few kilometers ahead, I saw a glimpse of the sea through a burned portion of the forest (many theories are out there about who might have started the fire last summer and why, but the real story was never found out). The sight of the sea was a nice surprise because I had no expectations when I started my morning hike. I know that the place was called "Aïn Damous" (Aïn means water source and Damous means cave) So there should be a water source somewhere or a small river that comes from a cave but I wasn't expecting to find it or to find the spot where the river meets the sea.

270630276_601532097616119_3222590531567310941_n.jpg

The road I was taking started changing direction to go side by side with the beach. I decided to stay on the road and not take a shortcut to the beach. That's when I met my two friends again, taking photos again. I asked them for directions and they led me to the water source. I followed the river to reach the sea then I went back to the camp.

269611182_601417337618841_5803170707464054549_n.jpg

The whole trip took two hours. My whole body was feeling much better after that physical activity so I spent the rest of the day with no worries about my health.

We had a nice breakfast and kept the fire going for the whole day, always cooking something, eating it, laying on the hammock, then cooking something else until it started getting dark. And because I was the only one with a driving license and who didn't drink alcohol that day, I got to drive an automatic car for the first time in my life LOL.

When we reached Tunis, the girls insisted we go somewhere else first, instead of taking them home so we had another small trip to the shores of the lake of Tunis, a good place to be by night, if you don't mind spending some money lol.

Till we meet again...

269039431_289903646525884_1973388208568280061_n.jpg

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks for sharing! I very much enjoyed the story you told just through the pictures. I felt like I was along with you for the whole adventure! Keep it up :)

thanks. I'm glad you liked it
maybe one day you'd come along for real ;) hehe

It’s been a long time man!
Nice reading from you again. 😛 my BBM TA
It was indeed a nice time going out to explore some part of the world, I felt like I was having the trip with you down to the hike and to the sea.
And about your health. Am very much sorry and it’s good to hear about your recovery. I pray for quick recovery ❤️‍🩹.
Please do take a good care of yourself and good you realize we have to live and not survive alone.

See you around bro 😎

Thank you, my old friend. Yeah it was a nice weekend
I felt good for those two days, but then some complications happened
nothing too serious, but it's something that can't be ignored

See you around ^^

It's been such a long time my superior tutor in UU!

One thing figured about sickness is that if you give it room to stay it will definitely be stuck with you, I have once or twice had illness of some sort and once I isolate myself it becomes worst and severe!

Sometimes, when I get tired of the illness I would shout at it or yell, perhaps cast it out with some strong positive energy, or rejected it!

And surprisingly it worked like magic ✨ and in few minutes I would start feeling my usual self isn't that miraculous??

Adding to it, once you move out of your home, you see things, you talk to people, you see some scenarios your body system will gradually start adapting to the surrounding and feel woah am alive, so when you do more of this and take your medicine you will improve greatly.

It's so beautiful having you back!
Compliments of the season!

Heyy, Cesca!
Thanks for the advice, good to see you active on hive. And goo to see you surpassed me in the secret order of the Dreemer

I've won a few battles against the disease already, but the war isn't over yet. Still looking for the knockout move to finish it hehe

Yeah that's the spirit!

Definitely 💯 you would get to the stage, there's an end to every beginning!

I was looking out for your nice little trick of getting into a hammock ;p

Hey, it's good to see you here and its great nature got you feeling good again
Happy New Year @hazem91 <33

haha that was a fun video to make, couldn't stop myself from sharing.
Good to see you too
Happy new year

Hazem!!!!

Awesome to read your writing again! I really enjoy when you write as you travel... this is great to see.
I am sorry that sometimes, 2021 was a nasty year and it hit you hard. We've all had some serious challenges, but WOW, I truly enjoy reading your posts. Can't wait to read what you see next, and where you head next!

Have you read this post yet, @dreemsteem ? Its our good friend @hazem91

hehehehe yes i read it LOL

Thanks a lot, Blue
You make me feel stupid for not being so active on Hive lately LOL
How are you doing?

Don't feel bad, Hazem. Life gets in the way some times...

I've been good. Lots of photography, and some gardening, here and there. Cold and snowy now, so, not gardening now, but eager to get back to it, soon enough. (5-6 weeks?)

that doesn't sound too distant 😉

Six inches (15 cm) of snow forcast for tonight... it's sounds like FOREVER!

Wow ..
From sleeping sick to forest treks.. Thats some healing there.. Lol.
And to cap it all.. A sweet drive back home.. Oh not home another fun place..

Tunisia must be a really nice and fun place.. You seem to have a lot of fun spots in close distances.. Well.. I can't really say how close you may have traveled.

Yooo.. Your decision to go out and sweat was a cool idea, your fever broke and that gives you some total rejuvenation feeling.
But make sure you finish you "medicaments" like you called the.😀😀.

It was beautiful reading your post.
@dreemsteem , thanks for showing this to me.

Thanks hehe
Well Tunisia is kind of small, but its areas are so different. You can drive from the desert to snowy mountains in half a day. The trip from Tunis to Bizerte takes about an hour and a half.

Don't mind my "medicaments" it's the Francophonie ruining my English LOL

Oh thats some cool mixes there... I can't imagine..
No I don't mind.. guessed as much..

I'm convinced there was something in the air towards the end of the year. Half the people I know got ill, including myself.

It's amazing how much we don't know we need the outside and the fresh air till we step out. I let my friends drag me out and I enjoyed it so much I didn't want to go back home. I ate lots of snails too, had been craving them for long. Lol

Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Go out more. The universe is always waiting.

Yeah, the same is happening here. So many people are falling sick all around.

I'm glad I got to have that nice weekend. If it doesn't heal me, it can serve as something I look back to, with a smile.

I love that kind of friends who drag us to life and fun and beauty.

Hey happy to hear you are feeling better it is amazing what a little fresh air and activity can do for our minds and our body.

The pictures you shared are amazing I really like the path in between the trees there we have a spot in Alberta here that looks so similar and I love walking down there the sights and smells are always a thing of beauty.

Thank you @dreemsteem for sharing this with me it was a beautiful read and look forward to seeing more posts form you @hazem91 :)

!PIZZA

Thanks a lot. Alberta sounds beautiful. I hope I get to explore it one day 😉
See you around

Found your post through common friends,

I had nightmares about pipes and pumps and valves and products getting wasted or rejected by the quality control team

Ghad, I have those too (close enough to be the same 🤣)...

Being a ship mechanic, and just going to sleep with leaking valves, corroded pipes, pumps that are losing suction or burned out motors. Ghad it is indeed a nightmare.

but,

Your post is really nice, it is like I am also traveling northwest Tunisia... and also relieves much of my stress from work 😂.

Thank You! Happy New Year and may you have a prosperous year full of joy!

I'll see you around 😁.

I feel you, Comrad!
I'm glad my post could help with stress.
Happy new year, I wish you the same 😊

Utilizing those adventures to keep yourself up and going is truly amazing. The joy of life exists in living and not just finding a way to survive.

There's a lot out there, beyond what we can imagine. Let's keep walking that path till it makes a difference.

Sorry about your health hurdles. Really hope you are much more better now.

Nice to read another post from you.

Thanks for the visit
yeah, I always ignore my pain and go on living my life as long as I'm able to, giving it the chance to catch up with me when I'm done with my fun. I don't know if that's the right way to handle it but so far I'm not regretting it.

Good to see you again (I know I haven't been posting or commenting lately, but maybe that's about to change ;)

No regrets! That's the vibe.
I haven't been posting either, 😂 looking forward to changes in that on my side as well.
Take care as always.

Hello @hazem91, it's been a while. Hehe

I like how things transitioned from ill health to a good one. It's all thanks to the effort you made towards sweating out the sickness.

I'm also like that whenever I'm ill. I'm not the type that traps myself to a sickbed. Hehe.

I just checked the Comment section and everyone is talking about this;

Some roads are worth taking, not for where they lead, but for how they look

Impressive Stuff✌️

It's good to know that you had mahd fun over there. Heheh.

Happy New Year To You.

Happy new year!
yeah, it was fun. I'm glad I didn't stay at home, waiting for my health to improve by itself.

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Hey Hazem .. good to see you show up out of the shadows... too many hiding in the shadows .. it's supposed to be a nice clear space for guess who to hang out?

I think you should bring this cool post to PYPT tomorrow and show it. Catch up with some old friends and meet some new ones.. what you say?

sounds like another wonderful plan!

So who's the lucky person who's allowed to hang out in the shadows? lol

me of course

So many adventures in such a short period of time. At this point I feel like your second name should be Adventure! :D

Haha
I'll see if can put that in my ID

"Some roads are worth taking, not for where they lead, but for how they look"...

hehehe THIS. Oh my goodness. I'm just letting that wash over me and soak in... hehehe What a beautiful post. There is so much here hidden beneath the surface of this post, my pirate friend. hehehe And I see it all, and love it all, and am excited for you. This little "vacation" is timed exactly at the right time. To take the veil from your eyes, and let you see all that is TRULY here for you.

And just now - I looked over to your profile picture, and I saw "My name says I don't give up. I carry on. I never stop."

Do you see? It is all aligning.

Do you see what brought you healing? Life. Health. The pursuit of it - and NOT giving up. Seeking out those friends. Seeking out those experiences. Reconnecting - to nature, and people, and adventures! Not allowing yourself to surrender to what others tell you to expect, and fall into that self-fulfilling prophecy. But changing the script, fighting back and allowing YOUR EXPERIENCE to speak louder than the untrustworthy voices in this world. Fear and uncertainty thrive when we accept what we're told. But you fought back and found the truth.

There is beauty and healing in getting up and taking those steps that will lead you to connection and camaraderie! When we succumb to the doubts, and allow those barriers to stop us... WE are the ones who have the power and WE are the ones who willingly hand it over.

Nothing is taken from us, Hazem. We hand it over. We have to remember that WE have the choice, WE have the power, WE have the passion inside of us that are GIFTS to be used! and we can HOLD ONTO what we know to be true and resist the lies that would try to convince us to surrender our power.

Remember.
Remember and call it forth and don't ever surrender it again.

Thanks for what you're doing to me.
Yeah, I see the alternative path or at least portions of it. Just like I saw the sea from behind the burned forest. I know it's there, I'm just not sure what's the fastest way there. as you said, I have no intention of giving up, don't worry. Maybe, at some point, I'll need some guidance but the will is there.

Loading...

You know I will always be here 😇
We never lose track of one another! and we always reconnect perfectly. I love that about us!!!!

and this...

Just like I saw the sea from behind the burned forest. I know it's there, I'm just not sure what's the fastest way there.

you see it exactly, pirate hazey hahahah you seriously know it all in your heart -you just have to unleash it!! :)

dont' worry about fastest way. remember what i said. just start.

I will give you any guidance that I have available to me! hehehe and I will cheer for you and hope and pray! but you know that you are the one who has control and choice over the moment by moment.

but i also know what's inside of you. i've seen when you're ALIVE with joy and passion and motivation. You just have to grab that and fuel it and commit to it! that's the big one for you. committing to it!!! just do it and commit, my sweet pirate. hehehehe

waiting for it :)

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@wrestlingdesires(5/10) tipped @hazem91 (x1)
drabs587 tipped hazem91 (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

You had me at that little phrase of yours

Some roads are worth taking, not for where they lead but for how they look

...and I'll tell you why... it's not just because it sounds philosophical and intellectual... but because...

I am a person who loves road trips...and you created a connection right there with that one little thing😊. I will drive for hours on end, days on end, and it's not about where I lay my head each night, it's about the journey, so this right here...was a big connection for me. On road trips, the journey is the destination and I rise up to meet it at every turn. I get to stop when something interesting catches my eye and experience the pure joy of spontaneous exploration and revelation. Likewise...when the road is straight and long, I put my pedal to the metal and switch to cruise control ... so I'm chilled, not stopping because there's nothing to see here folks...but I'm in control... If I want to stop and ...do nothing for a while, I do! Because you know...sometimes you just do.

When I am out and about and I take a wrong turn and can't correct my route easily enough, I actually get this huge smile on my face...I feel it taking over because I know...right...I know... what a blessing... I'm on a road I haven't traveled before. What magic and mystery will I uncover today? On actual road trips and in life I have taken detours, mostly unplanned spontaneous decisions....me reaching out...others reaching in. And when I look back at the synergies and synchronicities I am certain that I was not the real architect behind the choices being made.

Your trip felt just like an analogy of life ... we seek connection, but there are those in your tribe who are not always available on your journey; they have other ideas about what their journey should look like...and that's ok...and they don't want to be inconvenienced by your journey detours, just as you don't want to be delayed by theirs.

Because I know how much they hate it when I wake them up, and because they all went to that forest before, except for me, I didn't bother them that soon. So I went for a solo hike, to explore the place.

...but you don't sit back in despair....you get up and head out onto that road not traveled, nothing but the essentials in hand and you seek out community and conversation anyway.

I wished I brought my bike too so I would join them

You seek out human contact in a place that feeds your soul and feels like home ... and when we connect with the right people, it feels good (...and I see that smile on your face 😊) then we draw those people back into our lives again (just like you did with the cyclists...who started out as two gentlemen and quickly were referred to as 'my two friends').

It seems like you know quite a few of the people in the comments to this post. Might this be a return to something good? Art imitating life imitating art, perhaps?

@hazem91, I truly enjoyed this journey that you took us along today. I felt like I was there with you, experiencing that gorgeous cold refreshing air, the open road, the secret places hiding beyond the tree line. The connection in a place that clearly fed your soul. You look happier for the experience and it looks like your hike did you the world of good. I mean have you looked at your photos? You are one happy man when you are out in nature, exploring new paths.

I wish everything of the best for you and I personally would love to read more of your writing. It feels cathartic, expressive, meaningful. Quite simply, it connects. !LUV !ALIVE

Thanks for the kind words
You seem to see a lot of beauty in a post I was writing just to share what happened in one weekend. But yes, now that I think about it, any kind of journey, no matter how insignificant I might seem, is a miniature of the journey of life, hides the same challenges, and reveals the same lessons if we look closely enough. Thanks for letting me see it that way.

I really wish I get to post more often because I enjoy it, but I have problems with commitment. I'll try to enforce some more stability in my life, though.

EDIT: sorry I put this on the wrong post aargh!!! !LOLZ

There are a few good resources for beginners outside of the HIVE official FAQ. Let me drop them here for you. Good idea to bookmark them. I would highly recommend following the authors of these articles on Hive too.

@consciouscat, @liftslikealady, @itsostylish, @khoola if any of you are interested.

@ryzeonline puts out some brilliant informative stuff on Hive navigation and is a great self-help and marketing guru on the platform :-) I have found his guides and posts very useful and inspirational.

https://www.proofofbrain.blog/hive-189306/@ryzeonline/hive-a-complete-beginners-guide-with-fun-doodles-pt-1

https://www.proofofbrain.blog/hive-189306/@ryzeonline/hive-a-complete-beginners-guide-with-fun-doodles-pt-2

https://www.proofofbrain.blog/hive-167922/@ryzeonline/how-well-do-you-speak-crypto-beginner-cryptionary-a-l

https://www.proofofbrain.blog/hive-167922/@ryzeonline/how-well-do-you-speak-crypto-beginner-cryptionary-m-z

@steevc is another helpful guy who has been here on Hive a while and has just put out this post.

https://www.proofofbrain.blog/hive/@steevc/a-guide-to-hive-from-my-experience

🙏 @samsmith1971 doing a great job helping newbies. Thanks, lady 😘

I would enjoy reading more from you certainly :-) Maybe it's in the small steps, you know...if you really do enjoy it, but are finding commitment to be daunting, then don't overcommit. If you make it hard for yourself, you won't do it. Pick one community prompt or challenge or blog idea and just commit to that post each week to start. It's amazing once the connection grows with engagement and writing inspiration strikes ... things just start to flow more easily and you find yourself wanting to be in this space amongst like minded individuals; amongst friends... and maybe bring that one post to PYPT on Thursdays with Shadows hehe !LUV !ALIVE Are you coming today 5pm UTC/GMT?

@hazem91! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

yeah
I'll be there 😉
and you're right about the small steps
it used to work with me for a long while

Take your time :) we will be here...

thanks
appreciate it

@hazem91! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @samsmith1971. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hmmmm. Sometimes, Physical activity helps us getting rid of the gloom. I think it is the combination that effected you at its nest.

You had a memorable Sunday as you explained. And through your explanation I just felt like I was just there on the road. There was fog I guess.

So the night trip would be good with money, did you spend some 😉.

Welcome back !!

Haha only spent what I can afford to
Thanks a lot 😊 I didn't know the pos would have such an effect hehe
Yes, there was some fog early in the morning.

I am so glad you are feeling way better, sometimes all we need to feel good is exercise and fresh air.

I love reading about your day also, and seeing your pictures.

Thank you
it means a lot to me ^^

You are welcome.

Hi Hazem!!!

Longest time, like since Uptrennd days... You were one of the tutors I never got to connect more with but I see there is another breeze of hope since you're here on Hive with me 🙈

Your sublime Sunday was awesome, like I was smiling while reading through... Felt like I was on the walk with you 😃

They sure did got you off guard while you were eating that famous sandwich, it must have been so delicious to have been caught off guard 😂

"Some roads are worth taking, not for where they lead, but for how they look"

I'm taking this with me, a new motivation for me 😌

Hey
let's not waste this second chance hehe
yeah I couldn't just stay calm and be civilized about eating that sandwich lol

Yeah, we won't
You're welcome to Hive and I hope we see more of your posts and those lovely pictures 😊

Sorry about your health, good thing you feel much better now.
Thanks for sharing your fun "adventures"
You must be a very jovial person to have taken a selfie with those men.
It was a fun read.
@dreemport brought me here.

Those men made me remember that people are kind, or at least most of them ;)
thanks for reading :)

Happy new year @hazem91. It's such a great delight to read from you and see your face again.

heyy Zyzy!
Happy new year
good to see you too!

Nice pictures! Nice to hear you on PYPT! Sorry you have covid!!

thanks
it was a fun show
good to see you on discord ;)

Looks kinda muddy 😁

haha
too much sand for it to be muddy 😜

Awesome trip it was, thank God you are a lot better now.
Stay safe @hazem91 .

thank you
yeah, health doesn't always act the way we wish
but when it does, we need to take advantage of it ;)

Sure, that's true

Thank God the sickness is gone. Coming out to reach out to friends and also exercising with your bicycle did the magic. That God things turned around for good, late last year you were down but early this year, you are happy, up and running. Glad you had nice time with friends too. You love fish too much. Hahaha 🤣.
@dreemport brought me here

hanks for passing by
yeah it was a nice weekend
relieved me from much of the stress

Oh, so off rescuing princesses and then shutting down the story eh??? Hahahahaha!!! One day we should jump on the ship StreemGreenDreemSteemTeem and go rescue pricesses for the day, we'll bring @saffisara and a few other Pirates lol!!!
So it looks like you actually had a fantastic time! That is definitely not how you thought the day was going to play out when you were waking up with the fever!
Excellent story @hazem91!
This post was obtained through Dreemport .

Heyy there old friend
yeah I miss the days when we used to rule the seven seas haha
but land adventures aren't so bad either ;)
we should plan one soon, what do you say? I heard something is happening in march somewhere in 'Merica 😁

So are you living in a tent in the forest? Way cool. This reminds me of when I do so in San Francisco. No money, no nothing but God. Not sure what your view points are on that touchy subject for some of God but we can even say the universe. Those were the times and I envy you! You are living life to the fullest! Life is an adventure and its up to us to live it up! I think you are doing just that! Glad you have friends on your adventure in life.

How are you feeling? Still under the weather? Well do stay strong my Hive friend and keep living life to the maximum!

Also who are these girls not pictured? 😅

He's God for me, or Allah, I don't really see the difference.
I figured it doesn't hurt to live one day to the fullest when we're doing what we're told for the rest of the week haha

I still feel good, except for the annoying cough, it annoys but doesn't hurt, just scares people away lol

oh and here's one of the mysterious girls

267457266_607379940557165_2270543035100871185_n.jpg

What an awesome trip 🙌 !!! And it was just what you needed to get well! I hope you will be able to go back soon.

Happy New Year :)

Happy new year
yeah I hope I'll get back to camping and all that exciting stuff soon
how are you doing?

All good here :) It sounds like you had a tough time?

!PIZZA

This is beautifully documented. Interesting read. Thank you for the sharing Hazem🌸
Found your great post on:

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLJNBX5xesAmZiLey9Zp2nBdhS8K4nR1vEKyFmXpKG2dpnR5ad1AKCoJn1HmspphTqWZzByU8CbMQSZJteVqAKjiigmoaaKMr5ssgtGR4XFbkzo2UufjU.webp

Hey there, thanks for passing by
hat was a great show, as usual ;)

What a lovely day! The view behind you in that first shot is so peaceful and inviting! Looks like a great place to explore! Thanks for sharing at PYPT! 😊

Thank you KittyGirl! yeah it was so worth exploring

Sorry to hear about how you weren't feeling well in the beginning.

But I am glad to are feeling better now and I think the physical activity and the fresh might have a lot t do with it...lol!

I often use these adventures to convince myself that I'm truly living, not just surviving. That's how I win my arguments against depression when it starts showing up.

I like your attitude by winning the battle against depression in its manner!

I enjoyed reading your post ( a little late though...but here I am...lol)!

Have an awesome day!