Precious Quality Time

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Past few days wasn't an easy one for me (us) at home. My youngest had his bouts of internal pain again (not going to elaborate anymore but yeah, it was post-surgery complications which would be there unless miracle happens) and that meant our household schedule would revolve around his needs. When he was down with this sort of pain, which was abdominal pain, somewhere inside either intestines or stomach or something else, he could not walk, drink nor eat, which means I would stay by his side most of the time to attend to his needs. He would ask to be carried and walked around the house, or to shift him from room to living hall so that he could hear other people's voices besides mine, or brought him to washroom, etc. AND, in between, we would be tube-feeding him hourly (water and food). I prepared his blended meals when everyone was asleep.

74qib6.jpg

8ybctd.jpg


Here's the thing

I used to feel extremely frustrated during this moment. I felt stucked and could not do other stuff besides being present with him. He also preferred be to give him the attention instead of me focusing on phones, well, my 100% presence and attention were a comfort to ease his pain. So I used to feel extremely agitated not being able to anything else like blogging, reading my books, housechores, etc.

But not anymore!

It was a day, last year, while Jansen was in this same pain, I needed to attend to urgent friend's needs. My friend was sick at that time and needed someone to talk to in messages. I explained to Jansen and he being understanding and kind, complied and said he would wait for me. Jansen knew my friend personally and he called her aunty. So off I went to type my messages to my friend. One hour later, I saw Jansen covered himself with bolster, and I thought I heard wrongly but I heard a soft sob. I lifted up the bolster and saw streams of tears running down his cheek. He asked me, "You are done? How was aunty?" I told him aunty was going to be alright although not sure whether she could bear the pain in her head. He then told me, "I was waiting for you and really miss you, and I wad trying to bear the pain too without you mummy. I tried my best."

My heart ached

Suddenly, my heart ached. He was only 6 years old and he tried to bear the pain while being understanding to let me be a companion to my friend for awhile. What a beautiful soul he was. I cupped his face and I told him,"You are really my sunshine. And I would love to sit here and look at you and love you and be with you all the time". I no longer see it as 'feel stucked' there. I see it as my precious moments spending quality time with Jansen, without distraction, log out Instagram and Facebook, put aside my phone. Without distraction, I realised how wonderful and strong this little boy was. With pain, he still chit chat, asked this and that. He definitely loves life.

Quality Time versus Quantity Time

Often, as a busy parent, we fill up our schedule to do this and that, trying to cancel off the long list of 'to-dos', without knowing that sometimes our presence there with our children is an absence to them. Few times, my boys asked me to play board game with them or listen to their stories, I was half-hearted and minds wandered off. At the end of their stories, I could make an exclamation "Wow, interesting stories" without knowing 80% of the content. Children just need some moments of quality time with them. I notice they grow up fast, and I vow to myself that when I am going to spend time with them, I will do nothing and achieve only one thing — to be there with them (quality), rather than be there with them and achieve alot of other tasks like checking messages, checking mails, watching YouTube (quantity). I choose quality time and not quantity time, if you get what I mean.

Jansen is back to normal today

And he is back to happy self, able to eat and drink, run here and there. Being cheeky is his number 1 fun all the time. Here are some photos because I find the boys are too sunshines that no gloomy or moody can exist.

8a0vk4.jpg

4n9itn.jpg

ya71nj.jpg

7enhyl.jpg

So, we have a lot to catch up these few days, on homeschool, piles of clothes had not folded all jammed on sofa, some house cleaning like wipe off the dust from furniture etc.

How are you? Hope you are fine, and remember to have some quality time with loved ones or yourself.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png
20180212_193505.png

thealliance_ladies_1.png

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using Esteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of Esteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear readers, follow and support this author, Install Android: https://android.esteem.app, iOS: https://ios.esteem.app mobile app or desktop app for Windows, Mac, Linux: https://desktop.esteem.app
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

Beautiful message, I 'm sincerely glad jansen feel better now.
Thank you for the reminder. I feel for you, sometimes i feel guilty when my thought wanders around and not being with my boys. But Indeed quality time is more important. Being be where you are.
Bless your family. Xx

And sometimes I still wander off. Haha. We are surely packed with alot of things to do from day to day, don't we? God bless you and family too. :)

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted, reblogged and cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

you are so strong! big hugs to you and your son.

Thank you @travelgirl. Sometimes, being strong is the only way, and though you thought you cant, but somehow can. I believe it is embedded in every mother. So I know you are one too!

Bless his heart! I am so happy he is doing better! I can not bear to see a child in pain. It breaks my heart.

Stay well young Jansen. You have my prayers for good health!

Congratulations @iamjadeline! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 83000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 84000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!