Life's NO Secret #16 | My COVID-19 test experience and the results is.....

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Many posted about their panic shopping, daily meals menu and how their spending their time during this self-quarantine and lockdown. I had similar stories to share as well until yesterday; I had wanted to post about it but I needed to digest what had just happened.

IMG_20200329_135205.jpg

If you had read my previous post Ulog #88 | "Ure quarantine", the police officer tells me !, you would know that I had been asked by the local police to self quarantine myself until 31st March; which is 14 days after I returned to this country. Nevertheless, on last Sunday, I received instruction from the local police to go and conduct a COVID-19 test at a specific hospital in town. To be honest, I had mixed feeling, combination of fear, worried but also a sense of relief as well. Sometimes, knowing the results can go either way.

IMG_20200329_134251.jpg

Without any delay, I got myself to the hospital that same afternoon. There were at least 20 other people waiting in que to be tested. All seated far away from each other, talk about social distancing. Mainly foreigners; there were several Caucasians, Indians and Koreans. I think I was the only Malaysian there. The medical officers were dressed up in hazmat suits for their own precaution and there was constant sanitation of the area, even the plastic stools that we were seating on. These medical officers constantly came to us individually to spray sanitisers on our hands and one dedicated medical officer took our temperature when we walked in. Our shoes were also sanitized by stepping onto a liquid container!

IMG_20200329_135553.jpg

While waiting for my turn, I managed to take some photos of the surrounding area. Got to salute the medical officers on their dedication and commitment. None of them made me feel like I was a virus, instead they treated us with respect and professionalism. After taking down my details, I went to the testing area. Two medical officers stood in front of me, getting ready to process me. They showed me a test tube with my name on it to verify that it is me. Once done, one of the officers took a long cotton bud and stuck it into my mouth, right at the back of my tongue and started to swap the liquid. That really felt uncomfortable but that was nothing compared to what they were going to do next.

IMG_20200329_140444.jpg

Putting the swap into the test tube, they then took another cotton bud and stuck it into my nostril. OMG !! This was the worst experience ever. I had to close my eyes several times, just to take the uncomfortable feeling away. Not only did they inserted to one nostril but to both. I was glad when it was finally over. Once completed, they told me to go home and wait for them to contact me if the results are positive; which is in 48 hours time.

This was truly an experience that I would never forget though I am worried what the results might be. Oh yes.. Remember I said that they were so detailed in their task; they even had an officer outside the hospital taking down the vehicles in which patients like myself came in and left. This is what I call proper tracking procedures.

So, is my results out yet ?
Nope as of now, when I write this post...
I am indeed praying for the best

For everyone who has gone through a similar experience like me, I do wish that you would share it out. That would encourage others out there to be brave & responsible enough to go and get tested if you feel unwell or am asked by the local council. This might just save many lives, first one being yourself.

Red Green Fun Family Photo Collage.png


Life's NO Secret is all about sharing; and it can be anything at all. Be it related to health, wealth, lifestyle or education. Sometimes, secrets are not really secrets. It's just that people don't talk about it or it's just been put aside until it becomes a topic to B****** about it. It could be anything under the sun; good, silly, fun, stupid or bad to some extend.

Life's NO Secret is an inspiration of my own in which I hope to share with all of you. NO Secrets means NO Lies. Just plain simple facts.


Sort:  

Fingers crossed for you! Hope you are fine. Hang in there!!! 😚

Thanks so much @bdmillergallery
Whatever the results might be, I'm glad to do it as a responsible human being to safe guard the human race

I hope it's negative, @ireenchew! Great "insider" pictures and information. I'm hoping not to have to experience that.

Thanks so much @jayna
I wanted to share this so that others out there would be brave to conduct this test.
In my same building, there were 3 of us called to test but only 2 of us went.
The other one refused to go until the police had to come by and bring him to the hospital.

Hope you are okay. Take care of yourself.

Thanks so much @felt.buzz.
I'm praying for the best

Of course, I hope they are negative results, but, I know the process is very uncomfortable. it is almost a blessing people don't know before they get there!

Those were great pictures, I applaud your skills.

I have you in my thoughts and prayers. xoxo

!tip

Thanks so much @dswigle
I think it's worst that one is not aware of what to expect.
Because I'm patient No 10, I think, I was able to observe the entire process from afar.
Of cos, the actual wasn't pleasant at all

I know!!! You have my sympathy!

🎁 Hi @ireenchew! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Being Loved Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

You are the first telling how a test works. Great they have tests with you. Here it's back home two weeks quarantine and no leaving. The distance is a risk too. Stay safe

Yes, I realised that many don't share about their experience.
I thought by doing this, it will encourage many others to go get tested if they're unwell.
We need to do our part to help.

You can not get tested where we live. There are no tests available. They only test people working in hospitals and hope to test people working in elderly homes soon too. So it's mainly guessing who has Covid19.

Ew! That sounds awful! I'm hoping for you/with you that all turns out well!

Thanks so much @wwwiebe..
So far no news.. I guess no news means I should be -ve

I hope the test is negative Ireen. I saw the way they test people by sticking the swap up the nose and it didn’t look comfortable.

Oh yes.. the nose swap isn't very nice.
They made sure they stick it right up the nostril and on both sides.
Still it's worth it for the sake of everyone.

Wow, I can't even imagine! I don't know how the testing works here in the US, but I imagine it's similar.

Here's hoping that your test comes back negative.

Thanks so much @denmarkguy..
Yes, so far no news.. which could mean -ve, if not I'm sure they would've called me by now.

Hope the results will be fine. Be well and stay safe!

Thanks so much @lymepoet.
No news yet... that should be good news, I hope