Monchrome Monday - Small Town Scenes and Windmills

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

Hello my wonderful PowerHouse Creatives friends! Last weekend I visited a small town in a rural area, and found some perfect subjects for this week's Monochrome Monday post.

I've saved the most dramatic for last, so be sure to read to the end!

This old ramshackle shack was on the property of a farm where they had converted a barn into a country store. They had the shack cordoned off with some rope to prevent any explorers from trying to gain entry. (High security!)

IMG_9711.jpg

IMG_9712.jpg

There was a beautiful barn that just called out to be photographed in black and white, even though it was a legit red barn.

IMG_9723.jpg

There was also another little shack, but this one was all cute and decorated with adorable kitchy country decor.

IMG_9762.jpg

I'll share more photos from that place soon. It was really charming.

In a little nearby town, I found a really awesome auto repair place that had this cool old car body sitting in their lot. Car people will know what it is. Dodge Charger? 1970's era?

IMG_9777.jpg

IMG_9824.jpg

And I couldn't pass up this hard-working digger, taking a weekend rest.

IMG_9776.jpg

The little town I visited is the town of Avon, Minnesota, where you can take a walk on the Lake Wobegon Trail. I walked for a bit on the trail, but I'd love to really explore the trail by bike sometime.

IMG_9773.jpg

Okay, here's the coolest thing. Or at least the most dramatic. Have you ever seen a wind farm? Generally you're driving past one and looking at those big windmills at a distance, right?

Well I sneakily drove right up to one! I had NO idea how enormous they are.

First take a look at this picture:

IMG_9764 1.jpg

Did you see my van? Here, I'll circle it:

IMG_9764circle.jpg

And here's a closer-up picture of my van at the base of the windmill:

IMG_9766.jpg

Mind blown! At some point I will write a post about the height of these amazing producers of renewable energy, the amount of energy they produce and so on. It's really interesting. But that's a post for another time.

Thanks for reading my post. And shout-out to @old-guy-photos, the host of #monochromemonday.

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, share and curate content and earn cryptocurrency that is growing in value. Sign up for an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

Then join cool communities! Here are just a few examples:

Power House Creatives Logo

The Ink well Logosm.png

Sort:  

Lovely old and new barns to photograph @jayna the wind power is an interesting renewable power source, not too sure of how many I would like to see over the hills making negative imprint on natural surroundings.

Thanks @joanstewart! The wind farms do tend to stretch over quite a large portion of open prairie. I've heard that they have rescued some farms from having to sell off to developers because they are able to sell energy back to the grid when they are having a bad year for crops. So there are several reasons I love them. I also find them oddly beautiful! They are so graceful, in a way. They are one of the oldest forms of energy production, and massively offset carbon emissions. :-)

I like the security system on the first shot. The shack was well built and I would have loved to have it on my property. The barn is definitely red. :) With a side of mono.

I love how everyone dazzles with the mono shots. They look awesome and I cannot help wondering what your eye is seeing that mine is missing. I have hard time with mono and sepia.

Great job @jayna! Love them!

Upped and reposted

!tip

Hi @dswigle! I know - that shack is really awesome, isn't it? I could see turning it into a nice little in-law unit! Ha ha.

So, do you like the monochromes you see, but you don't like taking monochrome shots? Or you are not of mononchromes? I wasn't sure which you meant, and didn't want to answer the wrong way!

If you like monochromes, but don't see the potential for monochrome as you're out and about, that does not surprise me! You are a colorful person and you have an amazing ability to capture beautiful colorful scenes and flowers. But if you do want to try it, maybe just look for some old stuff. I find that shacks, barns, machinery and old vehicles make great monochrome subjects.

You nailed it! I am pretty clueless looking for a mono shot. But, that is a good idea and I will try that. I am all about the color, but, I should stretch myself. :)

You have some awesome monochromes there.

I still like the shack. Yes!! Mother-in-law suite!

Ha ha, I can just see someone's MIL living in a shack like that and looking out through the broken windows. "Hey, sonny, it's pouring rain in there!"

Hahaha! And that is only if she is good! :)

Awesome monos! I do miss hearing the News from Lake Wobegon from time to time as that was one of my favorite bits of A Prairie Home Companion (or course the Powder Milk Biscuits Song too lol).

Me too, @old-guy-photos. I was so heartbroken about how it all went down. And yeah, I still sing the Powder Milk Biscuits song!

Yeah sometimes I rather hide out in the likes of Mayberry or Lake Wobegon; the real world has too much sadness.

I could not agree more. I fear winter, at this point. Not because I can't handle weather or the tumultuous upcoming election, or anything like that, but because of the pervasive existential angst running rampant in our society. I always have hope that it will improve, but I really worry about people who already are not coping with the challenges of the pandemic and the politics and the economy starting to crumble... and now they have to cope with winter as well.

And the holiday stress!

What a awesome show of mono and they all fit in well with mono i do love that first photo of the old shack.

That 2 door Ford car would be worth a fortune in Australia 😨

Ah ha! A Ford. Thank you for that!!

We didn't have that 2 door model made in our country of Australia but i know they are worth a arm and a leg over here if anyone has a imported one from Africa.

Ford Falcon. Early 60s. The round tail lights are the give away.

Those wind turbines are AWESOME. 90 meter towers. The scale is enormous.

I love the buildings, and I guess I understand the security system around the first. Sorta :)

Thanks for a great mono look at the countryside.

Thanks @bigtom13. Oh I'm glad to get the straight scoop on the car model. That's cool! You know your vehicles. I hoped someone would set me straight!

As always you amazed by your lovely natures post. By the way why it was cordoned? Was there behind the scene that you didn't tell us? 😄

Anyway, lovely photos.

Thank you, @mrnightmare89. Oh that old shack just had junk and broken stuff inside. But I could see using the picture as a short story prompt!

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.