Birthdays, Books & Bananas! - ❤ Happy 71st Birthday Mom ❤

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

Pastel Vintage Bike Facebook Cover.png

Tomorrow is my moms 71st birthday, but it will prove to be a birthday like no other... Firstly, we are in lockdown (duh!) - just like most others - but my mom was recently diagnosed with breast cancer so not only is she under STRICT lockdown, but after two months of hormonal treatment and finally deciding to boot them and go the natural CBD route, she also received her new dietary plan today... which has essentially just changed her eating habits 180 degrees.

She came to stay with us at the beginning of lockdown and from that time I have slowly watched her disolve into a terrible state caused mostly by all the pain she has been experiencing - but also just the overall side effects of the meds.

One of the things she has been able to stomach is bananas and so I thought, I would substitute a cake for a banana loaf. Several days ago, I stashed three bananas away in the garage so they could ripen nicely, and had planned to make the banana loaf tonight... but the new eating plan arrived today and after casually asking if she would still eat bananas after knowing that they are not on the guide, she said no... so sadly the bananas had to return to the bowl lol....

20200518_202957.jpg

Well damn, did I stand here and wrack my brain as to what I could now use as a "cake" - being that it is after "government allocated curfew" so we are not permitted to go anywhere, besides which - all the shops are now closed.

I decided to (attempt to) bring a little humour into the situation regarding this new dietary adventure... and as one of the things which she can eat often is raw tomatoes... hehe... it is lame I know, but my mom has a good sense of humour... I hope haha!

20200518_200957.jpg

Besides, the blue and red theme of her "cake" goes well with the only remaining balloons which I could find in the house haha... which I have now strung up above the kettle... because that is the first place my mom visits in the morning, to make her tea.

20200518_202740.jpg

A couple of weeks ago I chatted to the family and said that we should organise something special for her birthday... and the one thing she does not have here is books! My mom is a total book worm and unfortunately, all we have been able to offer her is a bookshelf filled with old war books and non fiction and an old tablet to use as a kindle... neither of which excited her in any way, shape or form! So we all clubbed together and bought her a set of wonderfully FAT novels that she can get stuck into! This is going to be total salvation for my mom!!! - Cannot wait to see the smile on her face when she fans the papers below her nose to smell the books.... hahaha yes, we both do that! lol!!!!

20200518_195116.jpg

20200518_201754.jpg

20200518_201904.jpg

So, the pressie is all wrapped and accompanied by a very clearly heartfelt little hand made card from Jude - which all grannies love! Honestly, I almost wanted to cry when I saw what he wrote inside the card :(

20200518_195006.jpg

20200518_203828.jpg

20200518_202231.jpg

Then finally, as I sat here writing this I suddenly thought "but she doesn't have a bookmark here". I think that bookmarks are an almost sacred addition to a book for any true bookworm... and then I remembered... a few years ago, in my shop - where we used to have our bowl of inspirational and motivational cards on the counter for customers to help themselves to - I found a little gift. Every few days, I would have to top that bowl up because those motivational cards used to fly like hotcakes and whilst doing that I found a little bookmark with a very special message. I have no doubt that it was placed in that bowl intentionally as a little "return gift" of inspiration and so I popped it into my laptop bag and it has been there ever since - now, it can fulfill the gift and purpose it was meant to and also... the message it holds is well, almost serendipitous!

20200518_204616.jpg

I know that my mom has not felt like herself for a long time now and it is so sad to witness it. I truly hope that our small, quirky lockdown efforts put a smile on her face and lighten her heart... even if it is just a little!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


Created by @derangedvisions

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

Happy birthday to her, much love to her & wish her the all the best and happiness <3

It'll get better though, this shit show is about to end soon enough.

I certainly hope you are right! And thank you for the wishes x
!tip

🎁 Hi @zafarouk! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

A bit shitty having a lock down birthday. My grandson had his second birthday and we couldn't buy him a toy or a candle as the shop said it wasn't essential. Amazing what you can dig around the house. I am sure she will like the books.

Yes totally! It was actually my nephews birthday yesterday too... 14 years old... and no doubt it sucked more for him lol. As for the Macguyver additions... yes, it is actually quite amusing what you can rustle together. :D

And she LOVED the books, thanks!

!tip

🎁 Hi @cryptoandcoffee! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

From everything you have said about your Mom over the past couple of years, and from what I've learned of her by reading her posts, she is a sweetie and a very special lady! I hope her birthday is fantabulous! 😊

Birthday2013Wonderful.jpg

Thank you so much love! It sadly, was not the greatest day as she barely got any sleep the night before, but she was thrilled with the books :)

!tip

🎁 Hi @thekittygirl! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Greetings @ jaynie. God bless you more. You are an excellent daughter who honors her mother in a great way. I hope you can share a pleasant birthday despite the situation that you pose of your mother. God is powerful and miraculous. I will be praying for your mom every morning in my devotionals. Take care friend. Blessings.

Thank you very much @elpastor! What a lovely comment. !tip

🎁 Hi @elpastor! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Awww the tomato idea was brilliant!!! I think she will adore sniffing the new books and the hand written card is such a nice gesture! What a beautiful way to search for a gift for your mother!

Thank you @creativemary :) Yeah she had a good chuckle at the tomato too lol!
!tip

Awesome😊

🎁 Hi @creativemary! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

So nice! Thanks @jaynie😊

best wish for your mom😊❤ happy birthday

Thank you @shuvo35 xxx !tip

🎁 Hi @shuvo35! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Hope you spent a wonderful day together celebrating your Mom's birthday.

If it's got a candle in it must be a celebration of a birthday!BirthdayWishes.png

ooh ooh ahh ahh bananas steals a banana i'll take em noms noms ...:) looks around, everybody's gone lol hey guys bananas over here !!!

banana's banana's banana's finally somebody finds the banana's what wrong with you guys :)))
tenodfsdfr.gif

Too true @joanstewart!!! and to top it all off... as it turns out, the candle I found happened to be one of the left over prank candles that I once bought for Jude... which don't blow out lol... no matter how hard you try. It was rather amusing :D

Thank you for the lovely wishes xxx

!tip

Lizzie must have loved that candle, most probably remembered when you tried to trick Jude... Yup sometimes things come back to have a second round of fun!

Sending hugs along with best wishes.

🎁 Hi @joanstewart! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @jaynie!

Check out @jaynie blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Happy Belated Birthday to your mom!!

Totally feel you on what you are going through with your mom, my sister is going through the 7 weeks of chemo and radiotherapy, she's so tired all the time and can't eat solid food else will vomit, now only depending on protein milk most of the days... hurts me to see that...

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by by @freedomtowrite on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening