The ART of ContemPLATING Presentation

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

Charcoal Specials Coffee Photo Collage.png

I think it is safe to say that most of you know how much I love to cook. I probably prepare a home cooked meal five days out of seven and on the two that I am not cooking, we are either eating leftovers or dining out. So naturally I spend a good amount of time in my kitchen working with food. No, I am not a chef - I am just a mom that loves to cook awesome food for her family... but meal preparation aside, I would say that my favourite part of working with food is probably the presentation and plating at the end. This is where your efforts can truly shine.

16.jpg

4.jpg

3.jpg

You can spend hours preparing the most delicious meal but can wreck it in a matter of seconds when it comes time to serve it. Food presentation and plating is an art form all on its own! I spend a lot of time looking at food blogs and creative ways in which to plate or present certain dishes and I must say, it is quite startling how many seasoned cooks absolutely destroy their efforts in the kitchen because they put the food on the plate like it is a serving of slop.

ADdPNihJzmPaYV4kTz4GNaD8JexWs4YaESKFLhjbTaU7KZXTUeuwPUVQuyubz1h5DFnTPrzfiGr4cwJFFBJ8nP5cA.jpg

10.jpg

5.jpg

image.png

When it comes to plating a meal - less is always more, and more is generally a disaster! I suppose in many ways I am blessed to have a 10 year old son because the portion sizes that he eats are perfect for food photography. I would generally eat a little more than that but even still... overloading a plate with food is NEVER going to giving you the aesthetically appealing finish that will wow your guests. I always think about it like this... they can always have seconds and by that time, the "picture perfect moment" has already been achieved, the dinner shenanigans are underway and you no longer need to worry about presentation.

20.jpg

12.jpg

19.jpg

14.jpg

Serving conservative portion sizes does not mean that your plate has to look sparse. You can build items on top of one another to give height and the perception of volume, sauces and gravy can be creatively spread on the plate to give an artistic finish as well as to make the plate appear complete.

17.jpg

8.jpg

18.jpg

2.jpg

7.jpg

1.jpg

Another thing that is really important when plating and presenting food is colour and colour balance. This is something that should be considered when planning the meal. Always try and prepare a plate of food that has two to three colours on it. It will make your dish look so much more vibrant. However, if the dish that you are preparing doesn't really allow for that - like potato salad for instance... then you can dress it up after it is completed, using anything like grated cheeses, sprouts, fresh herbs or edible flowers etc. If you don't want to add anything like that on the top of your dish then you can simply place it in a vibrantly coloured serving dish or on a decorative plate. Blue is always VERY complimentary to food, as well as other warm colours like orange and yellow.

13.jpg

11.jpg

6.jpg

15.jpg

9.jpg

Creating a final presentation that puts a smile on your face is not hard - it simply requires a little forethought and creative input. If you lack the creative input then just Google some ideas... I promise you, there is no shortage of ideas online.

The way I see it - if you are going to take the time and trouble to prepare a really tasty dish then it deserves to be presented beautifully. Badly plated food is like a beautiful painting shoved into an ugly frame and it is a true pity! I hope my little "lecture" gives all the Steem foodies a little more inspiration and motivation to go the extra mile with their food prep :)

Oh and yes... all the above meals and photos are mine. All of these meals have been shared on my blog at some point, so if any of them sparks your interest and you want the recipe - just shout.

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

Copy of lifestyle  inspirations.png

text15.png

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
LIKE OUR FB PAGE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER


Created by @derangedvisions

ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY UNLESS OTHERWISE CREDITED

Sort:  

Lol. Everything goes on the dinner table in serving trays and we all just pass it around! 😁

Oh I love to eat like that too - especially when entertaining. I think it is far more sociable.

I still try to make my plate have a nice presentation while not looking at the kid's plates. Lol

hahaha yes... best not to do that :D

It's funny cause our 14 year old has the appetite of a horse. We've had to tell him a few times to put food back from off his plate. He doesn't get that there's enough to go back for seconds. A dog would love this kid!

hahaha we were like that growing up - was always a race between my brothers and I as to who would get seconds... hence we all eat so fast now lol

Oh, I LOVE how you plate your food! This post was a delight to me 😍

I actually studied Cooking and the plating part was a struggle for me hahahaha then, when I finally finished the classes, I could suddenly plate beautifully. I love doing it as well as you 😍 I don't care how much it takes, I find it so relaxing and fun. 💚

NOW, yo photograph the food, that is ANOTHER level of patience for me. 😅 Specially if you're going to photograph the step-by-step. Oh God.

It is loads of fun, isn't it! I would go as far as to say that I enjoy the plating more than the cooking haha! (sometimes)... and as for step by step photos - I love doing that too, but yes... very time consuming lol!

Really awesome,...you did take your time to put all these Together, kudos

Thanks and yes, it is something I really enjoy doing.

Those dishes look not only very tasty but also very artistic! Enjoy! 😋

Thanks hon xxx

Ohh @jaynie ! These are a visual feast. I want to eat from all of them! :) Presentation is really important. Thank you for reminding me this. Now I will be more careful in food presentations. :)

Thank you love! Glad you found value in the post xxx

Omg these plates look like art! You are so talented Jaynie! Very beautiful!

hehe thank you honey!! xxx

Welcome Jaynie😊

xxx

Wow, simply blown away by your creativity. Although I'm not a fan of some things shown in the picture, seeing the food in a compilation as above, I'd try it (and probably love it haha).

Just wow, gonna press the follow button because it's simply inspiring to scroll through your pictures :)

Thank you @thisismylife, really appreciate your kind words - despite personal tastes haha!

Lol, sorry, just being honest. Maybe I should sometimes just taste stuff blindfolded without being affected by previous bad experiences (as not everyone knows how to cook, right lol). I mean your pictures look so appealing, loving it!

The presentation of your dishes is impeccable and beautiful @jaynie. I think the same with regard to the presentation of the food, and I think it does not matter if you have guests or not. The face of pleasure of yours when viewing your dishes is the best reward of all! Thanks for sharing!! <3

Wow, these dishes look delicious! The truth is that the presentation is impeccable and elegant. It invites everyone to want to taste each and every one of them.

Beautiful, really spectacular!

Thank you @purrix :) Really appreciate the lovely compliment.