My Mother's Story, in her own words. chapter two

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Chapter 2.jpg


Our first child was born October, nineteen thirty three, a girl we named Nancy.

The next baby was born November, nineteen thirty four, another girl named Roberta but we called her Bobbie.

Two years later our first son, Jim was born. Then we had a bad spell of Malaria fever, and I did not have another baby until nearly four years later. Then we had another boy, John.

After John was born I told Loren that as long as we were living with his mother I did not want any more children.

Bigma, as we all called his mother, was so hard to get along with I could not see any chance of happiness.


She was a very dominating woman and the only way to get along at all with her was to do as she said to do.
~

A mother with four children does not want to be told what to do, even about her children.

I gave birth to them but that was about all I had to do with them.


I worked in the field with Loren and did the laundry and milked the cows, and by this time we had a large flock of laying hens which Loren and I cared for along with all the rest of the chores.
Bigma did the cooking and caring for the children.
Now I did not mind helping Loren with the farm work but I wanted to be a mother too!

image.png

To make matters worse, Gus, Loren's Brother was always getting into some kind of trouble and Loren and Bigma would go pay him out. I finally told Loren I would not work like a hired hand to pay Gus out of trouble all the time.
Gus did not do any work at all.
Irma was going to school and what time she was not in school or studying she was doing up Gus’s clothes so he could go out and get drunk again!
Well, the next time Gus got in trouble Loren told his mother he would not spend another cent to get Gus out. Gus spent several days in jail and when he got out he was very angry at first, but he finally got over it and went to work as hard as the rest of us.
He soon got married and moved out to himself, which made our home much happier. Irma finished school and married a wealthy man from Milledgeville Ga.

Poverty

When our youngest child was six years old, Loren was taken sick while he was working in Savannah Georgia.
My brother brought him home.
We had the doctor come to see him and he said Loren had Typhus fever.
Before he was well of this he had Pleurisy.
We carried him to the hospital and he was there for about five months before he died. I stayed with him most of the time while he was in the hospital to keep from having to hire a special nurse, but I finally had to have one for night duty because I could not stay up day and night.
While I was there I learned to give Hypos, and make beds, take pulse and respiration.

By the time I was born in 1955, Mama had built upon this experience, had taken correspondence courses and was about to go get her Nursing License, when she found out she was pregnant with me
It seems I put a halt to her medical aspirations

Loren died December the sixteenth, nineteen forty-five, just four days before his thirty fifth birthday.
Not long after Loren died his mother had an attack with her heart.
When Bigma came home from the hospital she stayed with Gus at his farm house.

Big Ma'sB-W.jpg
This is the old Tippins homeplace in more recent times

This left my children and me alone in the big old farmhouse. The children were all in school and I was very lonely at first. I soon started to build up a brood of chickens again as we had to sell nearly all we had to pay the doctor and hospital bills, not only the chickens, but all the cattle and hogs too. I don’t know what I would have done if my brothers had not helped me financially.

image.png

[My own Daddy (next chapter) told me when I was about 12, (and swore me to never say he'd told me this) that when he married my Mama, they were literally wearing ragged clothes and were almost starving]

       Gus rented the farm next year, which helped some.
I started taking in sewing to help out with expenses.
This along with taking care of the chickens kept me from having time to be lonely.

End of Chapter Two

image.png

"Love Came Twice"

chapter two
by

Jerry E Smith
©1/21/2018

These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



cyktlq.png

Sort:  

What a straightforward and stunning life review. Just an amazing chronicle.

I really appreciate this Jerry. Really good stuff.

Thanks @bigtom13, I appreciate that.
I don't know why, I set it for declined payout, but I'm getting rewards for it. and now I can't change it
It really is quite revealing, and there are three more installments. One is already set to publish tomorrow.

Idk what it is, but old time lifestyle stories get me every time. Such a different way of life back then, and it wasn’t all that too long ago either. Technology is moving so fast now, it’ll be only 20 years from now when young people will read about us, today, they’ll wonder the same thing....what a crazy way of life.

I often think about my parents, he was born in 1914, she in 1916.
The automobile was a new thing, electricity hadn't made to the countryside.

During their lives, they saw the automobile take over the world from trains and streetcars (which are much more environmentally sound, and economical as well, compared to the car)
They say biplanes become jets, which became space craft.
They saw Television go from a novelty tiny screen on a HUGE box, to a HUGE screen hanging on the wall.
The telephone, if you were lucky enough to have access to one, was usually a box on the wall with a rotary dial, a mouthpiece and speaker you held to your ear, develop to the point that now we are carrying around computers in our pockets (neither of them lived to see that)
And medicine? Oh my god.
Glad you liked my history @intothewild, thanks for commenting

image.png

Okay, for some reason my decline payment setting didn't stick, this is to show I DID TRY to decline and I WILL be sure it is set before the next one goes down

Excellent story of the times before us, this is a killer story @jerrytsuseer, and it's fantastic to be able to put it up with old original photos as well.

Thanks @jamerussell. I first transcribed it as a note in FB, but I didn't have the idea to add all the images until after I first posted it to Steemit.
Not knowing stuff, it was a LOT of work, trial and error to get things right.
Then later, I redid them and reposted to steemit in 2018.
Now, I'm still refining the works.
I am so glad my Mama put all this down on paper, and we found it.
So many times the stories of our ancestors are lost because that didn't happen.
mama_and_jerry_seal.jpg
That is mama and me