You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Mother's Story, in her own words. chapter two

I often think about my parents, he was born in 1914, she in 1916.
The automobile was a new thing, electricity hadn't made to the countryside.

During their lives, they saw the automobile take over the world from trains and streetcars (which are much more environmentally sound, and economical as well, compared to the car)
They say biplanes become jets, which became space craft.
They saw Television go from a novelty tiny screen on a HUGE box, to a HUGE screen hanging on the wall.
The telephone, if you were lucky enough to have access to one, was usually a box on the wall with a rotary dial, a mouthpiece and speaker you held to your ear, develop to the point that now we are carrying around computers in our pockets (neither of them lived to see that)
And medicine? Oh my god.
Glad you liked my history @intothewild, thanks for commenting