I had a smashing time falling down my stairs. OUCH.

Today started just like most days slow and boring, I had a lie in, Nichola brought my breakfast to bed as she usually does with her usual moan of being shattered as she is not just caring for me she is also doing more as her dad needs help. 2 more weeks then hubby can start doing more.

I got out of bed then thought to save Nichola a job I collected the plates and cups to take downstairs, Hubby has told me off numerous times for not asking Nichola to collect them, I really couldn't be bothered with her moaning so attempted to do it myself. My hands were full so couldn't hold the bannisters, we have two for me in case my knee gives way. I am supposed to use them when going up and coming down the stairs. My hands were full as I went to put my foot on the stair to slip, My feet went up in the air my back crashed down hard and bounced from stair to stair, cups and plates flying through the air, it looked like something from a cartoon,

The pain is coming from the middle of my back under my ribs, nearly every time I move I can feel a click or crunch. The bruise on my arm is starting to show.

Fell downstairs 1.jpg

I will probably have a few more bruises tomorrow, dreading trying to move after a nights sleep, that's if I get any sleep. I daren't lie down straight in case I am stuck in that position tomorrow, I am finding moving from a sitting position hard enough.

I smashed a plate, cup and glass and got a good telling off from my hubby with the I told you so speech, I have been told I am not allowed to carry anything downstairs from now on, both hands on the bannisters. My head keeps playing it over in slow motion, me trying to keep my bad leg clear so I don't do anymore damage to it but probably caused more damage in my back. The fall knocked the wind out of me, I was gasping for air once I hit the bottom.

I have made it back up stairs to bed, using my leg pillow to support my back as I don't want to risk lying flat, I am going to listen to some music and hopefully relax, still dreading the morning...

hiveblogshare 2.jpg

Sort:  

Oh my dear friend! How aweful! I know how independant you want to be, but at what price? I know very well how we like to be independant ladies but sometimes we need to listen to other voices. I had a fall a few weeks ago, getting up to do laundry. I am still recovering but know better now to have people help me. I am not as young as I once was even if in my mid am still a nimble 21 year old. I hope you didn't suffer ant serious damage. Have you been checked over by a doctor?

Hello 🙂. I was stupid to think I would keep getting away with it, it was bound to happen. I will be asking for help from now on. I haven't been to the Doctors yet, hoping it will ease, if I still have pain next week I will give them a ring.
Hope you are better after your fall?
Always in my thoughts 💕

I think I have done something bad to my knee. I haven't gone for x-rays because everything has closed here where I live due to Covid. I need to travel 3 hours to Managua to even see a doctor. I hope it will get better on its own in time so I just need to swallow my pride and ask for help in the meantime You and your family are always in my thoughts and prayers. Happy to hear that Glen is on the mend so it won't be long before you can rest up.

I hope your knee feels better soon, I know all about knee pain, hope you haven't done any permanent damage. Keep it trapped up and yes ask for help, I have to swallow my pride and admit I just can't do it anymore, keep wondering when did i get old.