My first ever HIVE BLOG POST challenge - What is a GIS Technician?

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Cover 4.png
Child Art Source

I excitedly wrote my introductory post on 13 July 2017, but as per the rules, it cannot be used for the My first ever HIVE BLOG POST challenge set up by @jaynie, our Queen Bee of the Power House Creatives community here on Hive.

My first proper Hive Blog (Steem back then), followed the very next day on 14 July 2017, What is a GIS Technician? and that is what I'm sharing with you today; literally a copy and paste!

It's been kind of nostalgic revisiting some of my old posts as I was doing my search; some that are worthy of having a second edition published, in my opinion, as hardly anyone read them!

I knew nothing about formatting, just drove straight on and hit the publish button once I'd finished writing my post, but have since learned a couple of tricks along the way.

Capture.JPG
That post made a whopping 0.07, received all of 6 upvotes and 2 comments; actually only 1 as I was the one responding to a single comment, but I was still ecstatic that I had started this journey in the blockchain after waiting to have my account activated.

I still find it exciting hitting that post button, and am very happy that I was patient and continued as my Crypto came to the rescue during Covid19 hard lockdown as no rands and cents could be made in our BnB during that difficult period!

So here goes, copied exactly as I published this POST back then:

Hive animated divider 1.gif
Following up on my previous post https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lizelle/hi-steemit-this-is-lizelle-from-laid-back-city-of-durban, I was asked a question about what a GIS Technician is, by @geechidan, this briefly is my explanation and experience of doing this job at a local government organisation:
I started my career working as a draughtsperson for Land Surveyors, and later went on to become a GIS Technician at Ethekwini Municipality, retired in 2016 and now run the beautiful Lily's Cottage Durban West, http://www.lilyscottage.co.za.

Briefly, dependent on the industry, it entails electronic capturing and maintenance of geographical features and storing it into a database; be it property boundaries, electricity, water, roads, sewer/ water/ oil/ pipelines, aerial photography, educational institutions, restaurants, hotels, and many many more, the list is endless!
The GIS Technician can create maps electronically from this data, as well as do data analysis. One example is crime mapping, which is an excellent tool for policing as they can pinpoint areas they need to focus on.

Image from www.epcupdates.org
Map.png

GIS is an excellent tool for business decisions as well, as all the data captured has attributes such as demographics, which for example can assist in determining a viable site for a restaurant or hotel. Vital for regional planning, engineering, conservation projects and more.
Check out for more on the following link:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geographic_information_system
Hope you enjoyed this brief insight and perhaps some of you already are in the industry and can add your insights?

FarewellGroup2.jpg
My farewell at Ethekwini Municipality GIS Department

Hive animated divider 1.gif

HOW TO ENTER

Exclamation mark.png

!!!
First of all - you MUST have been on HIVE for AT LEAST 3 MONTHS to qualify

!!!

DON'T BE EMBARRASSED - DON'T BE SHY - JUST SHARE IT!

......

STEP 1:

Create a post sharing your own FIRST EVER HIVE (or Steem) POST (EXCLUDING INTRODUCTORY POSTS). You are welcome to use a format like mine - but PLEASE create your OWN HEADER DESIGN! Also - feel free to "link" it to your ACTUAL original post. (Not compulsory)

STEP 2:

Your blog post TITLE must be:
My entry to the "My first ever HIVE BLOG POST challenge"

STEP 3:

Be sure to include the DATE your post was published.
(Like I did above) - @peakd gives full date clarity on posts.

STEP 4:

Include the "How to Enter" section at the end of your post so that others know how to join in and what is required.

STEP 5:

Use the following two tags (in any order) as a part of your 8 or 10 tags: myfirsthiveblogpost and powerhousecreatives

STEP 6:

Publish your post to the PHC community feed
(https://peakd.com/c/hive-114105/created)

STEP 7:

Share a link to your post in the comments of THIS post.

STEP 8 (optional):

ONLY IF you are on Twitter - Share your post on Twitter using the same tags mentioned above (and the usual hive tags) and add that link in the comments of this post too.

......

REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO TAKING A TRIP DOWN MEMORY LANE WITH ALL OF YOU!!!

Hive animated divider 1.gif

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

Stepping out of a world of data into a different lifestyle completely, however still data related.

Story telling, sharing places, delicious recipes, business tips you really did take the bulls by the horns once settled Lizelle.

It's been quite a change but a real eye opener, I thought life would slow down but it's the opposite! I really don't know what I would have done without Hive during that hard lockdown, my lifesaver for sure!

When uncertain, keep pushing on harder, trying times need to be taken on one day at a time giving thought to reason.

Affects of lock down is yet to be revealed, having Hive to divert concerted concentration away from the crazy was a stabilizing place to discuss and keep busy.

And I say, SNAP!

Great post, Lizelle! Wow, you began almost exactly a year after I did! I can't remember when I first found your blog, it must've been shortly after this post. It's so interesting how you were saying goodbye to one phase of your life and entering into a completely new and empowering one. In retrospect, a lot of people were doing that during that 2016/2017 timeframe.

Here's my trip down memory lane: https://hive.blog/hive-114105/@ericvancewalton/my-entry-for-the-my-first-ever-hive-blog-post-challenge

I hope you're enjoying the weekend my friend!

Thank you so much Eric but I really could have said a whole lot more! This certainly has been an exciting journey and interesting that you say that about the changes in 2016/7.
I certainly would have felt lost & abandoned especially during lockdown if it wasn't for Hive as our bnb was forced into hibernation!
I met you through @sultnpapper who shared some of your blogs but still can't remember which was the first one I read. My favourite challenge of all to date still is the 2 Time Travel 101 challenges you put up, just loved writing those!
Thank you for being you, always inspiring and always encouraging!

I was thankful for this community during lockdown as well. It gave us all something else to focus on and not everything was politically-charged. Yes, I've met a few great people through Sult (including him). As they say birds of a feather flock together. : )

I almost forgot about that Time Travel series! There's been so many different ones through the years. I'd like to get back to posting a little more creatively after this book is launched. I have lots of new ideas rattling around.

Thank you for your kind words, my friend!

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you so much for your awesome support!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Holy Cow Lizelle. That was a great post. Not as edible as some today, but a really good post!

Thanks for joining the challenge. I'm enjoying this a lot!

Thank you @bigtom13, I'm glad you think so, but to me it looks like I wrote that without taking a breath;)
Food came a little later and as you very well know, that's become my favourite blogging material!

So glad you enjoyed the little trip down memory lane! I must admit, I did too! Thanks for sharing this and for taking part xxx !tip


If you are looking for a GENUINE community dedicated to embracing, encouraging, uplifting and SUPPORTING Hive content creators, then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server We welcome ALL content genres on our community page and aim to provide our subscribers a read worthy feed. We would LOVE to meet you within our Discord server – COME JOIN US!*