You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finalising life

When my grandmother went into a nursing home (her choice, despite my mum offering to take her in), she lost her independence and basically wanted to die. She told me this the day I went to visit her and tell her the news of my first pregnancy, with the hope that it would lift her spirits a bit and give her something live for. This was her goodbye to me and I never really got her back after that. Her mind slowly went and the only thing she ever really responded to was her great granddaughter after she arrived. I always felt that I'd reluctantly said my goodbyes to her that day, but the day she actually passed was still just as hard. We think we're healing, but the pain is still there ready to surface again, isn't it?

Darn, I'm crying for both of us now...

Thinking of you both as you move onto the next journey with Faith's mum. xx

A very poignant photo, by the way.

Sort:  

Nursing homes...Don't even get me started. I've seen some really good ones, and in fact where my dad was in where my mother in law used to work...Her and her colleagues cared...These days, well most don't speak english and have no clue.

I recall my mother in law telling a story where she came in on a (qualified carer/staff member) who was from another country...She was attempting to fit a resident's bra on as a pants! You know, putting her legs through the arm straps etc. There's worse stories.

I'm glad my dad isn't there anymore.

Faith's mum is having her PET scan right now, as I type this...Friday is the day we'll get the results. Let's see how it goes. And yes, I wanted to do something different with that photo but it showed too much detail on the death certificate and of my dad's picture in the background. I think it does the job as it is though.

Thanks for your kind words.

Ah 2020...You can fuck off now. (Sorry, I may typed a swear word in this comment.)

You're trying to get on Asher's list again, aren't you? 😜

The waiting and not knowing can be worse than knowing, sometimes. Fingers crossed for the most hopeful results. My MIL is on her third round of cancer. This time she's had chemo, the op, currently on chemo and looking at radiotherapy. Not fun, but at first there were thoughts that it would be untreatable, so could have be worse. I'm rooting for your MIL that it's even better news. This getting older lark sucks big time!

I'm always on that list, featured prominently. (Probably not a good thing.) 😜

Seems like your mother in law is a battler. It's a pretty bad thing to have to go through so let's hope they both come good and get back to normal life.