Where the Lady Slippers Bloom

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

My Wednesday Walk is in the forest where I looked for the elusive lady Slippers,


08D49CBB2D424D7685662B801C853D7F.jpeg


  • The Forest Path

This path winds between the birch trees. It doesn’t take long for the forest path to get covered in greenery with new growth.


AD46A5245F7943FC9EA5A4E2D7472F56.jpeg



  • Lady Slippers

The beautiful lady slippers grow hidden deep in the forest near the spruce and birch trees.


16D5777F0E92437DABB879AB5A5515D1.jpeg


Lady Slippers are the provincial flower of P.E.I. It is frowned on to to pick or transplant this special and unique orchid. Their name comes from the bloom having a resemblance to a slipper.


  • Fungi

When leaving the lady slippers I saw this fungi on a small tree.


60E8379F3948486887E3B2A23BB4472D.jpeg


  • Spider Web 🕷

A web attached to a small dead tree. It looks like somethings have been caught in the web.


AA68C7D6846E4F77B24D46E2A09FC750.jpeg


Another web attached to the upturned roots of a tree that had fallen over in a winter storm.


B751FF8EF95E44D7B715F1A25E879D1D.jpeg


  • Lupins

The lupins are making the roadways cheery with colors of purple, pink, white and blue but only this pink one greeted me as I was coming out of the forest.


899C1F4D3A454AD5BD25572AB50CE238.jpeg


  • Elephant Plants

My walk was to see the Lady Slippers but I will conclude my walk with the Elephant plants. I see them as I walk towards the house. That may not be the correct name but they have a big leaf like an elephant’s ear.

Later this summer there will be small white clusters of flowers on them. They remind me of a giant beanstalk that Jack would have climbed. Unfortunately as lovely as they look, they are an invasive species and must be kept under control or will take over.


D93E1AE632274CF5A6435FB0EB143D0F.jpeg


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera:CanonEOS Rebel T6

#wednesdaywalk is the inspiration of @tattoodjay.

#alwaysaflower is hosted by @dswigle

🌸🌺🌼




hive-114105
Animated Banner Created By @zord189



Courtesy of @derangedvisions


CA53828B190A400294EB0AC4B2F63000.jpeg

Sort:  

The first photo looks like a kind of flying dragon 😊
These are beautiful flowers and I know them only in yellow, but as said before, I haven't seen any for many years. It seems they are hiding from the people, and they are doing right ;)
The Lupins grow here next to the roads too and they add a nice blue and purple color to the green of the grass.


Cheers and !BEER
!tip

That is hilarious Johann. Now you mentioned, it goes look like a flying dragon with a pretty dress on.😊

I have only seen these flowers in the pinkish red tones but yellow would be beautiful too. I hope you see one again on your travels and capture a photo.

Have a good night and early morning Johann.

Thanks for tip and generosity. 😉

Good morning Jo,

the dragon was my first thought when I saw the flower 🙂

I know where they grew when I was young, but this area has changed a lot, but if I find one I will certainly take photos.

It is raining here since yesterday evening, so I'm having a nice busy day in the office and can spend some time at the computer at home too ;)

I hope you have a very nice day 🙂


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Good afternoon Johann. A good rain is what we need right now. It’s already 26C here at a little after 9.40 A.M. but a nice breeze and talk of possible rain. A warm rain like you rode in the other day would be nice.

Tomorrow everything opens up here and on July 3 the borders are open between the Atlantic provinces. My sister is happy as she and her Hubby will be able to go, from where they live in Nova Scotia, to their cottage in New Brunswick without the 14 day quarantine.

Wayne has a dr. appointment early in July about his arthritis or whatever is wrong with his hip and we will probably visit her for a few days later. It’s a long vehicle drive.

Have a wonderful afternoon Johann. 😊

Good afternoon Jo 🙂

It is 4 hours later now and maybe you have got your nice warm rain 🌧️ and it cooled down a bit.
Here it is still raining and I have that at least tomorrow and Saturday are nice. The rain has given me the chance to make my J post today 😉

It will feel very strange for the first days when everything opens again. Here most people behave like before the crisis - they all seem to have forgotten the past months.

I have Arthritis in my fingers - they look like my mom's fingers, so I can imagine how he feels, and in the hip it must be even more painful. Hopefully the doctor can help him.

I hope you have a wonderful afternoon too, Jo 🙂


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love laddy slippers! I posted yellow ones, not too long ago and it has been a long time since I have seen them posted here.

The first picture is absolutely sweet! Truly fabulous shot, playing up her very best features. It's funny, Mine was in the forest near birch trees, the white birch that we called birchbark when we were kids. :)

Thank you for your forest walk, it was such a calm and relaxing stroll through your blog today.

Upped and Reposted

!tip

They are such a delicate beautiful flower to be hiding away in the woods. They must like the birch and spruce trees.It’s almost like these orchids are there for the woodland nymphs to enjoy.:)

I’m happy you enjoyed my forest walk Denise and thanks so much for your generosity. ❤️

I absolutely love walking through your Forest. I travel many miles to be able to do so. Thank you for displaying your beauty

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @derekrichardson on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Thanks @innerblocks and @derekrichardson. I appreciated the support.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 11 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Thanks Pix @pixresteemer. Appreciated!

The lady slippers look really lovely. Thanks for taking a walk to the forest of Canada. We miss these awesome flowers here in North East India.

Thanks @razeiv. I’m happy you liked the walk and lady slippers. 😊

Love them lady slippers so gorgeous can't say i have ever seen of of those what a wonderful walk through the lush forest 😊

I’m happy you enjoyed my walk in the forest and to show a flower you haven’t seen before @kohsamui99. 😊

It was a pleasure always like seeing something different we do learn a lot here 👍

Love those slippers.. You take good pictures with that camera...😊

Thanks Mike @manorvillemike. I think they are a special flower.😊

1 !BEER Token for you

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Always A Flower Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @johannpiber!

@johannpiber wrote lately about: Tenthredinidae - Little Yellow Worm Thing Feel free to follow @johannpiber if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 24 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to hive-engine.com


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.