BeerSaturday: Befreckled Red;Irish Red Ale!!

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago

20200323_174716.png

As some of you will know, I went for a very short lived vacation to Scottburgh in the KwaZuluNatal Province of South Africa. This was just before the lock-down was announced and we had to return home in a hurry!!

At least I had time to buy some of the local beers!! This beer is brewed by Basset Breweries, in Pennington, which is the town next to Scottburgh. It is an Irish Red Ale, with a low 3.5% alcohol content.

I had this beer before when I bought it from the tap at the brewery, and I enjoyed it a lot. This time I bought it from a liquor shop. This was at the end of March, and I note the label states best before March!!

The Beer was not to my liking as it had a sour taste, I think it was off - like I said I had the beer before and liked it previously!!

20200323_174744.png

20200323_174916.jpg
At least we had a good time sitting outside, enjoying each others company and the scenery, getting ready for a nice braai!!

20200323_174908.jpg

Prost!!

20200323_174922.jpg

I hope you enjoyed the post as much as I enjoyed making it!!

Stay Safe!!

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

This is a good looking beer and remember of your short vacation through this post is now Hive!

Happy lockdown beer!

Enjoy it. nice bear party .Stay Safe!!
@rynow
Have nice day.

hello rynow good to see you here on hive hope to see you sharing more beer 😍

I like the name of the beer. Too bad about the result!

Always a risk with craft beers, unfortunately liquor shops don't always have the turnover to keep things fresh - temperature is also important, if it was refrigerated the whole time most beers should be good past their use by dates.

Also everything about those camping shots looks so much like Australia, from the trees and the beach, and even the type of BBQ - what we would call a weber (although that's a brand name)