Writing Every Day on Medium and Hive: What Works, What Doesn't and Why

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

bobajaglicicEmwhXkCiMiAunsplash.jpg
Photo by Boba Jaglicic on Unsplash

I set myself a challenge at the beginning of this pandemic to be writing every day. I am either on Medium or here. Usually both, sometimes with overlapping content. Mostly, I try to produce something completely new 2-3 times per week between sites. I have also been editing and republishing older work that I'm proud of.

I read a post recently about Medium versus Hive by @sidwrites. You can find it here if you'd like to know how the platforms work. Spoiler alert, I'm in agreement with @sidwrites that Hive is the better platform. Better community, better payouts, less milled content. I love writing period, and I'm going to keep hoping for that viral piece and payout on Medium, but I'll also keep focusing most of my attention here.

HOWEVER, I have a series going on Medium that I am not publishing here. I'd love for you to pop over and check out my pieces on being other. This experience (I'm Arab, grew up Muslim, fair but still not always passable as white), shaped my understanding of current world events and myself. The pieces I'm sharing on Medium give a much different perspective on who I am. For example, I didn't grow up knowing I was a lesbian. I figured that out at age 36. In fact, I didn't believe women could be gay.

I have posted a little about my lgbtq experiences on Medium. Mostly, I like the privacy that Hive offers me as a platform where I can cultivate friendships with my readers. Sharing about coming out, how it resulted in a divorce from my best friend so he could move on with his life--that stuff is still fresh. He and his friends and co-workers read me on Medium. I try hard not to share there what I believe might hurt him.

With that said, I am a person who processes her life experiences with writing. Sharing my queer self here allows me to do that just as sharing my brown self on Medium allows me to accept, release and recover from racial trauma.

I'd love to know what platforms you are writing on other than Hive. This place--I love it. It's the bees knees. (Forgive that bad, bad pun. Please.)

~~~

I teach blogging, expressive writing for traumatic release and recovery and host generative writing sessions at the Center for Creative Writing. Write with me!

or visit me at my home site


honeyquill.com

Sort:  

It's really not easy to write everyday but I really try to. I write on uptrennd,it's a really cool place. Nice write up here

I'll check out uptrennd. What do you like about it @onyechi?

The level of engagement is just wow, the interface is so simple too

I'm checking it out!

Your got some real life to write about.

In my country, the stripe is in beta version. So no payouts. So as of now I am just writing here. Planning to write on medium somwhere in future when stripe avails.

It's still hard to write everyday. Sometimed I feel like I'm repeating my boring philosphies.

Planning to setup a website soon.

I loved it, a feel good article. ✌

Thank you so much. I know what it's like to feel redundant in writing. Sometimes we have to write something over and over to get through it before we can move onto the next thoughts.

Nice read, thanks for sharing your experience. I just signed up yesterday because I read the Twitter post of @sidwrites and found the concept very interesting. I wrote on Medium as well since the beginning of the year. I'm not giving up on Medium but also want to give the HIVE a try.
Looking forward to reading more of your writings!

Looking forward to getting to know you here!