TEN (10) FAVORITE FOODS || DAY 10 OF 30 DAYS BLOGGING CHALLENGE

One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well. - Virginia Wolf

photo158065131553069c8e0026377.jpeg
Source

Food is essential to our health and we all need to eat to live. Many people have gotten to have different food preference while some people prefers anything that taste good anyhow it comes and I would want to say that I am under this set of people. We don't have favorites and maybe it's because I am not used to cooking though but not to kill the fun, I will paste 10 foods that I feel I may like the more as I remember them 🙂.

1. POUNDED YAM AND EGUSI SOUP

images 62.jpeg
Source

This is an exquisite Nigerian meal mostly eaten among the Yoruba tribe. The sweat feel and taste of the pounded yam on the tongue is superb. It can even be eaten alone without the soup if you can't wait for the soup to get ready.

2. AFANG SOUP

images 63.jpeg

Afang soup (not to be misconstrued for Okazi soup or Ukazi soup, a soup from the Igbo cuisine), is a vegetable soup that originates from the Efik people of the Efik kingdom in Cross River State and the Ibibio People of Akwa Ibom in Southern Nigeria. Afang soup is very nutritious and cost of preparation can be adaptable based on family needs. The ingredients used to prepare Afang soup include beef, fish, palm oil, crayfish, pepper, Shaki (cow tripe), waterleaf, okazi leaf, onion, periwinkle salt and some other seasonings. Source

3. AFRICAN JOLLOF RICE

images 64.jpeg
Source

Jollof rice, or jollof, also known as benachin in Wolof ('one pot'), is a one-pot rice dish popular in many West African countries such as The Gambia, Senegal, Ghana, Nigeria, Cameroon, Sierra Leone, Côte d'Ivoire, Liberia, Togo and Mali. It is also called 'reddish one-pot dish' and varies in these countries.Source

This is a very common meal in my country and cooked mostly during parties. You will surely see a jollof rice either in a birthday party, wedding party, naming ceremony, graduation party. Think of any party, there will surely be a jollof rice.

4. NIGERIAN FRIED RICE

images 65.jpeg
SOURCE

The Nigerian fried rice is always bright green and very delicious. It is a special type of rice cooked mostly during celebration.

5. BREAD AND BEANS

images 66.jpeg
SOURCE

I might have said I don't have a favorite but I sincerely don't play with this food at all. This food is what I call the boys food.

Back then in school, we eat it everyday on every evening. I and my guys would gather at bread and beans spot those days. I know I could eat up to 2 loafs of bread Medium size and 3 plates of beans. This food brings back memories.

6. YAM AND EGG

images 67.jpeg
Source

This is a very common meal in Nigeria. In my family the yam and egg is eaten every Sunday. It is a very nice meal and doesn't take lot of time to cook unlike how beans do.

7. VEGETABLE SOUP

images 68.jpeg
Source

This is a common soup among my people (Yoruba tribe) in Nigeria. We call it Efo Riro. A very delicious meal 😋😋😋👌 and best when taken with semolina or pounded yam.

8. WHITE SOUP

images 69.jpeg
Source
This is a common soup among the igbo tribe (@stevenson7 people 😅) in Nigeria. It is a very delicious meal 😋😋. The first time I tasted it which was about 2 years ago, I fell in love with it.

9. BANGA SOUP

images 70.jpeg
Source

Banga soup also known as Palm nut soup is a soup made from the palm fruit common to the African community. In Ghana, palm nut soup is called abenkwan. In Nigeria, it is called banga soup, ofe akwu, oghwo amiedi, or izuwo ibiedi. The delicacy is used to accompany other dishes such as fufu, banku, rice and so on. Source

This soup is made from the seed of the palm tree. I could remember back in the days when I was in college, when everybody had almost left the campus. My friend @trojan7 and I would go to where the palm trees where to steal their ripe seeds so we can use it to make Banga soup when we get home. We know if we get cut doing that, it could lead to expulsion but we always have this saying, something must kill a man 😅😂.

10. YAM PORRIDGE

images 71.jpeg
Source

This is very delicious meal. It is called Asaro among my people which is the Yoruba tribe in Nigeria. It is made with yam and palm oil, vegetables and other ingredients are added to it to make it more spicy 😋.


SO I HAVE GONE THROUGH MY FAVORITE FOOD. SO WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE FOOD? I WOULD LOVE TO KNOW IN THE COMMENT SESSION. 🤗🤗🤗

This is the 10th day of my 30 day blogging challenge. We have @macchiata, @wolfofnostreet, @suffgrace, @lauramica, @pejupops, @officialuroga already in this challenge. The goal of this challenge is to keep Hivers active on the hive blockchain and also solving the issue of not knowing what to write about.

MG5aEqKFcQi6ksuzVh6JJptBJCL6eFwx2gvRnpcRhTRKgmTKc5WMfwE6fSwQUAU6VYv4f4zDe41bguzgZzBpRhu1gpVmMpSnS 1.jpeg

Screenshot_20200826144125.png

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

IF YOU LOVE THIS POST, YOU CAN KINDLY SUPPORT BY YOUR COMMENTS, REBLOG AND UPVOTE. IT WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3AJf6fuxkTxiKXRNCarffscTjF9JnBqLzj89NH5s1rKH2Cga4QvMPvvEcb4koTvuCHZXnviw8k7xAcqd9HsbFKjw6hj1Y72M87h86FHy9hno4Dmynf1K26XEe.png

THANKS FOR VISITING MY BLOG 😇❣️

Sort:  

wow, .. not sure which one I like more, .. Banga soup or the 1st picture, ... id probably have both 😀, ....looks spicy, just how I like it.

Wow... Yeah you should have both.. surprise to have you comment here.

I really appreciate your constant support to my publications. ❣️🤗🤗

I love hot egusi soup

Yeah the soup is 😋😋😋

It's incredible ... how I don't know anything about everything you mentioned haha. It shows that we're thousands of kilometers away.
Nigerian Fried Rice looks good.

Yeah it really does. I'm sure I won't know any meal of yours as well. When there is money I would love to explore other countries as well, maybe I would start from Argentina 🙂😉.

It would be excellent, we will be waiting for you 😃

Confirm!.. just set down the nicest meals down for me that time because me I like food oh 🤭

I'm going to cook for you a lentil stew.

I bet it would be very delicious 😋🤭🤭

So many soups ! I hope to try one of them sadly though we don't have that many african food here except Egyptian and morrocan, basically north Africa.

Oh.. it would make sense to come over to your side and start up a restaurant that makes food from West Africa.

Who tell you white soup is our soup 😏.

Well It is 😁 but it turns out bread and beans is my favorite among everything, proper agege bread oh.
I don't even know which to pick 😅

You be better guy na that's why beans be your favorite.

Boss 😊🙌🏽

Na you be oga oh 🙇🙇🙇

Beans and Bread, my favorites most especially when the stew is made separately.

Nice picks dude.

Your head is there.. it's a normal fave for guys

We can't deny that cultures are very different and unique... what the hell with all those foods called soup? There's no soup in them... I'm crying with laughter. By the way they look very tasty tho.