You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Content stinge in a world of binge

Long term game might be a whole different story, or... it may not work out... Only time will tell.

For sure. I don't know how you got into photography but for me, @galenkp bought me an EOS3000 (film) camera for my 18th and then I started shooting - but never really got into it heavily - it was a hobby - still is. However, if I had got in heavily, practiced trained, loved it and attempted to be a professional of some kind - there is no guarantee I would be able to live off it, nor that I would even be good at it. It is risky to go professional, but there is no harm in loving what you do (unless it is murdering people etc)

"Why oh why i was so inactive or did not join Hive 5 years ago, i would have paid my mortgage by now..."

I chose a business degree at school because I didn't want to be too narrow - perhaps a silly decision considering that I could have been a narrow-skilled professional that earned a lot more :D

grow some balls and take that RISK or just go and get the job if you have low risk tolerance.

Man up or don't - it is a choice.

There is nothing wrong being good at something and having a good and useful job.

Definitely not. I actually think far too many people underrate work to the point that they don't work - yet feel they suffer because they don't have the benefits that come with working - and then blame others for their misery.

Sort:  

I don't know how you got into photography

That's actually a funny one :) I wanted to invite lady to my apartment to watch a movie but she did not like movies, so i offered a photoshoot. Had terrible camera and even worse skills. Eventually i had to send her the pictures lol So i had to learn lol

perhaps a silly decision

Some decisions are some are not and some are meant to be, it's wonderful how chain of events might lead us somewhere nice after we make a silly decision. The best part being it is never too late to make opposite decision if you are not happy with the first one. Well, in most cases :)

I actually think far too many people underrate work

Society sometimes tries to impose an impression that having a job is for losers and having a business is great. That is nothing further away from truth. You can be a shitty business man and perform brilliant in a hired position. It depends on the traits and character. It's not worth the misery of calling yourself entrepreneur if your guts can't handle the stress of uncertainty, financial instability and long working hour as being an entrepreneur definitely comes with that whole package. There is quite little of glory being a businessman actually :) Just much more hard work, and you trade that for higher upside potential that you might never reach as well.