To the flame

I used to live very close to a tropical beach and at night, I would sit there alone, listening to the crashing waves and watch the caps glisten in the moonlight. It would take my thoughts and quiet my mind, giving me a rare space of mental peace. Watching fires and listening to the crackle gives me that same peaceful space and I can lose myself, yet be aware of all of the details that are happening around me. It is like focusing on the breath during meditation and then having an expanded interface to the immediate world.

OI000909.jpg

OI000914.jpg

At the pace at which the world runs and the speed of the stream of information flow, it might be hard for many people to find the space to quiet the mind these days. I think that in the past, we were forced into taking a moment, as the lights went out, there were no screens and a little flame was the only light we might have had before it would go out, and the stars are all that's left.

OI000908.jpg

OI000915.jpg

I wonder if we were calmer in general in the past, because we were able to have that space and I wonder if part of the reason petty violence is so high, is because we no longer take the time to quiet our minds and our frustration leaks out of us. It is also perhaps why so many turn to other forms of distraction, like alcohol and drugs. It might also explain why so many of us find it hard to switch off, as it means we will have to face that space, that calm of mind where we are unsure what will arrive.

OI000911.jpg

OI000910.jpg

I was speaking to a friend the other day about this and she mentioned that she has come to fear the silence in some way, as her mental gears start to whir and her psyche gets to work. She was saying how it gets in and start to undermine her, picks at her like a cruel parent, preying on the insecurities of an immature mind. She knows that it lies, but she can't silence the voice, she can't convince it that it is wrong about her. Convince herself.

OI000913.jpg

OI000917.jpg

That voice inside is compelling, as it has our sound and claims to know our past, because it was always there beside us - observing and listening, collecting and cataloging our fears, so as to remind us of them in that silence - to question our decisions and actions and make us feel inadequate, over and over again. While we might want to avoid the silence so that we don't hear the voice, perhaps making the space and listening until there is nothing left but silence, is the only way to burn it.

Until another log is thrown on the fire.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Like you, I love the flames. It's almost like automatic meditation, I can't help myself (Not that I try very hard:))

I sit in near total darkness for at least my first cup of coffee every morning and often for two cups. It's my time to ramp down to silence and ramp up for the coming day. I've done it now for years and it's part of my routine. I really do appreciate the time.

Sometimes, the voice is insistent that I need to focus on something, sometimes it's just silent. Either way, I like the time.

It's almost like automatic meditation

No wonder moths are attracted. I also wonder how much of our vision has evolved to be able to look at flames, as it doesn't have the same affect as looking into an electric lamp.

Sometimes, the voice is insistent that I need to focus on something, sometimes it's just silent. Either way, I like the time.

I don't think the voice should be ignored, but that doesn't mean it should be listened to too closely either. Like feelings, I think it is worth acknowledging and seeing if there is value there.

No wonder moths are attracted. I also wonder how much of our vision has evolved to be able to look at flames, as it doesn't have the same affect as looking into an electric lamp.

Yeah. It's just not the same, even those fancy simulations...

Since childhood, I love to look at the fire. During this time, my thinking also slows down.

It is a nice feeling to be thoughtless, though it means to think again to recognise it :)

Oh yeah!!!

you have said it I love going to the beach in the middle of the night to see waves and walk barefooted on beach sand

Are there lots of people around your beach?

I now live inland and while there is a lake close by, it just isn't the same.

I am sure we were calmer in the past. All this technology and social media have brought an extra level of "connection" that makes it harder to "disconnect". This is probably one of the reasons meditation and mindfulness have grown so much lately. It is like the new manual for those who have a hard time finding the balance to stop and relax every once in a while.

brought an extra level of "connection" that makes it harder to "disconnect".

While simultaneously disconnecting us from ourselves and a lot of reality.

This is probably one of the reasons meditation and mindfulness have grown so much lately.

Yep. I think there is also another reason (I have been planning to write a post for 4 years called "Mindlessmess" that touches on this) where the traits of mindfulness have become scarce, so people are chasing a new "item" for their collection, while creating even more conflicts within themselves.

I have many voices inside my head that are going pretty much all the time regardless of what I'm doing XD

I know what you mean, which is why I am lucky to have this little gap in consciousness. It is a wonder how I am not a pyro :D

You'd have to be more selfish to be a pyro. Though if you were I'm sure you could blame it on being bullied as a kid XP

Seeing as you think too much though maybe you could be a pyrotech, though that goes a bit quicker than a fire XD

You'd have to be more selfish to be a pyro. Though if you were I'm sure you could blame it on being bullied as a kid

That is going to be my out for everything from now on! Finally, it is my time to shine scot-free!

Seeing as you think too much though maybe you could be a pyrotech, though that goes a bit quicker than a fire

As a kid I used to make various little explosive things out of matches, sparklers and whatever else i could find :D

Sounds like you're in the wrong field? ;D

Silence is golden. The distractions we have today have robbed too many of us the opportunity to reflect from time to time, now it has to be a deliberate act of necessity backed my extreme discipline. Sad really...

Maybe part of the reason we don't reflect more is that it reduces our ability to fit into the social media model, as it would essentially take away a lot of the ego that is needed to incessantly take selfies and advertise our latest purchases.

The sound of crackling wood is indeed super relaxing.
I agree that too many people fear silence. That's not a good thing...Silence is the perfect opportunity to be with yourself and do some introspection. It is like a sanitization process of the modern polluted mind

!ENGAGE 20