Animation | 5 Things To Say To Animators

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)


Photo by Hans Eiskonen on Unsplash

5 Things To Say To Animators


I remember writing a post on '10 things to not say to animators' and I thought to myself, why is everything a little bit negative these days. I've decided to turn it around and write the opposite of that today which is '10 things to SAY to animators'. I think that sometimes when you teach people what to not to say to people, it may come off as a negative approach, so rather, I'm going to encourage you all that if you are willing, you may say these things to animators or probably many creatives out there that you know because why demotivate when you can uplift and edify someone right?

So here are the 5 things to say to animators!


Your Animation Looks So Alive



source

I think it's every animator's dream to bring their characters to life and that is probably why we became animators in the first place. That is to bring characters to life. We tend to spend hours, sometimes days researching for references and even to a point recording ourselves acting just so that our actions can be interpreted into our animation. We want to make it appealing yet believable. So next time you want to make an animator's day, just give this compliment because it means a lot. Do it genuinely though.

Oh Wow, You Have Improved Tremendously



source

I think leading and mentoring my own team have taught me a lot of leadership. One of them which is that words of acknowledgment means a lot to a budding animator. A lot of times these animators want affirmation whether they're doing the right thing or not. Have they improved over the months? Are they progressing in a certain technique? They need to know. I always think that when most of us as leaders always try to critique their animation, we should also give good credit when its due. Acknowledge them and tell them that they have improved and tell them what next.

I See Potential In You



Source

I remember when I told one of my teammates how much I saw in them, even if they don't believe themselves, I believed in their capabilities. And I really do. I've seen the work these animators have put out and I know that they can always do so much more. Encourage an animator by saying 'I see potential in you' and pointing out which area you see his/her strength and weakness can be a great start to see them blossom and bloom into a great animator.

OMG, Your Animation Is Like Pixar!



Source

I believe every animator's dream is to either work for Pixar, Dreamworks or one of those big companies. I guess that's how I started my animation career too. I was watching the first animation featured film, 'Toy Story' by Pixar and I told myself, one day I'm going to work in that company. Now, it is hard work to get to somewhere that prestige and only the most elite can have a chance of entering such a company making great films. So if someone were to compare my animation with Pixar or the likes, I would be super happy and that hope of joining such a prestigious company would re-ignite again.

Thank You



source

Who would've known? That these two simple words would bring such an impact to the animator. Truth be told, this industry is very well known to have their artists under-compensated and always being taken advantage of because of how passionate we are. We rarely hear the words thank you from our clients because we are 'expected' to do what we're tasked for. But imagine that if you finished a movie and you've put in a lot of extra hours and effort because well.... you have the passion for doing the things you do. Then the client just brushes off your efforts just because you're expected to do what was given. An unappreciated artist would never ever want to work under an unappreciative boss. So the words Thank You goes a long way.


I can go on and on about what we animators expect to be treated. These are all really simple things to say to make an animator's day a little better. You've seen the stuff we've done for the world, a little bit of encouragement would make everything a lot better!

Have a great weekend ahead!

Thank You

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


PHC-Footer-05.gif

Animated Banner Created By @zord189




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://zord189.steemblogs.club/2020/03/06/animation-5-things-to-say-to-animators/

Sort:  

Appreciate those creative minds <3

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

Hi~ zord189!
@bossku has gifted you 1 SHOP!

Currently you have: 22 SHOP

View or Exchange SHOP Please go to steem-engine.com.

Are you bored? Play Rock,Paper,Scissors game with me!

Congratulations @zord189!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 4 with 1117 upvotes

Long time no see brother. Really lost track on steem. Seems I really outdated to everything. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android