Homemade cottage cheese

in Homesteading2 years ago

0.jpg

My goat has set a new local record. With the arrival of spring and the beginning of the pasture season, she gave out as much as 1.8 liters of milk per day.

When we first had a goat, we received only 0.6 liters a day. Progress is obvious.

Due to this progress, we had some excess milk and I decided to make cottage cheese. True, no one in my family eats it except me, but this is their problem, I will get more.

1.jpg

The preparation of cottage cheese is a fairly simple process and does not require any special ingredients. It is enough to leave fresh milk at room temperature for a day.

2.jpg

As soon as the milk starts to sour, the resulting substance is heated on the stove to 70 degrees, and then filtered.

3.jpg

The whey is used to make pancakes, and everything else is cottage cheese.

4.jpg

For straining, we used an old method - you wrap the curd mass in a cloth and hang it over the pan.

5.jpg

From one liter of milk, about 100 grams of cottage cheese turned out.

6.jpg

I must say that the smell and consistency of homemade cottage cheese is not inferior to the store. There is only one difference. Since my cottage cheese is made from goat's milk, it has a specific goat flavor that perhaps not everyone will like.

7.jpg

But I regularly consume goat's milk, so I'm used to it and in my opinion the cottage cheese turned out great. I will always do this now.

Sort:  

Hello! Are you in the US? I am starting a farm and I'm interested in goats. Is there a breed to recommend for meat, milk, and hide? Also for breeding and selling. I'm interested in some other livestock like sheep and cattle. Would love some feedback.

Hi! No I'm not from US and I'm not a big expert in animal husbandry. I've been keeping goats since September last year. I didn't choose the breed of goats, they got to me for free, so I can hardly advise, but if I were choosing now, I would take the Nubian one. They fine for meat and milk and give up to 6 liters of milk.

I love a simple straight forward recipe!

@tipu curate