We got pestilence of fish

in Homesteading2 years ago (edited)

The week didn't start too well. I have 2 ponds on my homestead - north and south. One of them is in the sun and is practically not shaded (south pond), the other is in the forest, in the shade under the crowns of trees.

In what is in the shadow, there was a massive pestilence of fish.

0.jpg

I had a flock of crucians there, about 15 pieces. First I found one dead fish near the shore, then another. Sensing something was wrong, I dragged a compressor to supply oxygen to the pond.

1.jpg

The compressor worked all day, but it didn't help. in the morning, several more dead fish were found, and then more. As a result, all the fish died.

2.jpg

Since there were no discharges, chemicals, etc. into the water, the cause of death was only one - all the fish suffocated. This was evident by some signs, in particular by the wide-open mouths.

It seemed strange to me, because the crucians are quite unpretentious, they have lived in this pond for several years, experienced shallowing of the reservoir, winter, and then suddenly died.

I went to the Internet to search for answers and found that at a certain concentration of hydrogen sulfide in the water, the fish simply stops absorbing oxygen, so my compressor did not help at all.

Previously, the smell of hydrogen sulfide from the pond was not felt, but apparently with the onset of heat, all sorts of leaves and other organic matter in the pond began to rot intensively releasing hydrogen sulfide, and it accordingly interfered with the assimilation of oxygen, so the fish could not stand it.

3.jpg

But there is a silver lining. Now I don't need to go fishing with a fishing rod. We cut up all the fresh fish and froze it. The leftovers were cooked for chickens and a dog. Now we will be provided with fish for a long time, since we eat a little of it.

4.jpg

Well, the pond will need to be cleaned somehow, though I don't know how yet.

Sort:  

It seemed strange to me, because the crucians are quite unpretentious, they have lived in this pond for several years, experienced shallowing of the reservoir, winter, and then suddenly died.

So sorry about the loss. I hope you'll recover in no time.

Moreso, about the cleaning of your pond, I wish I could help but then I hope you'll find a way to go about it. Blessings.

So sorry about the situation of you fishes, I hope you'll find it way to get them out of the pond so as to implement what you learn online.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @aschatria ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Oh. This is so sad to read. I’m so sorry about the loss. It must’ve been very painful. So sad🥲.

This thing also happened to a friend of mine. He lost everything. I intend to start up my fish farming in two years time. But I think I have to be well experienced first.

Please, find time to clean up. What do you plan on doing now?

It might me worth looking for some aquatic dye that is used to kill algae and treating the pond with it. Basically it just blocks the algae from receiving sun and it dies.

What a bummer! Poor fish...