Bigger Grain Run, Emptying, Practice, Moving Boulders, Brick, Arduino, Turkeys - Tuesday

in Homesteadinglast month

The predawn grain run yesterday morning was for a good bit more than the prior but still not a max load for the trailer. I got to the first brewery where the top half of the barrel was blue grain from pea flour they used. Never heard of that in beer brewing but the garden doesn't know any better.

IMG_20240319_044939.jpg

I quickly had the barrel emptied into the liner on the trailer and was soon heading for the other brewery.

IMG_20240319_045305.jpg

The Pavilion in downtown Spokane is always lit up when I go by and looks pretty nifty.

IMG_20240319_045537.jpg

I got to the second brewery by 5am. As I approached I saw a semi unloading and was none to happy that they were blocking me but as I got close I saw that they were the space behind where I needed to go so had enough room. The barrels were only 2/3 full each of them which meant that the trailer had more than enough room.

IMG_20240319_050019.jpg

I'm getting to like the bed liner method for hauling the grain as it is a bit easier to unload once back on the farm. The semi is there on the left. On my way home I ended up behind a semi going to go onto the bypass and I had to bust through the round about backwards to get in front of him, as I headed up the bypass he ended up a mile behind me...

IMG_20240319_050431.jpg

The boys to school and the sun up I headed out to empty the grain. I pulled the fence down on the main garden and got the trailer backed up within feet of the garlic rows. It took 4 wheelbarrow loads to cover the last garden spot.

IMG_20240319_092516.jpg
IMG_20240319_093219.jpg

The rest of the trailer load got spread out on the hillside along the road. I'm wondering how this grain will help the bunch of wormwood plants that are growing along the base of the hill.

IMG_20240319_094123.jpg

I stopped at the boards for a little session and after my short warm up got dialed in quite nicely. I'm feeling the darts leave my hand and can feel the difference when it rolls off my thumb or my middle finger. It's cool getting more fine granularity on my movements that I've not focused so closely on for many years.

IMG_20240319_100140.jpg

Before noon I gave in and hooked the trailer up then backed it into the inner yard. I got it within 8 feet of the rock wall remnants which I then began to load onto the trailer.

IMG_20240319_114128.jpg

Some days I'm Sisyphus and some days I'm a pack mule, this was more mule. I used the bed liner to hold the rocks as the wood on the trailer is getting a bit rotten now and I don't want the rocks busting through.

IMG_20240319_120934.jpg

It wasn't all of them but it was the biggest rocks and boulders. There is now just one load left to get out of the yard to finally have it cleared after over 10 years of the wall being there.

IMG_20240319_120940.jpg

I slowly drove the trailer out the driveway then unloaded the rocks to the wall. This was the section that I had lightly filled in prior so the whole load got placed between the mailbox and the gate. It did nicely to fill in the space under the lowest wire.

IMG_20240319_123535.jpg

The rest of the rocks in the yard will fill in easily along the rest of the wall.

IMG_20240319_124358.jpg

I found another rabbit hole, this one is Reticulum and RNode which is a mesh net but way higher data potential. I started dinking with it but am not finding much usage of it yet.

So I was playing with my #lora and hooked it up to my disc cone antenna for my ham radio. Well... in the evening I looked down at it and saw the white reset light on constant and bright and no oled display. Every time I hit the reset it gave me nothing. I plugged it into the computer but no luck. I bricked it by making it push to hard on the big antenna I think. Not happy but a lesson nonetheless. I have the other to work with still and was getting more anyway, so now I know what NOT to do.

IMG_20240319_161617.jpg

I pulled out my Arduino boards again and am working to relearn. I've got to get a setup built to open the coop door in the mornings. It's a project I have wanted to do for years but never got to. It really shouldn't be too hard to code I just have to come up with the right motor for moving the door. Either a stepper motor or a motor with a limit switch are likely my options.

IMG_20240319_172224.jpg

In the evening I swapped out the flights on my older dart set and the new flights are slick. The darts threw way better with a much better arc and less tail down. This made me laugh when I threw the 3rd darts and is got hung up in mid air.

IMG_20240319_173406.jpg

The turkey chicks are doing good now that they stopped dying off. Damn things are so fragile and die so damned easy. Far too high attrition rate but at least we have these. I got them fresh water for the night and will top off their feed this morning.

IMG_20240319_192229.jpg

Shower, soak, bed. That rock moving had and has me quite sore. Again why I do this the day before I go to my chiro appointment.

IMG_20240319_200741.jpg

Today I get the boys to and from school, enjoy my chiro appointment, potentially start the tilling if the soil is dry enough, work with the Arduino, maybe move the rest of the rocks?, then I will have to have dinner ready early as R has wrestling practice this evening.


2024 Y/E Hive GoalsGoalCurrent+/- Goal+/Week
HP30,00024,740+23480
HBD Savings4,0302,630/12
Hive Posting Streak Days16811395/4


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

You can Also Find Me On:

nostr icon.jpg

Donations or Tips



Zap Me ⚡️ Alby Addy.JPG btc.jpg Sparrow.JPG LBTC LBTC.jpg

!

Veteran.jpg


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

Why you moving rocks? Those are heavy. Ain't you got kids?

7 and 10 aren't quite strong enough yet. I built the rock wall in the yard a decade ago and want it gone. I got most of it moved last year but still had these last couple loads to deal with.

Well I guess the 7 year old is off the hook...

https://inleo.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-oazb586g
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

You did a lot
Kudos!

Success comes only after hard work and we see that you work hard even in cold days