Cucumber Trimming and Tying, Weeding, Cactus, Fans, Flowers, Seeds, Grilling - Tuesday

in Homesteading11 months ago

Yesterday morning I had to get the bees a new jar of syrup made up and in the hive first thing. They plow through the syrup but are very slowly working on the pollen patty. I presume they are getting enough real pollen around the area that they aren't needing it.

IMG_20230704_093353_HDR.jpg

My morning was spent in the greenhouse working on the first half of the cucumber row. Each plant had numerous runners growing from the main stem and I had to cut away so many of them to get to a single stem that it felt a bit weird. I cut away tendrils that were 3+ feet long. The plants got tied to the strings and I cut back some of leaves that were covering up the flowers.

IMG_20230704_095937_HDR.jpg

This is how the row looked without trimming and tying. Completely out of control.

IMG_20230704_095944_HDR.jpg

It was over an hour later and I had made it through half the row and filled the tub with trimmings. It was hot and I was sweating like mad already so I called it good and will work on the other half today.

IMG_20230704_104550_HDR.jpg

All the trimmings went to the wheelbarrow which I piled high with the weeds I pulled in the garden and took to the animals who dove into them.

IMG_20230704_112008_HDR.jpg

I noticed as I closed the gate that the dill row in the pole garden was completely overgrown so I spent time pulling the weeds and liberating the dill. Nicely the weeds just went over the fence to the animals but it was a bit of a pain to get the dill fished out from the weeds.

IMG_20230704_113356_HDR.jpg

This is what it looked like before I began pulling the weeds.

IMG_20230704_113403_HDR.jpg

And the after.

IMG_20230704_114922_HDR.jpg

The cholla is still flowering, the flower closed up at night and reopened in the day. I needed to get them in pots and so I made up a soil mix out of my big mix and then added in some rose sand to heavy it up. I wet the soil and then had just enough for the 2 cactus. I had to use pliers to hold the cactus as it will poke through most all gloves.

IMG_20230704_124621_HDR.jpg

It was after noon and I decided to go ahead and swap out the fans in my computer. One had been making a serious racket like the bearing was shot off and on and thankfully they are easy to change out.

IMG_20230704_131907_HDR.jpg

I was wandering around the farm looking at the various plants and the asters are blooming below the house.

IMG_20230704_135239_HDR.jpg

And the daisies are blooming by the creek. I had to cut around them with the mower but will knock them down once they are done flowering.

IMG_20230704_135438_HDR.jpg

Mid afternoon I got the fire going and kept it going all afternoon.

IMG_20230704_151325_HDR.jpg

I pulled some of the bottom leaves from my Delaware tobacco plants and strung them up in the greenhouse to dry. These are so far the biggest leaves of the 3 types I am growing but the Bel-b is supposed to be a cigar wrapper type so I would think it would get a bit bigger.

IMG_20230704_153208_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230704_153739_HDR.jpg

Since we harvested all the spinach I went and reseeded the rows with the same type that had been in before. I had planted them on May 1 and now on July 4.

IMG_20230704_170714_HDR.jpg

I made the beefallo burgers then got them on the grill.

IMG_20230704_174047_HDR.jpg
IMG_20230704_175639_HDR.jpg

Super tasty dinner.

IMG_20230704_182119_HDR.jpg

It was an okay night for my skin which allowed me to soak for a while. The fireworks and gun shots went off for much of the evening in the valley and we ended up going to bed with them still popping off in the distance.

IMG_20230704_210555_HDR.jpg

Today I have to finish the cucumber row, plant more seeds, get the boys to work on cleaning up their messes, then tonight we have the pack meeting at the Elk park.


300x600-2
^Affiliate/Referral Link^


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!

Donations or Tips

Bitcoin : 1C6idTJBJ3CJJt9kHoKi4av1XLzg8eQ7rv

Capture.JPG


FFF Runic.png

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/flemingfarm/re-leothreads-37dpcflic
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( flemingfarm ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

You can actually harvest so many things from your farm. That is very good and it is mostly because of the kind of energy you put into taking care of those plants...
Did you learn gardening?

Your plants are grouping very well and what is the name of the animal that is eating the grass?. And your food looks so tasty and yummy.

The long necked one in the front is an alpaca, of the suri variety. (Some alpacas are super fluffy, and are of the huacaya variety.). The ones behind it are sheep. 😁

Thanks for sharing this detail